Back to the Old Days

19 23
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Hey guys, how is it going? Its pretty late here. Today is one of those days when I have my eyes focused on my devices till I lost track of time. Worst still, I don't even know what to write about? I truly miss the times when I could spend a whole day. Speaking of things I miss, I have been around kids a lot lately and watching them play with each other and interact makes me miss a lot of things about my childhood including:

  • NAIVETY AND WONDER

One of the many things I miss about childhood is how innocent and naive we were. We saw the world in an innocent light and are too trusting of the people around us because we did not believe or understand the possibility of anyone wanting to cause us harm. We were marvelled and in awe of so many things. We had the chance to experience new things everyday and were always excited unlike now when we have seen a lot of things and understand how things work. As a child, I once walked several blocks staring at the moon because I thought it was following me; I wanted to catch it red-handed when it changes its course to follow someone else but that didn't happen because it followed me home haha. I miss how every experience was still new and we enjoyed the feeling of learning something new we never knew about

  • GAMES

As a child, I was very quiet but whenever I was home with all the other kids in the apartment, I would play happily and loudly. Most children just want to have fun and sees it as a reason to exist, every other thing like school, chores etc are secondary to them. For children now, they are mostly attached to their phones and the only games they play are mobile or computer games. When I was younger, we played outside under the sun and in the rain. Some of these games made our minds sharper and our wits quicker. There were some games that tested our speed where we had to run to avoid being caught some required some quick thinking, some also required us to remember certain things no matter the distraction. While these were just games to us, they were helping our development as kids in real, practical time. Now, even I play mobile games and I don't see kids playing outside anymore.

  • LACK OF SHAME

Children do not really feel much shame the way adults do. When I was younger, I would leave the house and gị downstairs without a shirt haha. I still can't believe I did that but it happened a lot. My brothers would stay shirtless and so would I. I didn't know what to be embarrassed about at the time and neither did the other kids because it was just normal for little kids to walk around that way. I don't really remember much of it but I know I was very little at the time. Now, I still see little kids who were probably about my age then doing the same thing and I just remember that I used to be like them.

  • LACK OF BLAMES

Being a child comes with being devoid of some responsibilities. I come from a home where we were heavily chastised or punished when we did something wrong but no matter how bad we felt the punishment was, it never really lasted compared to what would have happened if we were older. Kids will damage stuff, do the opposite of what they're told or just be stubborn and they get chastised but after an hour, they will forget and start playing around again because they know that's where it ends. For adults you are held more responsibly. Also, parents will blame themselves a lot when their kids does something wrong and for that, the kid goes about enjoying their care-free and almost blameless life.

What about you? What do you miss about childhood?

10
$ 2.33
$ 2.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @FashTioluwa
+ 6
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Gaming: during those times, I'm hardly seen at home because of play. We would go out with friends, play football, go bird hunting , cashew and mango hunting inclusive. I received a lot to beating those days ehhh Especially when we game at the river🥱.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Despite the beating you'll still do it again another day. Those times were fun sha. And children that played a lot mostly turn out to be well-adjusted adults

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's very correct

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree on lack of shame, because when I was young before, I was so innocent that I even went out of the house with a sando and a panty. I just want to get out but people will tell me that I should put another undergarments. I was 5 then, I do not know that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 That's just the pure innocence of childhood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 That's just the pure innocence of childhood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss everything in my childhood, but I can't go back anymore. Now, its just a memory that makes me felt nostalgic and I treasured it all. A part me was being reminded of how innocent I am. Back then, my parents were so strict to me, especially when I want to play outside. As an only child, I am not like those other kids that can play all they want, anytime, anywhere. But, I am happy that I do have that kind of parents because as I grow older, I am able to understand life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, you're right. We can't go back but only remember them as memories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have sen days like that. But some people don't let their childrens play outside because of the safety of their childs or in fear of getting hurt. Days have changed and childrens play online games in the field sitting together haha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, things have changed a lot and children also have to stay indoors for their safety

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah thats true and also the reality of now adays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those days were golden days. Wow! You just made me nostalgic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I truly miss those days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly. If I can sponsor you again, i would have done it twice, nice write up

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww, thank you so much!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Would be lying if I said I don't miss my childhood. Things were much simpler than, unlike now

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I miss it a whole lot! Apart from the fact that we've grown and have to be more responsible, the world is now different too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree it is different now From what we used to know

$ 0.00
2 years ago