Why Men Should Stop Following Hot Women On Instagram

16 4533
Avatar for DavidBond
4 years ago

We've all done it, you see a random photo of a beautiful girl on instagram, you decide to follow her. Suddenly you get recommended another profile - wow she's stunning! Another follow... and another

Now for the next 6-12 months every time you open instagram, you see her photos... Give it a like, maybe follow a few more.

This is so harmless right?

I don't think so. Here's why men should unfollow every single random "instagram model."

1. WASTE OF TIME & ATTENTION

The two most important things in life is how you spend your time and what you give your attention to. Attention is very limited & people seem to forget that when you give something attention you're inversely denying attention from other things. You can't look at the sky & the ground at the same time.

Following women on instagram you will never meet, never learn anything from, won't inspire you to do anything is a big fat waste of your time.

It's also pretty cringe when you think about it - you're a fucking grown man and you're spending your time gawking at women on the internet. Grow up.

Would you go to a restaurant and stare at food when you're hungry?

2. IT'S A BIG SCAM ANYWAY

Most of these girls not only use massive filters, but even use apps that literally warp the shape of their body & face. The images they are showing are not even *remotely* close to the reality.

This phenomenon is so common there's an entire subreddit dedicated to documenting it. Spend a few hours on here and see what i'm talking about.

I've even met girls who did this right in front of me! One girl warped her stomach to look smaller, made her legs smaller, slapped on a filter - it was insane.

3. BAD FOR YOUR MENTAL HEALTH

When you spend so much time looking at fake & filtered Instagram women, you end up comparing girls in your life with them. You scroll through the profile of that girl you met last week, then scroll down to "random hot girl" and it just is impossible not to compare them.

It's a natural human tendency to compare. We compare ourselves to others, and we compare what we have to others. As men, it's impossible not to compare women to each other, or compare what women we've dated with our friends. When you spend a lot of time following women who's beauty is impossible to actually have in real life due to filters & body warping apps, it's going to make us falsey think the women in our life are not as beautiful as they really are.

Also this probably won't apply to most guys, but me personally - if I see a girl who's really attractive to me and I don't make some kind of effort to meet her, I get this anxiety about it. It's this unsettling feeling of not trying. This same thing happens if I see a girl I want to meet in real life & don't approach - this dark feeling hits the pit of my stomach knowing I did not at least try.

Overall I think men don't think of the small effects following dozens of impossibly beautiful women has on their mental health because most guys do it.

4. FOLLOW PEOPLE & PROFILES WHO INSPIRE YOU

Your mind is like a garden, and the way you feed that garden is by what you give your attention to. Your mood, feelings, thoughts & attitudes can be shaped by what we consume on social media.

If you spent all day watching animal cruelty videos, you'll likely to be in a different mood than if you spent all day watching inspirational lectures.

Instagram is something some of us open multiple times a day, we give it our attention so why not make an effort to follow profiles which inspire us, teach us something or motivate us?

If you're into photography, follow photographers, or artists, or camera tips profiles.

If you want to be successful in real estate, follow some real estate personalities, or business people.

If you someday want to travel, follow digital nomads, travel bloggers, or pages dedicated to beautiful travel photography.

Following CherryLala99 with the 700cc fake tits who went to Dubai last week teaches you nothing. She doesn't inspire you to achieve anything. She just posts cute highly filtered photos of herself in the mirror.

Unfollow CherryLala99 - instead follow me

3
$ 26.54
$ 25.00 from @Ellie
$ 0.50 from @OnChainScaling
$ 0.50 from @BitcoinBCH
+ 7
Avatar for DavidBond
4 years ago

Comments

Yeah but... I'm not planning on meeting her real self... I don't care if it is filtered if it looks like art \o/

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Guilty of this. I should unfollow all the models On Instagram right now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi David! Please change the lead image to something less suggestive, as sexuality/erotic is forbidden by our rules, otherwise I'd have to remove the image. (EDIT: As you weren't responding, we've removed the image. It has been replaced with first image from the article, which is ok)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

oh sorry I was at dinner. ill be careful next time.

$ 0.05
4 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Lets go even further: stop using useless social media platforms.

$ 0.06
4 years ago

I agree absolutely! And get rid of Instagram first.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

fortunately i no longer using the social apps such as FB, IG, Twitter, then i don't have to waste my time to following the hot girls there.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You are tottaly right and I gotta admit, you're pretty good in Photoshop! Btw, I love your YT videos :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Just avoid these types of women in general. They're attention seekers. It's gross. But, good points.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You are totally right :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

"Personally, I always plan my day and manage my time. Anytime I'm on social media, there's a mission to be accomplished so no room for distraction. Hence, not all men have done it as you thought".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not following hot girls on igram, checked... Is it fine if I follow cute dogs?

$ 0.05
4 years ago

Or lovely cats maybe? ;-)

$ 0.01
4 years ago

I actually think Instagram did something brilliant here. It was totally growing as an erotic site, which attracted lots of attention and girls were getting more and more undressed and at the peak of the glory, they just forbade it totally, thereby legitimizing the site.. but having had all the benefits of a "normal" site, while enjoying the hyper-growth of a trashy erotic site.

I've personally tried Instagram for like a few days. Its a terrible display of "look at me, me, me, me"... Didn't enjoy it one bit.

$ 0.10
4 years ago