The Queen is ours

67 208
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

How are you, my dear Read.cash readers? I hope you are having a great weekend. I'm going to talk about one of the most well-known typical Venezuelan foods, the arepas. But I won't talk about just any arepa. I'm going to tell you which is the queen of the arepas.

Some of you may not know what arepas are. But they are a Venezuelan food made with cornflour. Their origin dates back to pre-Columbian times, and their place of origin has been in dispute for years because Colombians claim to be their creators, and even at some point, Mexicans have claimed them as their own. But the truth is that although the origin is not very clear, we don't know if the arepa is Colombian or Venezuelan. There is no doubt that among the arepas, the Queen is ours.

One of the things that differ in Venezuela and Colombia is the filling with which the arepas are usually eaten. In Venezuela, arepas are eaten with every kind of filling, cheese, shredded beef, pork, chicken, fish, egg, and anything else you can think of. For example, I love to combine arepas with cheese and avocado. Like this one in the picture Arepa with Guayanes cheese and Avocado, I posted in Noise a while ago.

Arepa with Avocado and Guayanes Cheese- by Me

The Queen is ours - La Reina Pepiada

And yes, I love avocado on the arepa. And for me, the only one that can beat the arepa in the photo, it's the Reina Pepiada (Pepiada Queen).

A Reina Pepiada is an arepa stuffed with a chicken salad with avocado. And as some of you may know, last weekend, I bought the bargain of 7 avocados for a dollar. So one of the things I made during the week was Reinas Pepiadas.

To make them, you only need shredded chicken, avocado, mayonnaise, salt, and pepper. And I like to add a touch of balsamic vinegar. Many people also add a little coriander and finely chopped onion, but I like the simple and original recipe.

Reina Pepiada - by Me

Now you will wonder about the so curious name, Reina Pepiada. Here, a long time ago, curvy women were usually said to be pepiadas. And this arepa bears its name in honor of the first Miss World Venezuela had in 1955, named Susana Duijm.

Some background - Venezuela land of Beauty Queens

Maybe some of you know that one of the things that Venezuela is known for in the world is for being a country of beauty queens. Venezuelans pride themselves on having the highest number of international titles in beauty pageants. We're the second country in the number of Miss Universe crowns, surpassed by the US. And we are the only country to have achieved a back-to-back in the Miss Universe. In 2009, our Miss Universe crowned another Venezuelan candidate.

A former Venezuelan Miss Universe was a presidential candidate and mayor of one of the richest municipalities in the capital. Many Venezuelan girls dream of someday being beauty queens. Venezuela was a factory of beauty contestants. And I say it was since in recent years the economic crisis has beaten the beauty industry also. But all this comes to tell you that all this fury seemed to have its starting point when Susana Duijm won Miss World in 1955.

https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Susana_Duijm#/media/Archivo:Miss_Venezuela_1955_titleholder,_Susana_Duijm.jpg

The Story of the Reina Pepiada

Source

In 1955, there was a very popular arepera in Caracas, run by some brothers named Alvarez. Caracas artists and intellectuals used to go to the arepera of the Alvarez brothers. The tostadas, as they used to call their arepas, were famous in the city.

When Susana Duijm was crowned Miss World, the brothers decided to dress like a beauty queen, one of their nieces a 12 year old girl. The girl was seated on a small platform in the arepera so that everyone who entered could see the tribute to the Beauty Queen. Those days, a man entered the arepera and asked why they had the girl sitting and exhibited in that way. To which they replied that it was in tribute to Suasana Duijm, the Miss World. The man told them that Susana was his daughter. And that he would go with her to the arepera in a few days. Indeed, he showed up with Susana a few days later. They asked to eat one of the house specialties, an arepa with chicken, avocado, mayonnaise, and that one also had petitpois. That day they baptized the arepa Reina Pepiada in honor of Susana Duijm.

Nowadays, due to the huge migration of Venezuelans. It's easy to find in different parts of the world a spot of Venezuelan food. And if they have arepas, which is most likely. It's also very likely, they should have the Reina Pepiada, our queen, on their menu.

Thank you, my dear readers! If you'd enjoyed the reading, a comment or a thumb up will be greatly appreciated.

To my wonderful sponsors, thank you!

Images credits on the caption.

Until next time. :)

July 24, 2021

16
$ 2.53
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @gertu13
$ 0.25 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 14
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Excellent article that whets the appetite seasoned with excellent anecdotal writing.

I really like the arepa with cheese, but as you say, the pepiadas queens, in addition to being tasty, are distinctive of our region.

Thank you for sharing part of our customs with the read.cash community.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I'm glad you like it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I shouldn't be reading this today, as I'm fasting and this made me hungry :)

Congratulations again on first visit from Rusty - it's about time! πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, thank you, Monika! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see rusty indeed! :D Cheers to more of seeing him in your future articles!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would like to make my version of your Reina Pepiada looks delicious😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can do it if have cornflour is really easy to make :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Food looks really great and delicious with amazing history. I would love to taste this!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I hope you can try it someday. It's really good!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would mean going to Venezuela. I like that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome here! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The arepas look soft, are they? It looks quite interesting, especially since they seem to replace bread, yet look fluffy. What does it taste like?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Arepas are made of cornflour, so they are a cooked corn dough. So I think they taste a bit like corn. And yes, they are soft inside but a bit toasted outside. They replace bread. And you can make them grilled or fried.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you just add water to cornflour and some salt to make it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly is cornflour, water, salt, and a teaspoon of oil for the dough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just might try it when I am able to buy corn flour. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great! Let me know if you try! thanks for stopping by! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a great post. I have already read in other publications Venezuelans exalting our arepa. What a pride to know the history behind this tasty arepa. May it travel the worlds through the platforms the knowledge of our venezuela. I wish that your post is seen by many people who do not know our country but for the bad news.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, dear friend! Agreed with you. Sometimes, we exalt the bad things because we are frustrated. And forget about all the good things we have. And it's up to us to spread the good things we have, which despite everything are many. We live in a beautiful country, with many friendly people.

Since you have more time here, I take the chance to ask you about the service for boosting the articles. I tried once, but I saw that it's somewhat expensive. But have you used that before? Is it worth it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had not read your answer thanks to my bad connection this message was deleted and until now I read it.

Let me tell you that I am now reading about that service you refer to. I don't know it nor had I ever read about anything like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry. Well, there is a way that you can pay to boost your article. But the rates for it seem pretty expensive. I've tried once, but it seems not worthy. I asked you since you have been here for a long time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sometimes they ask me questions that they think I know because of the time I have. But I just stick to writing and reading the publications. If there is nothing informative in what I read, I just don't know. That's why I always make mistakes, because I don't know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're doing great. So you donΒ΄t need to worry about anything else. Thank you for your answer, anyway! Have a good afternoon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Would love to try your arepa, the Reina Pepiada one. And yeah, Venezuela has lots of beautiful ladies worthy of Ms. Universe. Are you a beauty queen title holder too? πŸ§‘πŸ‘

$ 0.03
2 years ago

For sure you would like it. If you try to make them, the difficult ingredient for you might be the cornflour with which the arepas are made :) And no, haha. ​​I never participated in a beauty contest LOL. Thanks for stopping by! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh so it's a history in honor of the queen! Wonderful! And I loveeee avocados. I should try this one time!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You know I'm waiting for you here! With the complete tour, including eating Reina Pepiada. β™‘

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If flying would be that easy these days, I'll be there in a heartbeat. Thank you for another awesome tour, Coqui!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome, my dear! Hopefully, anytime soon, things get better in the world. And you'll come here for the real tour! xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's pray for that, Coqui. You have a great weekend, my friend!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Venezuela does have a good treat, I wish it was sold here in that style...the queue will be massive. I haven't seen anything like it, you just made desire this beauty πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯ I love your writing

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope you can try it one day. Thank you very much for your kind words :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey! Now that makes me hungry too! Your food names sound sexy and reading further made me understand why :) I love how they value beauty queens out there, it is an honor they so deserve.

I think I may try that one with avocado but with sweet milk and chocolates as fillings and probably grated coconuts too :D Now I must check where to buy avocados hehehe.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha, you deserve to be hungry now! It's so curious to me that you talk about eating avocado with sweet milk and chocolate. I love avocados and could eat them all day. But I never eat them with anything sweet. The first time I saw avocados with sugar and milk was recent, in a post of @tired_momma in Noise. Also, I never tried arepas with anything sweet, but why not? I should give them a try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am haha. For the avocado with sweet milk, blame it to my mom haha. She used to serve avocados sprinkled with sweet powdered milk and a bit of sugar and they're actually tasty and I've never eaten avocado without anything sweet on them since.

