One fine day

29 51
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

This morning, I read another of the wonderful articles of my dear @FarmGirl. Her article ended with a question, How do you like your life to be? And my answer was that I'm satisfied with the life I already have. And I just want to enjoy the opportunity to live each day. You can read her article here.

But I kept thinking about the question. The time we have in life is borrowed and it's up to us how to use that time. Enjoy the opportunities and appreciate the good things that happen to us, no matter how small they are. Life is a succession of experiences. There are always be good days, regular days, bad days, and even Bah days that don't fall into any category. But we have to make the good ones count and treasure those moments to fill ourselves with good vibes for the not-so-good days.

My day today was definitely a good one. And I'm going to leave it captured so I can remember it.

One Fine day

The day had been very sunny and we decided to get out and disconnect a bit. We left around noon to have something to eat and then go for a stroll. My husband suggested a place he had discovered these days with a co-worker.

If you are hungry, I advise you to proceed at your own risk. ;)

Café Hilda

The place didn't say much on the outside but it had a small open terrace which is appreciated these days. Our idea was to order first some beers and accompany them with some tequeños. And then later decide if we were to eat there or go to another place.

Tequeños

Tequeños are a Venezuelan specialty. They are sticks of white cheese covered with dough that are fried until golden brown. They can be eaten at any time. But usually, they are eaten as appetizers.

They were really good. For a long time, we had wanted to go out and have a few beers with tequeños. It's something we love to do once in a while. And we haven't done since the pandemic began. So we ordered more tequeños and a portion of chistorras with french fries.

Chistorras with french fries

Chistorra is semi-cured sausage, typical of the gastronomy of the Basque Country and the Navarra region in Spain. But here in Venezuela, they're eaten frequently.

Crispy breaded calamari and shrimp

Of course, we had more beers and ordered a portion of crispy breaded calamari and shrimp.

At the end of the meal, they gave us an Amaretto on the house. Perhaps the least memorable thing about the place was the beers, which were not as cold as I like them. But the place was still a find. And of course, we plan to repeat. The place is called Café Hilda and is in the Bello Monte neighborhood.

The green temptation and a rolled Ice cream

Leaving the place, we found a truck on a corner selling avocados at a price that we couldn't miss. 7 avocados for a dollar. If I could eat something every day, it's avocados. So of course, we bought them.

Avocados selling on the street

While in the car, my son suggested we went for ice cream. And we went to eat a rolled ice cream. There is only one ice cream parlor in Caracas that sells this type of rolled ice cream. We ordered it with Toddy flavor, which is a typical chocolate drink from Venezuela.

Toddy rolled ice cream

After the ice cream, it was already evident that the walk through the park was needed. But first, the hubby wanted to stop by to buy a Betta for our fish tank.

My son and husband walked into the pet store, but they came out empty-handed because there were no Bettas. But I took the chance to take a photo of the square in front of the pet shop. Los Palos Grandes square.

Los Palos Grandes Square, Caracas, Venezuela

The Park

Finally, we went to a park that was not far from where we were. The afternoon was still very sunny, but it was less hot.

Clavellina Acacia

In the park, there were some Clavellina Acacia bushes that seemed recently been planted and were beginning to bloom.

Lantanas

Passing through these Lantanas bushes and seeing their wee flowers, I had to take a photo of them.

Matapalo, It could be an enchanted tree - don't you think?

There were many children playing around a huge tree. We called this tree here Matapalo (Strangler fig). And I thought the trunk of the tree could be a good place for one of the magic stories of @TengoLoTodo . You must know him. He is one of my wonderful sponsors whom I thank today especially for having renewed my sponsorship.

After the stroll in the park, we returned home, but on the way, I couldn't resist the temptation to take a photo of this red Mini. I've always liked Minis. Don't you?

A cool red Mini

This is all for now, my dear readers. My little experience today.

Thank you very much if you have come this far. If you like it, a comment or a thumb up will be greatly appreciated.

To all my wonderful sponsors, thank you all!

All images are mine.

Until next time. :)

July 17, 2021

13
$ 1.99
$ 1.00 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.20 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 9
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Food looks really good... why you didn't take a photo of the beer?

The weather was very nice... i bet you enjoyed the park.. the cafe doesn't accept bch yet?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I did take pictures of the beer. But I didn't like the way they served it on brown paper cups. This was one of the reasons why I said the only downside of the place was the beers, hehe.

And they don't accept BCH by now. But I will keep exploring where to spend them. ;) Thank you for stopping by! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah! I can see my mom's favorite calamari. Amazing! Same food that we have here. The ice cream looks really tempting.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for stopping by! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a great ride and by the way with a great eater. I liked the pictures you made of the dishes you ate. They all look very delicious. Also the images of the plants are beautiful. I congratulate you for being so excited about your sponsors.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, dear friend! I'm glad you liked the photos. The food was delicious. We hadn't spent time this way in a long time, and it was nice to indulge ourselves once in a while. I'm always happy to have a sponsor, especially when they are people I appreciate, and I love what they write. Have a wonderful week! Saludos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Eliana, you are so naughty! The food my goodness, loved all of it, I was eating it with you and then Amaretto, just heavenly. I love squid so this was perfect. 7 avocados for a dollar haha I am so jealous, first free mangoes now almost free avocadoes!

Never see rolled ice cream and you said 'wee flowers' hehe cute.

The tree trunk oh yes, I conjured up an animal from his face. his eyes like a hammerhead shark and tentacles everywhere, and my pleasure for sponsoring you. Every article you write is fantastic, and really annoys me when I see complete jibberish being visited by youknowhow and not yours!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ah, the food hehe, everything was really yummy and we had a really good time.

The avocados were a good bargain, in the supermarket here they cost much more, hehe. Rolled ice cream, I think it's something Thai.

And the wee flowers;) hehe. When I first read this from you, it reminded me of a Scottish friend I had when I was younger and spend some time in an exchange program studying for a Master's in the South of France. I used to find it hard to speak with her in English because of the Scottish words and the accent. And we used to do it with some mix of English and French. And one of the few words I learned from her was wee. I hadn't used it again until I read you;)

I knew that when you saw the tree trunk, you would make something up.

And well the lack of visits from you-know-who really has me a little frustrated. Even though I love Read, I'm seriously exploring writing on another platform. Even though I'll keep posting here from time to time, and visit the posts of the good friends I've made here. But we'll see, I'm giving it a couple more weeks while I really learn how things work in Hive, which is where I've been recommended to write. Have a lovely Sunday, Eddie W.! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well i a frustrated for you with you-know-who, so I can understand hive, am sure I have an account there but never used it. Aha a Master's so that explains your awesome English! Glad you use wee and remember good times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to use wee;) And another word I read from you that I like is chappy. By the way, I've always wanted to ask you about the expression Haste ye back. You use it in your posts as a farewell. But the exact meaning is?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah yes cheeky chappy , wee chappy hehe, Haste Ye Back is a traditional Scottish farewell greeting meaning Come back soon, literally Hurry You Back

$ 0.01
2 years ago

7 avocados for $1?! I’d have that any day 😍 I love the lantanas and tree so much💙

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, It was a really bargain! xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I so love those lantanas and flame trees. And oh, that red car is sexaay! I do love it!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love that adjective sexaay! I'm borrowing it from you, haha! xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Go ahead, Coqui. Sexaaay sexaaay!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Life is good! Thanks for showing us a glimpse of your place. Such a day well spent. I love all the photos. I would go for more Chistorras. I love meat. I love avocados too! Bloghound posted her visit to her mom and they brought home avocados. This post and hers made me crave for them. I haven't tried rolled ice cream although they are sold here everywhere. Maybe soon. Trees like Matapalo always have tales about them be it magical or scary ones. I would love to drive around your town in that mini!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I also love chistorras! And I'm glad you liked the photos. It's a great compliment coming from you, who always share such wonderful photos.

I read Bloghound's post. If I had a house with a garden, I would love to have an avocados tree. But I don't think they will do well in pots, no matter how big they are.

You're right. The story around that Matapalo might not be magical, but scary, hehe. I'd love to drive that Mini too. And you're invited to my city whenever you want! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww don't be too hard on yourself. Yours are wonderful too. Photography is subjective and we see things and capture things the way we want it.

I agree. I have yet to see avocado grown in pots.

Strang and/or fascinating stories have been told concerning trees here in our place but mostly about ghosts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not hard on myself. I like the photos I take sometimes, but that doesn't prevent me from appreciating that you are a great photographer. And I value your opinion ;)

Those scary ghost stories and haunted trees must be interesting. When I was little I loved hearing horror and ghost stories, hehe. Maybe you can share one of those stories one of these days. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've shared a story in noise where my brother met an accident. It's on that same spot where there used to be big pine tree in the middle of the road. Many stories especially taxi drivers gave an account of a lady who would hail taxis on that site and asked to be dropped somewhere only to vanish midway through. This is common story throughout the country too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those kinds of stories have always caught my attention. Perhaps because when I was little, my grandmother's Nana used to tell scary stories of strange things that she said happened in her village.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... You really had a good time. I love the car but would've preferred a blue colour.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I did! and I think I love Minis no matter the color, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks like you really had a great time :) I was about to drool with those yummy foods and the ice cream too!

And the park looked peaceful, with that seemingly enchanted tree, Matapolo. It would be thrilling to climb up to it though :D

I love the red mini. The first one I ever snapped on cam was a mini convertible Mercedes, a red one too :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The food was as yummy as it looks in the photos, hehe.

I've never had a mini, but I love them. A long time ago, on a trip to Spain, we rented one for a weekend. But it was dark green. A mini convertible Mercedes red seems cool too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yummy! And you have them over beer which is also cool :)

I also never had a mini or ridden one for that matter :) It would be awesome to try one haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago