Summer Almost Gone

31 38
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Hello friends I have been thinking a lot about the summer. It's kind of weird because I prefer the spring time and fall more. I'm in a place where I'm kind of sad it's fading. I can say I've not really felt this way about summer before except when I was kid. Maybe it's because I feel I didn't do as much as I usually do. It could be due to an unusually hot summer here. This led to spending some more time inside.

Fading

I feel the temperatures starting to get cooler in the morning and evening. The sun is setting much earlier now. There's no playing and laughing of kids in the neighborhood because they are now back in school. The fall sports such as American Football are being played at all levels. The community pools are closed and water has been drained. This lake beaches are closed as well. I live close to ball diamonds and haven't heard the cheers and balls being hit. Youth summer baseball is over.

The ice cream shops where you order from an out side window are now closed. The zoo's parking lot is half full on the week days. After this week there will be less grilling and I'll miss the smell of soon to be fully cooked food through the air. Soon leaves from the tree will change colors and fall to the ground. The sounds of lawn mowers are not as plentiful as they were weeks ago. Very soon wearing shorts won't be feasible. I just feel it slipping away with all my senses.I walk outside and it's just above 21 degrees Celsius, maybe it's gone already.

Missed Events

There are a few things I didn't do this year. One is I never went swimming. Ok it's not that I didn't have time or didn't want to. My journey with my the multiple eye surgeries I had didn't allow for it. In past summers I usually go swimming multiple times during the summer. My body kind of shows signs of it, I don't have the dark tan I usually have.

I didn't get a chance to go on an extended vacation. I had three little trips I did for some of my son's basketball trips. These small trips took a lot of my budget away from enjoying a week long vacation somewhere. These small trips involved hotels stays, food on the go, entrance fees, and gas getting to/from. I would have liked to go visit my mother and sisters. My sister and her partner have a trailer on a camp ground near a river. We often spend a week together there and drive three hours from there to see the sites of the black hills of South Dakota for a day. We tour a few caves, state parks, national parks, and some monuments.

Mount Rushmore
Inside Rushmore Cave

I also missed time grilling and deep fat frying fish outside. I was the recipient of a couple of grill outs but I never did it myself. I also did not fry any fish outside. I usually do this and invite a couple of neighbors over to enjoy. It's great I provide the fish and they bring side dishes. A lot of this was missed because I was grinding doing my driving job and my one free day I was fishing. Perhaps during the fall on a nice day I will get to do this.

Things I Liked

Well one of the best things I enjoy about the summer is time outside. I probably get more fishing in during the summer than I do during any other seasons. I go early and fish until it gets too hot. I didn't do much night fishing but that is ok because I had a successful fishing summer.

This was my first time doing my driving job in the summer. I didn't enjoy super hot days but it was nice having more day light. Im not a big fan of driving and delivering in the dark. So in the fall there will be less day light so I won't be putting in as many hours. Unfortunately the winter gets darker even quicker. My driving time will be limited to just the weekends. Also it snows in the winter no fun driving around in it.

There are several others things I like about the summer. Such as getting more time to spend with your children. Doing chores outside like gardening, exercising, camping, amongst many others.

Final Thoughts

Summer can hold a lot of things for us to do. Of the four seasons I rank it as my 3rd but maybe it's closer to top than I think. Hey if wasn't so hot it would be a no brainer. It's funny as a kid I loved the heat and being on summer break. Now I prefer cooler weather but like the activities of summer. I guess not being fully engaged with all the summer activities I'm just miss seeing it going now. Maybe in the first weeks of fall I won't miss you summer.

Thanks again friends for stopping by. I know a lot of you don't have weather climates that dictate seasons like they are here. What would you consider your favorite season if you had all four? Anyways that's it folks, take care.

Lead imagine obtained from: https://maui.hawaii.edu/hooulu/2019/05/16/summer-time-use-it-wisely/

13
$ 0.84
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 10
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

When pandemic COVID 19 hit our country, the summer for me changed. Because back then, our summer is during summer, so we suppose to have more activities during that time, but then now, that the school days have moved to summer, our vacation now turns into rainy days. We cannot do much more activities like before.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh that's sucks why did they move school days? That kind of puts teachers, parents,and kids not much to look forward to. I hope they change it back soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really loved summer especially when we were going to a beach. Now in the Philippines we have sufferered heavy rains.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I've always wanted to visit there. I don't know what I would do with the rainy season you have there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The best to visit in my country is summer like March, April or May. We're scared if we have a rainy season because it can cause floods.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it's been a while in my country since the last face to face, and yes..the summer is now gone and everybody will be back to school. Another busy year and another school year for them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. Time flies by before we know it summer time activities will be back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At this moment here in the Philippines,we suffered frequently changes of weather.so much heat in a day while in the evening it will rain so heavily that it catches us a fever with cough and colds.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah extreme heat switched to rain no fun. We have had 50 degree temperature changes within 24 hours. I've been through a few of them it doesn't happen all that often talk about a body shock

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah that's what calendar says but here it's the same weather, too hot, blue skies and still some moment to swim! At least this month...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah I guess having four seasons here is a benefit. Can only be hot for so long here. However the extreme cold is no fun but we have spring and fall which is the in-between. Still I'd love to live in a one climate place.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Really? One climate place? In the end can be boring somehow... expecting changes can gives us some extra illusions or plans, I don't know. Here it's becoming a two climate place, super hot and less-warm-one month-rainy and that's all. Too much monotone!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ya maybe one climate too much but if there was a place where the weather was 70 F consistently I might consider. I like the in-between I guess. Your probably right though. The seasons make each other. Probably forward thinking a tad by me,haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A place with a nice climate the whole year... Canary Islands (around 77º, 25º celsius) but in the end in my opinion the whole year like this can be boring jaja

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here in my city summer is still going on and I am not liking it because of too much hotness. But only a few days are remaining hoping for its end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me, I don't like summer season because in our country the weather is really hot that you wanted to soaked in an ice water to cool off the heat, so I prefer cold weather than summer.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah I can see that. I'll send you some cold pictures in the future to cool you off, haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have dry and wet season here and now it's wet season until next month or depending on how the weather wants it maybe longer. Sometimes we have wet season all year round, more of it at least. This makes me miss the dry season or days when we have less rain. Days like this makes me wish for time at the beach, enjoying the sun, sea and sand.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ya I've heard about your dry and wet seasons. I get itchy after a week or so of rain. What do you all do when it rains for so long?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We hibernate lol! Coffee and more coffee :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha ya but coffee good no matter what

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Absolutely! :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well summer is fine for me, but if it's too hot I really can't stand the heat so usually among four seasons that I experience when I work abroad, autumn is my favourite. Here in the Philippines we only have dry and wet season.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup autumn is my favorite. Cool weather not too cold not too hot. It's also just beautiful with all the colors

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Summer is the best sir. There are a lot of things we want to do during summer and fishing is really enjoyable then grilling some fish is the best. It's one of my favorite sir.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm starting to think I may have to rank summer higher but I'm not a huge fan of the heat,lol. Yup any way to cook fish is fine with me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah okay sir. Me too sir. I love gloomy weather because I'm comfortable with it. Yes fish is delicious sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was thinking the same way in the morning and was saying to my mom The Summer season is almost gone in our country too.

Now, same as you mentions the nights are becoming colder and the days are becoming shorter but still one or two months are left for the real coldness to occur. I can say in the mid of October we can feel the winter vibes and the season has arrived.

     "I  prefer cooler weather but like the 
                activities of summer"

Haha, same here, I love winters a lot but I miss the activities of the summer season.

Well, we are blessed with these four kinds of weather but My only favorite season is winter coz of its coldness and some good memories from my past. Hehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

All the seasons have their unique activities. I have fond memories of ice fishing and riding snow mobiles in the winter. It's also the holiday season. I just don't like outside chores in winter like shoveling or any work outside for that matter. Thank for stopping by friend see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right.Summer is gone now.Few months later winter will come here.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh winter is my least favorite let's hope for a long fall

$ 0.00
1 year ago