Raising Candy: The dog that will never be mine

29 52
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

My love for dogs is great. I don't know the exact reason why my spirit is easily attached to dogs even if it wasn't mine. To raise our pets is to increase our love for animals, whatever it is. It was May of 2020 when my cousin got her first-ever dog which came from her friend. This dog was a mixed breed. It has the breed of Husky and Japanese Spitz. We totally fell in love with this dog and eventually named it Candy. 

I still clearly remember the very first day and night of Candy in our house. She was hesitant to come with us and her fear did not easily subside. We don't need to force her to love us back and be closed with her since it's her first day. She was adjusting in her new home far away with her biological mother and siblings. How sad it was. I wonder how a dog really feels when they are forced to remove to their family? 

This is the first photo I captured in her first day. Look how scared her face is and the way she approached us in our room. She just bow down her head and moved forward step by step gradually. In her first night, she cried a lot. Like literally a lot that all of us cannot sleep properly because she's crying and barking. I let her enter our room so that she will not cry, or so I thought it's the remedy. However, minutes later, she cried again. It stopped when we give her milk and sleep as if nothing happened. 

She was very fond of cold things. Whenever we wake up in the morning, we find her sleeping near the kitchen or inside the bathroom. Soaked and wet. Look at Candy, she was very wet and sleeping comfortably. Sometimes, I thought she was dead or playing dead when I was calling her name. I checked and touched her, but she didn't move even an inch. Truly a best actress, I could say she was.

Here she is, growing up so fast and her puberty hits. I am so afraid, no, we were so afraid when we found that her lower part was bleeding. We thought she was hurt or was bitten by something. But, my older cousin told us that she was having a menstruation. Oh, her very first menstruation was so bloody. She bled a lot. There are always a blood scattered on the floor and she was just playing dumb as if the blood didn't came from her.

What I like about her is height because she was below average compared to husky's height and above average compared to Japanese Spitz's height. I guess her parents' heights are mixed and blended together to create the height she has. Her paws are super smooth and whenever she lays down on the floor or bed, I always touch and massage it. Its smell is way better than my foot smell. Just kidding! 

As time went by, her taste in food changed drastically. I bet it is because of how domesticated and spoiled she has been because of my grandma. My grandma let her eat the best snacks, the best food and the best viand available . Couple of months later, whenever the viand suited her taste, she would not eat it. Candy will literally leave it behind and run over to my grandma. Why? It is because she knows that my grandma will buy her the food she wants. Here it comes, the savior of my dear Candy, her favorite grandma. Newly bought and fresh liver from the local market. 

We haven't noticed that she would become so big and her age reached the limit of another transition. My grandma is so afraid and always opposes our plan to stud her. We think it's the right time since she was already a year and half old. Her body is definitely prepared for the future pups she will conceive. The day came when we finally won my grandma's heart to let Candy be studded and we chose a mixed breed as well. It was a mixed Husky and Chowchow. 

Several weeks later, she birthed four healthy pups. I wasn't there when she gave birth because we already moved to our new home. She was left to my grandma and cousins. They called me in the middle of the night, and I thought something bad had happened. They called me via phone to relay the message that Candy is giving birth at the moment. I watched her via video call until it was finished at 5:30 in the morning. She looked so exhausted after those painful hours in her life. 

Currently, her pups were two months old last week. Only three pups left at home because the other one was sent to my older cousin's friend. She promised that she will present her a pup that came from Candy. Lucky those pups because they can enjoy an air-conditioned room at night so that they can sleep comfortably. Quite spoiled, aren't they? 


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thank you to all of my sponsors who have been with me since I was new in the platform. I appreciated you all.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

19
$ 4.91
$ 4.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Cointelegraph
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 11
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

Such a sweet little pup Candy was. It must be hard for them to be separated from their mother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, looking back, the pup was crying so loud and Candy was crying as well. Like howling non-stop.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nung bata pa lang ako gustong gusto ko na magka puppy. Now that I am an adult, I realized na dapat talagang inaalagaan yung mga aso kaso para na rin silang part ng family hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate kasi nga marami silang nagagawa satin. Laking tulong nila lalo na kapag stress ka school then yayakapin mo at makikpag laro ka lang. Mawawala na agad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwww she is so cute, I always wanted a dog but I don't think I can care for it enough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dogs are fun to play though. Hmm. If you think that you cannot care enough, then soon you'll be.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know, maybe in the future I'll be ready.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang daming breed na nung mga pups :) Sana healthy silang lahat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo kuya. Tatlong breed na dumadaloy sa blood nila haha. Super healthy po. Ang tataba nila ngayon. Lalo na yung bunso, mukhang chow chow po talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well atleast your pet is doing well, you have a great heart for animals you will surely have a blessed life in the near future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks bro! I know there are lots of people out there that loves their pets so much as we do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am first time knowing that animals also experience menstruation. That will be very painful for the little animals

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh really? Yes, they do experience menstruation as well. However, unlike humans, they only experience it once or twice based on my observations.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow such a beautiful white dog. I also have this great affection and kindness toward dog's even if it's not mine. But I try to keep some calm distance at the same time cause not every dog would like a stranger 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've never owned a pet but I admire those that have them, how they relate and bond as if they're humans

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, you can try to have one as well bro. Do you wish not to own one at least?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow naman mag aso, hehe relate ako sa maawa kapag ayaw nila ulam haha. Bibilhan ko sila sardines kapag lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eto kasi yung first dog namin na talagang pinapatulog pa sa kama. Yung kahit sa tanghali, may sarili siyang electricfan kasi naiyak sa init.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super cute😍 nakakatuwa talaga mag alaga ng aso specially kapag nasubaybayan mo every milestone nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy true po ate. Iba din talaga yung feeling non eh. Saka yung attachment mo sakanya at sa mga future pups nya. Unfortunately, I have to say good bye since wala na ako don kila lola.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahaha super spoiled naman niyang asong yan 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi ako nag spoiled dyan yung lola ko. Haha. Tuwang tuwa kasi si lola kay Candy after na maka recover from stroke.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hingi ka ng isaaa, ako nagbabalak rin na magalaga ng aso pero ayaw ng partner ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marami na kaming doggies sa bahay eh. Tatlo na tas nanganak pa yung isa. Hindi ko na kaya suportahan lahat. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pa ampon ng isa. Napaka cute naman. Sana marami ding magmahal sa mga aspin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May isa kaming aspin ate. Very sosyal ang peg sa bahay. Hahaha. Ayaw mababasa at mapuputikan ang mga paa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago