How Today went

26 46
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Date: Friday. 8th of April, 2022. 

TGIF!! I'm screaming like I have TGIF plans haha. Today, I'm hoping to have a good night's rest and wake up late tomorrow (that is, if my body doesn't wake me up early out of habit).

Before dawn today, I noticed how the temperature dropped and everywhere became windy. I wasn't mad about it until electrify was disconnected. Over here, when there is rain, there will be no electricity. I don't know why this is the case, but it happens. My major comfort was that the weather was cool, my devices were fully charged and I was to work from the office today. The challenge I had about an hour later was getting up after my alarm went off. The weather was just right and was willing me to sleep on. I kept snoozing till I exhausted my snooze limits, then I set another alarm on my phone haha. I finally woke up to the last alarm I set.

You'd think things would get easier after waking up, right? Well, it didn't because I only managed to sit up on the bed without moving for minutes as I mentally willed myself to go and take my bath. It was a tough battle as the spirit was willing but the body was weak but the fear of being broker than I already am prevailed and I got my sleepy self to do the needful. Surprisingly, I got ready in about 30 minutes, a personal record of mine lol.

Since I was leaving the house earlier than my parents, I went to wake them up from their beauty sleep. My dad was not happy haha, he was enjoying his sleep way too much, but he couldn't be mad at me because he actually had to start preparing to go out. I left the house and went to find a commercial motorbike that would take me to the main road where I would take a bus. Sadly, it seemed like everyone on the street needed a bike this morning and it also seemed like we had all left out houses at the same time to get a bike. It wasn't easy to find one because people quickly flagged them down and took off. Finally, I saw one from afar and I knew the people ahead of me would get the bike if I didn't act fast so I started waving at the bike man from afar. At first, I thought he didn't see me or would stop to pick up someone closer to him even if he saw me, but he rode straight towards me and I was happy. I had the smug look of triumph on my face as the bike carried me and sped past the people in front of me muhahaha.

When I got to the main road, it was already so busy like the people there had been up for hours. There was loud talks, shouts, people rushing from one point to another, people trying to lift heavy loads, sellers calling out to passers by, vehicles honking, bus conductors calling out busstops and touts arguing with bus drivers. It was a big contrast to the quiet serenity I left at home. With all the hustle and bustle, I noticed it was easy to get distracted and probably have my pocket picked. So, I took my bag and wore it on my chest, facing the front so that it was always in my line of sight.

As I was heading to the bus that would take me to my location, I noticed people avoiding most of the buses and it turned out they had raised their fares. I asked a woman what was going on and she explained the price hike to me. Another lady came and I told her what was going on and she left. Not long after, I saw her in a bus waving to me. She had found a bus with a fair price, it was really kind of her to save me the last seat. It's funny how situations make people form alliance in an instant.

My day went well and my younger brother who was stuck in traffic also finally got home and we're catching up.

How did your own day go?

Thanks for reading!

12
$ 2.50
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

The relationship between rain and NEPA taking light can never be broken. It started raining over here at about 5am and they immediately took the light when it started getting windy, but I am still thankful that it rained because the weather became very perfect for sleep, I ended up waking from sleep at about 12pm πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, 12pm, that's the dream! πŸ™Œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing you woke up to the last set alarm hahah while me, I didn't woke up until my mom went to my room and shouted " Patayin mo yang ALARMMM!!" That was scary hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Once your mum shouts, you definitely have to wake up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so difficult to wake up in a good mood when you are not in balance with your mind, I recommend you read miraculous mornings, the book that changed my life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the recommendation, Mafer!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That thing is all over our country, those NEPA people they have problem, even here in MINNA, the little breeze of rain that blew yesterday has cause them not to bring electricity anymore.

Good to know alarm your alarm woke you up, sometimes i set alarm, but not all the time.

I enjoyed reading your article, i'm new here though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Minna is supposed to always have light since the Kainji dam is in the state.

Welcome to read.cash, it's nice to meet you here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The hustle and bustle in Lagos can distract you and leave one exposed to pocket pickers

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is just the truth, we always have to be careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter for how many times I set my alarm, I can't wake up at morning. You're a good girl who helps his parents to wake up early unlike meπŸ˜‚ I'm glad that you enjoyed your day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here too, when it rains heavily and with a gust of wind, there is no electricity. Make us relief if the phone is not lowbat and the flashlight is full charge . It's good that you woke up to your alarm because I don't wake up but mama wakes up to my alarm that's why shes angry because of the disturbance.I'm a coffee lover too whether it's raining or hot weather and without coffee in the morning it's so drowsy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's nice, it's cool that you can relate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't woke up albeit I have an alarm clock. I don't know why but it's still useless when setting that on my bed. My sister always tend to wake me up and when I'm still sleeping she just kicked me out of the bed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, that's kinda funny

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My day passed away in a interesting way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's nice for you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems like we both have plan on sleeping early and waking up late, I'm sure that @ella-writer is just preparing to come online

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, I woke up late oh. The weather was really cool but there was no light till night

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be like I will come and join you in your house o. This place is so hot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, come na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see that was your day! Well if I talk about the electricity then in my village area when the winds start to blow like before the rain or storm then electricity goes off. And in the town I am living here the electricity goes when it is really needed like in the night prayer time, lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, I'm glad you can understand the situation

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah I can understand because I have experience evertime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I'm glad you can understand the situation

$ 0.00
2 years ago