Giving GF a Valentine’s gift that reminds her of her EX

2 40
Avatar for Corpsekunno
2 years ago

February 10, 2022

This is all I could think of four days before Valentine's Day. I've been preoccupied with school for three days and on-the-job training, so I wasn't able to publish anything the day before. Anyway, I just wanted to share this story written by an anonymous writer (Male) with you.

This story is pretty messed up actually but if you still wanna proceed then here you go.


Hello there. To put this in context, my girlfriend and I have been together for just under 4 years (our anniversary is mid March). We've been doing long distance for about 8 months now; I moved for a job and she couldn't come with me, so here we are. We've only seen each other once during that time, despite the fact that we lived together for about 2 years prior to this. Given COVID, we're about 7 hours/2 plane rides away, so it's not simple or easy.

My girlfriend is devastated that we won't be able to spend Valentine's Day together this year. She is not a materialistic person at all, but she enjoys sentimental items. She enjoys nice gestures such as dinners. Her favorite gift from me was when I did a cover of her favorite song while she was working abroad in Cape Town. She enjoys collages and mixtapes that remind her of a friend or a relationship, etc. She's been depressed about it for a few weeks now. I wanted to cheer her up this week, so I sent her a small care package (admitedly a small box of chocolates and a card).

Anyway, I sent her a cute little card with a photo of the Venice Canal on it. She called me a few hours ago after receiving it and the chocolates, thanked me, said it was a really nice gesture, and so on. She chuckled and asked, "Why Venice?" I told her it was a cute card but that I didn't think much of it. She told me she obviously appreciated it, but she thought it was strange that I sent her one of Venice. "What's the connection?" she wondered. "My ex-boyfriend broke up with me in Venice, and on that same trip, I found out my grandmother had died; it's one of my darkest and saddest memories." She had told me about that and everything, I already known all of this. Her and her BFF had saved up for a high school graduation trip to Europe, and they'd spent four days in Venice when her boyfriend texted her and dumped her on the spot, and then a day or so later she got the news that her grandmother had died and she needed to fly home as soon as possible for the funeral. Her entire trip had been cut short, and she had been devastated for weeks.

We have no connection to Venice as a couple; we've never been and have no plans to go, though we have discussed how nice it would be to travel to Italy together one day... But I had completely forgotten about the ex-boyfriend situation. Now I'm feeling terrible because I know she would have preferred a simple card with a heartfelt message. I didn't get to write a note or anything because I ordered the chocolates and card online, so it's just a blank card with a picture of the Venice canal.

To clarify, she has previously told me this story about Venice and her ex on several occasions. He was her only other "serious" boyfriend. I feel like a jerk because this is the one place in the world where she has a bad association, and it's the place that I got her a card of! It also has a small pop-up? I'm not sure, it's a little ostentatious for both of us, because she prefers simple things. She hasn't made a big deal out of it, but I could tell by the tone of her voice that she was disappointed/upset that I had been so forgetful. It doesn't help that it was a fairly expensive card (as far as cards go), and it's very "out there" and in her face.


Closing Thoughts

My first thought is that he should be more careful about what he gives her the next time. Even if I were in her shoes, I'd be in a lot of pain. It's as if you're doing it on purpose to make her feel and remember everything about how tragic her life has been.

It’s really disappointing to be honest.

Lead Image

Date: February 10, 2022 
Author: Corpsekunno 
Title : VALENTINE’S GIFT
Article no.: 94

Sponsors/Supporters

Sponsors of Corpsekunno
empty
empty
empty

I'd like to thank my sponsors, readers, commenters, up-voters, fellow authors, and any of my online friends who have never tired of reading my nonsense and have continued to support me. One of the reasons I keep coming back to this platform and writing is because of you. Please accept my heartfelt gratitude. 🥺❤️

---

Author’s Note

Hey! Corpsekunno here!

If you enjoyed this article, please consider subscribing and leaving a comment in the description box below about what you thought about the story I shared, because I have a lot of exciting things to share with you in the near future. 

Thank you so much for reading this; I really appreciate it. 

I wish you a wonderful day !

Previously:

3
$ 1.32
$ 1.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Corpsekunno
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Corpsekunno
2 years ago

Comments

I agree. It is really disappointing. I would rather have a cheap gift as long as it is well- thought of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really important to remember even the simplest things in a relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago