The Robbery

28 40
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

It's a beautiful Tuesday morning. The weather is lovely and I'm still excited from celebrating my younger brother's birthday with him yesterday.

This morning, I remembered an encounter I once had with armed robbers at school. I had never been robbed before and I must confess a little part of me was excited, not necessarily in a good way but I could feel my heart beating really fast, and I couldn't stop telling myself "it's happening it's finally happening". It was the week after school exams, lots of students had gone home for the short holiday. I didn't go home it yet because I still had a few things to do in school. I had a roommate and she had gone to visit a family friend that day; she was to return the next day. Being alone gave me the opportunity to clean up the room as well as I wanted to as I could clean all parts of the room including where she kept her things. I also cleaned the outer part of our room, cleared out anything that didn't need to be there and I locked up the things we wouldn't use till we travelled. The way the rooms were set were like motels. There was a long corridor with doors to different rooms. These rooms were all occupied by students. My room was on the ground floor and there were other rooms on the first floor.

Unsplash image

The building was not fenced and strangers could easily walk in. There was a small gate we locked at night but a determined toddler could possibly get past it.

At the night of the robbery, I was bored since my roommate was not around so I went upstairs to hang out with my lodge mates. We all stayed in a room and those who had stayed in the lodge (the building) for longer told us tales about the different students who had stayed there and their personalities. They also told us about the events that had been held in the lodge like the end of session celebrations etc. It was fun to listen to the stories. The major narrators exaggerated each events in ways that made us laugh. We kept asking questions and getting hilarious replies. The night was going well. The session was over and no one had lectures to attend, so we stayed up till a little past midnight.

I later went down to my room. Downstairs, the other students hadn't travelled for the holiday yet, we were all still around. I went to my room, admired how clean it was then I got ready to sleep. I locked my door and after some contemplations about whether to keep my light off or on, I turned it off.

At about 2 or 3 am, I heard footsteps and whispering. I might have ignored it or not even heard it considering that I was tired and only went to sleep a few hours earlier. I should have been deep in sleep but the nature of the sounds woke me up somehow. I still marvel at the fact that I was woken up by whispers. When I heard it, something felt off. I couldn't make out what they said and then I heard their footsteps, they were just outside, not far from my room. I grabbed my phone close to me but my phone had fallen in water earlier and was damaged, the screen was blank and unreadable, I could only take calls. I managed to reduce the volume to the minimum but I couldn't call anybody.

I crawled out of my bed and got in more appropriate clothes. I hid anything of value including mine and my roommates. I removed my charger which was showing a blue light, I brought out my old spoilt laptop so that if they came in, they would have something to take and hopefully leave me alone. I then took off the covers from my mattress and I stood in the small space between the window and door. It was the only blind spot if they looked through my window.

There was became louder and I could tell when they jumped through the small gate. I was worried as I thought I was the only girl around and I was alone. I later found out another girl came visiting in another room but she was with her boyfriend. The doors of each room was wooden and they started with breaking the first one. I don't know how they did it but I heard the bang on the door.

They went room by room till they got to mine, the second to last room. They had a very bright torchlight and with it one of them flashed into my room through the window and the torchlight illuminated the whole room. I was standing still beside the window, holding my breath and willing my heart to stop beating so heavily. I could smell the sweat from the theif who was just a feet away from me, although, outside. Another one tugged at my door and banged on it hard shouting "open the door". I didn't know if I should stay or blow my cover by opening the door. The one with the torch then moved away and said "I don't think anyone is here". Because I had cleaned up earlier, the front of my room looked vacant, like I had packed up and travelled. While they still pushed the door, they noticed my next-door neighbour peeping from his window and they went to that room. I heard he was hit with the but of a gun for peeping.

I got away from being robbed but I felt bad for my neighbours. I called my roommate to inform her the next morning and she said she would have yelled, cried and opened the door haha. The next day, we demanded for better protection of the building and in two days, construction work began.

Thanks for reading. Have you ever experienced any form of robbery?

11
$ 2.91
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @FashTioluwa
+ 6
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

If I were there I definitely would fainted or scream loudly. I have never experienced such a thing and honestly I do not want to experience too. I'm glad that you were and are safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I pray no one ever experiences it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God nothing happen at your side, ordinary small robbery, you hide, instead of you to beat them up, but I would have just turn to water, it must have been a terrible experience, Pele dear. I remember when cultist stopped my bus on my way home from work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 Sorry, I didn't fight because I didn't want to injure them. What did you do when cultists stopped you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will write about it so you would know how brave I'm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 OK, I'll like to read it

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing you did not panic ang trick the robbers. I am not sure if I can do that too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't even know I could do that until it happened

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you were brave. I on the other hand would not have been able to move because of panic. Congratulations 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 At least, staying put might save your life in this scenario

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just made me remembered same encounter. What a terrible Experience. Let me put it into writing. Thank God you're touched, abi you out God's chosen stickers for your door? Lol🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sha tag me so I can read

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay my brother/sister 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its a brother's sir/ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Miracle stickers. I'll like to read about your experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah🤣. All those testimonies we here about miracle stickers 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stickers that do the most. They could probably raise the dead too 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never had such an experience. Even don't want that. Thanks to Almighty. You were safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I don't want that for you either

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Geez, this was pretty scary to be honest. Luckily for me, I have never been robbed despite the fact that I stay in a very dangerous community in my university known as ekosodin. The closest I have come to getting robbed was when I went to visit a friend in another off-campus community, and some persons were robbing in broad daylight, they were even shooting guns.

But seriously, why will you even stay in a lodge that doesn't have a gate and the doors are even wooden? That's bad news and a very big incentive for robbers to come visiting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, daylight robbery with guns? I might have fainted before they got to me. Most lodges were like that, no gate and wooden doors. The newer lodges are now better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Which university is that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

UNN

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah have experience... something about robbers, this happened when I'm in school, that faithful night, they attack our room and I feel like the ground should open for me to enter immediately when I say the guy with a gun, and he asked me to bring out my phone and my money

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah! That sounds scary! I hope you weren't hurt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In this day and age such robbers are not heard of. But when we were little we used to hear about this robber. And in many places there were robberies. Now I am very scared to hear. After a long time I heard an incident of robbers mate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a really scary experience, I pray to one witnesses it

$ 0.00
2 years ago