I think they won't be called arepas anymore when their fillings are totally changed into something sweet :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fact, there are sweet arepas, but because sometimes people add sweet to the dough to make them. But I've never seen a sweet filling. But it should taste good as well. I will try, hehe. And the avocado with powdered milk and sugar too. ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I see, that's quite a twist too. Yes you may and please let me know what you think when you do :) thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure I will! I'm thinking maybe I'll try with a jam :) have a nice Sunday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Jam's good hehe. You too, take care :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ohhh.. Its new to me, specifically with my eyes thou. It really looks yummy and delicious. I should say I love eating avocados, but as a matter of fact, I just lately realized that I really can eat and loved it.. hihi.. You know, I love to made some of it..I should try making too, my own version.. Mouth-watering and importantly, healthy food..

Good day!☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you'll try and like it!, thanks for stopping by!:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it must be very tasty when it is from corn. It looks like hamburger or cheese burger. Your women are really very pretty. I enjoyed your blog. Thank you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you very much for your kind words! I'm glad to hear you've enjoyed the blog.
I'm sure, you'll love the arepa if you try it ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really looks delicious. And I love avocado so much. And yes Venezuela was the land of queens. This land was the scariest opponent of Philippines when it comes to beauty pageant.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, you are right Philipines is another country with a lot of beauty queens. And tough competitors to Venezuelan misses. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its my pleasure. Thanks also for sharing your story. :-)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is some history there! I like how it gave honor to beauty queens particularly Ms. Duijm. I only eat avocado as it is. I haven't tried adding it to anything else. Maybe I should try adding it to chicken salad too. If only I have the means, I would set up a Venezuelan restaurant here :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Avocado in salads is great. And guacamole is great to join many foods. Have you ever try guacamole? You could have a Venezuelan food restaurant if you could have the means without a problem since for the similar climate you should have most of the ingredients, could be a great success.

And well, beauty pageants here used to be craziness. I know the Philippines also have some furor for beauty queens.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I haven't tried guacamole. The only variation I get with avocado is avocado shake lol! I have been used to eating it as is.

You are indeed correct. Beauty pageant here is a big thing. Do you know that if our country wins Miss Universe the salons here will offer free hair service? :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. You'll love guacamole if you try it. It's very easy to make. Look at the answer I left @TengoLoTodo for the ingredients you need.

That's cool to have a free hair service LOL. Here, everything around the beauty industry is kind of crazy. People often go to extremes and have many cosmetic surgeries, breast and buttock implants. The obsession here with beauty seems crazy to me. But I wouldn't say no to a free hair service LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love guacamole!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whooaa.. It's my first time seeing a mix of avocado and cheese in one sandwich and it appeared like a weir combination for me, honestly. I don't know,aybe when I try it, I might change my mind. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well, an arepa isn't exactly bread. It's made with corn dough. But I also eat sandwiches with avocado and cheese, hehe. You should try it, is really good. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I would! Thanks for the suggestion, friend! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool! Let me know if you try it! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the look of these Arepas, you could put anything in them, but I love yours with avocado and Reina Pepiada. was that the idea you thought when I posted my Avocado toast in noise. I must admit I love avocadoes and had a green smoothie today made with Avocado.

Ah yes the beauty of Venezuelan women, I will be honest that was the draw when I nearly took a job in the oil industry in your country. I am a sucker for exotic women 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe, the arepas are true very good with any filling. This is not what I did last night when I saw your dinner. I made some toast with guacamole.

Uh, exotic women! Surely you would have a blast here! But the obsession with beauty pageants here was too much, kind of crazy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May I ask how you make your guacamole? Well I just did , haha, Yes the exotic women I would have had a blast, that was the temptations, but the beauty pageants that sounds obsessive, did you enter with your blonde hair, you might have been a stand out 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, nooo I never did, LOL. Here beauty pageants are an obsession, recently less for the crisis. But when I say craziness, it really was a lot of pageants and some quite weird. And beauty treatments and cosmetic surgeries are craziness here, too. Maybe I should write on this someday.

And now what matters is the guacamole, hehe. I make it with very ripe avocado, of course, freshly squeezed lemon juice, onion, tomato, fresh cilantro, garlic, chili, salt, and pepper. I smash the avocado with a fork. I add the other ingredients finely chopped. And then mix everything with the lemon juice.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is an idea for an article yes!

Now that is exactly how I make my fresh guacamole, woohoo I make the same way as a professional :) You just made my day Eliana!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I did make your day with those simple guacamole-making notes. πŸ€” You're an easy guy to please! I didn't even have to prepare the guacamole 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe simple is best :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm hearing about it for the first time from you. It's very attractive to behold. I'm sure it's as delicious as it looks. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, dear Queen!

$ 0.00
2 years ago