Darth Roison: a spanish speaking bitcoincasher on YouTube part 1

2 104
Avatar for DarthRoison
4 years ago

Who is "Darth Roison"?

In this post I want to talk about what I have achieved and learned during an approximate period of 2 months and 20 days. First of all, I will try to introduce myself for those who don't know me. My name is Luis Rodríguez and I was born in Venezuela. I met bitcoin in ~2012, and have been a bitcoincasher since 2017.

Due to the debate over the Bitcoin escaling that took place between 2015 and 2016, even before a Bitcoin-BTC split (originating Bitcoin Cash) was formally raised, I considered myself a big blocker. And today I continue supporting and believing in Bitcoin Cash (BCH) as a peer-to-peer electronic cash for the whole world.

During all this time, I have been participating in the Bitcoin Cash community as much as possible. Even when my English was not as good, I have kept myself informed using Google Translate, because the content about cryptos in spanish is not as accessible as in the anglo-world.

To mention some things I have done: I documented (in Spanish) the news about the adoption of Bitcoin Cash for ~ 1 year in a subreddit called «bitcoin_espanol»; I've posted so many posts about bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash that I've already lost count (some of them are published on elbitcoin.org –the blog of my friend majamalu–); I actively participated in Yours.org (when it was a relevant social network) and posted reflections on how to make Bitcoin Cash better for the world there, etc.

I have also been active documenting about BCH and cryptocurrencies on the spanish Wikipedia (in the Hispanic world, Wikipedia is a VERY popular quick reference site); I was a voluntary BCH Ambassador thanks to the Bitcoin Cash Association (BCA), A.K.A. Bitcoin Cash Fund (BCF) and I organized a couple of meetups in Venezuela; I have been one of the most active users in the venezuelan BCH community for all these years... and recently, I have started an outreach project about cryptocurrencies on YouTube that I would like to tell you about.

What have I done in that period?

Let me start by outlining my context earlier this year. I studied a T.S.U (University Superior Technician) in Audiovisual Sciences and Photographic Arts. My greatest passions are BCH and cinema. A couple of years ago I had to postpone the completion of my university career due to the situation in my country. But at the end of 2019 I decided to finish what I had left (At that time I only had to present the thesis and do the internships). In mid-December I completed my internships, and in early 2020 I finished my thesis and passed. When 2019 was ending I decided to start making content for YouTube, and as I finished my obligations I started a process of learning, trial and error in my spare time, which is the subject of this post.

What content did I make? Well, I started with that was simplest for me.

Before, I had edited videos (I've been the editor of more than a dozen short films and the subtitler of some 15 videos about cryptocurrencies; not counting a lot of other videos in different formats), but I had never considered being «YouTuber»; From the beginning I assumed that I was going to make a lot of mistakes initially and that realizing them would be my first profit. So I did a couple of tutorials using a program (OBS Studio) that I had tried to deal with before without success.

Thanks to those first experiences I understood how OBS worked, and then I started experimenting with streaming, which, I discovered, is possible to me, although I still have to gather some audience to make that possible. By the way, until this year I thought you couldn't stream with a 1 MB internet upload plan.

After these first results, not only did I feel motivated, but I was also more determined to overcome my stage fright to speak more and more openly, also sharing my point of view. And here I am, making this post, as a formal statement of my intention to stay active in order to grow and spread knowledge about cryptocurrencies, especially Bitcoin Cash.

What have I accomplished so far?

To summarize, I'm not "famous" yet.

I am still in my early stages of growth (I have just 36 YouTube subscribers, ~20 videos and my channel's videos accumulate a little more than 1,000 views –502 of them during the last 28 days–). However, I can notice a before and after (I think anyone watching my videos could notice it) and that makes me feel great.

BTW, I write this in English, because I've posted some of my videos in Spanish posts here at read.cash, and I'm afraid the Hispanic community is still a bit small.

Sponsors of DarthRoison
empty
empty
empty

I will list the topics covered during these (almost) 3 month. Divided by what I consider the first creative stages I have gone through as a content creator.

Stage 1

Stage 2

Stage 3

Stage 4

Where do I upload my videos?

For now, I upload my videos to my YouTube channel and my Facebook fanpage.

I share my YouTube videos on my Telegram channel and various cryptocurrency groups also on Telegram, as well as on my Twitter, among other media.

I share my Facebook fanpage's videos in Facebook groups only.

I've recently set up a profile on Patreon, and I've started sharing my videos there publicly (I guess I'll do the same with my new posts). But I'm just learning how to use that platform. I have also received a lot of feedback and a couple of tips in Bitcoin Cash through the QR codes of my videos. I think in total I received ~11 USD.

At the moment my goal is to continue learning and create an audience, as well as better define the type of content that I will create in the future, among other details.

I would be delighted to hear your advices on this. I will continue to report on it.

Bitcoin is Cash, BCH is Cash, BCH is Bitcoin ;)

4
$ 2.51
$ 2.50 from @majamalu
$ 0.01 from @Omar
Avatar for DarthRoison
4 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Good job waking up the people of Venezuela! They need BCH more than anyone else in the world.

$ 0.06
4 years ago

Thank you. You have always been the one who has supported and helped me the most.

You are a great friend and also a great bitcoincasher.

You have much more merit than me. So I always try to learn from you.

I send you a big hug!!

$ 0.00
4 years ago