Digital payment to public markets and transportations

22 62
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Before I start this blog, I just want to share an embarrassing moment from a while ago. I was randomly scrolling through my day on messenger and I am enjoying some of my friend's my day, then I try to comment and message them one by one. My sister called me about shopee delivery and I got the money to pay for the parcel. I am not aware that I am already calling someone I didn't know. I just knew that we were video chatting when he asked me why I called him.

I immediately cancelled the video call and said sorry to him. I didn't know who the guy was and he replied that it was okay. That very moment, I just wanted to be eaten by heaven and earth for the embarrassment I felt. I knew he heard me paying the parcel and my conversation with the driver until I went inside our home. Goodness! I shared this to our gc and they kept laughing about it. Whoever you are bro, pardon me. Haha.

For the main topic today, I will be talking about the new plan of Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) and Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) to make all the public markets and transportation to be paid through digital payment. The two sectors of the Philippines had signed off a deal about the upcoming project to make some of the trade to be cashless.

It means the mode of payment is digital and it will be made possible through platforms like Gcash, Maya, and CoinsPH who have been leading as top wallets in the Philippines. Basically, we can pay via QR code. This project is what you called Paleng-QR PH program. This new program aims to enforce digital payment at the very grassroots level with local government units at its backing.

Financial services I mentioned will be the vital key for the program to be successful. They will assist all the customers, vendors and drivers on how to use it. They will give insight and explain the benefits of cashless payment. Thus, how digital payment was better than physical money. The BSP had already approved the standard QR structure that will be used in the program and system.

What are the pros and cons of this project?

I think this project of BSP and DILG is actually good for the others. When I say for the others, it means only selected drivers and vendors can afford to have a cashless payment. If you look closely at the cases of the jeepney and ordinary bus drivers. They can't even get a proper income from driving and then now, if the project is implemented to them. Just a small amount of money can be seen in the wallet.

These particular drivers will not be benefitted at all. I think this is suitable for transportation like taxi, train, air conditioned bus, plane and ship. It will be easier for us to pay and the fares are big compared to low-level transportation. However, it is also a matter of the internet because when you pay, we have to be online. So what if you don't have an internet connection?

On the other hand, I am also thinking about some of the advantages and disadvantages for the public vendors in the supermarket. I think there are so many things to be discussed here, but I cannot explain it clearly since the Paleng-QR PH program is not being implemented yet. No source of what kind of policy, process and information about it yet.

The program is a very good plan, but I wonder how the two sectors can provide an efficient and effective process while implementing the said program. What do you think about these fellow Filipinos? Do you think it would be successful program or not?


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thank you sponsors for giving and sharing your blessing to this humble writer of yours.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

21
$ 3.53
$ 3.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Dennnis
$ 0.03 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

Maganda to pag mga wholesale stores or sari-sari store na medyo techy ang may-ari. Meron na dito yan samin eh, dami ko na nakikitang sari-sari store na thru Gcash ang bayad. Pero pag palengke, jusme daming matatandang vendors diyan, panu namn nila makakayanan at maintindihan yung ganiyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, kailangan magprovide muna sila ng public free wifi with strong internet connection para hindi na magloload yung mga tao para lang makasabay sa cashless payment na yan. Hirap nyan kung mga vendors pa ang magloload, like imbis na kainin nalang nila, ipambabayad pa nila sa mobile data.

Anyways, its an overall good idea. Kailangan lang ayusin ang implementation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mabuti naman may ganito na, for me maganda naman concept niya...para cool hahahaha jk.

Ako naman dati na-heart ko story nung babae hahahaha diko naman close tapos di niya din siguro ako kilala. Uso pa naman dati yung mga galawan na "ay napindot lang po sorry" tapos ex pa yata yun ng kaibigan ko HAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga medyo nakaka sosyal. Wag na dapat phone, maganda kung naka card lang na ma transfer lang pera don. Para tap tap lang.

Ayy naaalala ko nga yan eh. Ayy sorry po napindot lang pero may intensyon naman talaga. Whahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That story is truly embarrassing, I can't imagine calling a random stranger mistankly and not knowing about it, but yours is even worse, it was a video call! 😂 I will definitely feel like the ground should open up and swallow me 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaahha. That's true. Goodness! After the video call ended, I just want to scream because of embarrassment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me, I would say it's a good idea and just as you have said, what if there is no internet connection? Also, not all people own a phone or could operate it even if they have one.

I hope they will try to look at the issue before implementing such program.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I think it's really a good plan, but the implementation should not be strictly. Allow some people to adjust as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok sya if nay public wifi at malakas and lahat nakacp ang vendor at namimili, nqku laking budget na naman yan for sure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede naman po ata siguro mag public wifi para phone nalang ang kulang sa mga walang phones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a good idea.. but not all have a phone, especially the vendors.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ate. Yun din ang magiging problema dito kasi need ng phone at net para maka accesss ng payment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nakakahiya naman po kuya ang ginawa mo. hehe. dapat po iniwan mo nalang ang phone mo sa loob para hindi mo sya napipindot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga eh. Hindi rin kasi ako aware. Masyado akong natuwa sa mga nababasa ko sa myday wahahah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe that it is a good plan but just like you said, may mga cons din talaga kase di lahat pero may ilang vendors or drivers na di sila techy people so it's hard for them to adapt this sudden changes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is what I am thinking too. Hindi naman lahat maalam sa mga ganyan baka mag ka conflict pa sa mga payment eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe naimagine ko tuloy yung nag pay ka sa parcel Marc then nakarinig yung tinawagan mong di mo kilala. Hehe di ko pa yan na encounter Marc pero if na nasa sitwasyon ako sayo tayo talagang kakainin ako ng embarrassment Marc.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo po ate. Nako, natatawa lang ako kanina. Tas unfriend ko sya sa fb kasi nahihiya ako. Wahahha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Magandang idea nga to!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So truee ate. Dito kasi samin puro gcash payment na. So easier nalang mag bayad po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This will surely for well if everyone hearken to this. I prefer the digital payment anytime anyday. I don't like carrying cash

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I don't like holding much cash nowadays. I like to tap or scan haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago