Cocked, Locked, Ready to Rock

74 92
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Hello all how are you doing? I'm fine still keeping pretty busy. Let's get onto the topic at hand.

The title is a phrase that I have heard in my military days. It is the process to get a rifle fire ready. Today I'm going to use this phrase for something else though. I have been struggling to keep a good diet and exercise ever since I had my eye surgery. So I'm going to use this phrase as a 3 step process describing how to become better physically by dieting and exercising. Hopefully through the process I can give some bits of useful information to you.

Disclaimer I am not a medical professional, certified trainer, or a dietician. What I describe below are my thoughts on getting healthy. Seek medical advise before starting any work outs or diet plans.

Cocked

In this step it is all about what you want to do.You have to come up with a precise plan on what your going to do. For working out come up with what exercises your planning to do. Will you be doing cardio activities or will you be lifting weights or a combination of both? If you aren't sure what to do just do some internet research by searching for keywords such as:

  • Cardio workouts

  • Strength & Conditioning Workouts

  • Workouts at home

  • Types of exercises

  • Good exercises for your core

  • Tummy busters

My exercise plan is pretty simple. I'm going to do a combined routine. I will mostly be running for cardio. I will slip in some other cardio activities to confuse my body. Maybe some jump roping, stair walking, and some stationary bike riding. For weight/body lifting I will perform the following exercises:

  • Bench Press

  • Tricep extensions

  • Barbell curls

  • Barbell Shoulder press

  • Leg Squats

  • Calf raises

  • Fore arm curls

  • Leg lunges

  • Crunches, leg lifts, butter fly kicks

I will change my routine by either increasing weight or doing different exercises. Once again it's important to trick your body by doing different routines. If it becomes a habitat for too long your body won't improve. Sure it's good for you still but if your not in the maintain stage you have to change it up.

The next thing to look at is your diet plan. Can you achieve it? I say this because believe it or not eating healthier can be more expensive if your not careful on the selection of your food. The next thing is to determine an actual diet plan. Will you get on a particular diet? There are hundreds of them out there. There's also just cutting back on what your eating now. Sometimes portion size can fix all. I'm not a big fan of starving yourself or fasting. Your body needs energy and if you don't eat how can you expect to get a productive workout.

My plan is to be on a high protein low carbohydrate diet. My dailey calorie intake will be 1800 calories. I will have breakfast (300 cal.), lunch (400 cal.), dinner(500 cal.), and three snack meals (200 cal. each) a few hours after each meal. I've done this before and it does curb your appetite.

Locked

This is the step where you have to think about your schedule. Your workout times have to be planned. Set a schedule that will work best for you. Write down what you will be doing for your workouts. Maybe not so much for cardio workouts but mostly everything else. If you have a list of more than 5 or so exercises have a notebook to keep track.

I plan on doing my cardio during my lunch hour at work. Since it's already dark when I get off work now I will lift weights after dinner. I don't do my delivery driving much in the winter. So I don't want to sit around getting fat and happy πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

For your diet this is the time to go buy groceries and put together menus. Maybe plan out a week of menus and than go buy the groceries. Set a timeline when your going to eat each time as well.

Ready to Rock

Well this is the phase to just do it. It is best to have a work out and diet partner. It helps keep you on track and if anything you can take turns motivating each other because chances are you will hit some road blocks If you don't that's ok just try to remember the "Why". Yes, why are you doing this. It doesn't just need to be about you. If your a mother or father get healthy to be able to do activities with your children and extend your life to be there for them longer.

I once was really dedicated staying in shape. When you get to a certain point your mind and body is itching to work out. Eating good healthy foods consistently will give you craving for them. Both exercise and good diet can become a good addiction. Be weary of road blocks they will happen. You just need to be cocked, locked, ready to rock!!

Final thoughts

I hope this quick article on health and exercise was useful to you. I could have went into the foods I plan on eating but it's really up to the person. A good healthy diet should be foods you enjoy eating not something you don't like. Is anyone ready to be more health conscious to provide yourself with life benefits?

This is all I have for today. Please take care and be safe out there. Love you all ❀️

Click to follow:

Read Cash

Noise Cash

Noise App

For Noise App please like my last post so I can follow you back.

31
$ 2.78
$ 0.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Duvinca
$ 0.15 from @ARTicLEE
+ 27
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

I am reminded of Joe The Body Coach. I wonder if you have come across him https://www.facebook.com/JoeWicksTheBodyCoach. When I was in search for workouts without equipment, just using your body weight, it's his exercise regimen that I used to follow. I haven't been back doing so though lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I haven't heard of him but 4.4 million followers is not to shabby. I don't have Facebook anymore though. I have the TRX suspension system which I do some body weight exercise.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You can find him in YouTube too :) Obviously, I don't know what TRX is lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

www.trxtraining.com

It's basically suspension training via body weight through the use of straps. The suspension system not on the cheap side around $200 I got mine a few years ago just under $100.

I need to incorporate those routine as well in my regime. There are hundreds of exercises to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very useful and instructive. We should dedicate ourselves to a healthy life and I always say that from tomorrow I will start exercising and take care of my health a little more, but unfortunately I always lack time, which is wrong, I am aware of that. 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes we give ourselves excuses. We have to really sell the idea to ourselves and want it. Why sometimes a workout partner can help with this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohw ,thanks for this sir ,I really need it hihi. Anyway ,have a great day and thanks for everything😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No problem you take care as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm habitual to do walk but if i start workouts i can't continue it more than a month, but i do walk for year's on daily basis and i think it keeps me fit as i was a few years ago 🀣🀣 means no change 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Walking is good if we are more active on our feet vs sitting it's positive for our health :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it's beneficial too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was once addicted to doing exercise.. now I don't do it again. the problem with me is that I am only good at starting haha! Though I want to do it again, hope I'll find courage and inspiration to do so.. btw nice tips!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for reading and the appreciation. I hope you get back to it again. It's a good way to sweat off our stresses in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

great program. thanks. Always be happy god be with you always

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the appreciation:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my thank you for this, actually I got back on my track again. Few days ago I decided to continue my hoe workout for the best that I can even though how busy I am, I always make time for workout for at least 30 minutes. I hope I can manage it till the end.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good for you friend. I hope you keep it up. Exercise helps us with our stressful and busy schedules as well. God bless you πŸ™

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope I can do it till the end my friend. May God bless you even more :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Let's exercise together haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Get R Done!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wonderful advices! We all should try to be good and feel healthy. I confess I go out to run as you know but probably I'd need to do something different in order to make my body feel confused as you explained but I'm very fixed doing that because I like it jaja And some weight exercise should be good, I take the supermarket big bags two floors but that's not enough πŸ˜…πŸ˜… About food totally agree less carbs more proteins, I had to do that long time ago due to my SLOW metabolism... now people talk about intermittent fasting but not everyone can do that.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

A well balanced diet is the best way to go. I use to be a wrestler I know about fasting. When you get to point of making yourself hungry the body targets muscle instead of fat. Therefore making you weaker. Other than my wrestling days I haven't done the fasting thing on purpose. I'd think fasting can lead to weight loss but if I did it I'd supplement with vitamins

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sometimes it's not all about losing weight, fasting is not recommended if you have very slow metabolism or thyroid problems... interesting you were a wrestler, so you know about it very detailed then.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't miss cutting weight but I didn't have to do it often. Others did it everytime we had a match or meet

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Before I used to do some exercise at home but right as of the moment, since I'm filled with lots of chores and other responsibilities, I neglected doing it. How I miss getting fit again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Life gets in the way for sure. I see how it's not possible for all. Eventually you will have the opportunity to get back to it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been neglecting my fitness these days this article is kind of like a friendly reminder for me. I am starting to slack and feel ill from the lack of it. My problem is the very long work hours. 12 hours and when I get home I am like a beaten up zombie.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's tough working a lot of hours. I'm so fortunate because my employer gives us 3 hours of physical fitness time if we choose to use it. I use my lunch hour in conjunction with it to have more time for a workout.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is quite good your employer encourages physical fitness. Is it paid 3 hours then?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes it's paid and we can use it however we want. When I use I do 4 days of 30 minutes and 1 day of 1 hour. My lunch hour is a hour.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Are you hiring? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha They are always hiring but not in my shop.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If only I can teleport I'd change jobs in a heartbeat.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

To add salt they have medical jobs too. I'm an USAF civilian

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What does USAF stand for?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

United States Air Force

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh wow! Impressive! That explains your level of discipline. The UK counterpart is RAF.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup I've interacted with the RAF in the past. I lot of our serviceman are at Mildenhall AB

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Bob, Are there some diets that one s adhere to, or avoid so that working out could be more enduring? I have been told that not all diet are recommended for someone who plans to a regular workout.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is true. Diets that lack protein value are not recommended for physical activity. Other than that I'm not sure of any others but I'm sure there are more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'd like to be fit too, and do some exercise routine, but I can't keep it constant everyday. But I like the idea that you have shared.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for that. It doesn't need to be an everyday occurrence. Any physical activity helps as long as we are consistent with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well explained keep sharing such healthy life content

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for that. Do you find time to work out?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is so nice that we still take out time of our busy lives and spend it on our well-being.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exercise is good for our health sir that's why I want to exercise too because it's been weeks I didn't exercise. I want to set a goals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If it becomes a habitat for too long your body won't improve.

I didn't know of this until now and since I engage in early morning exercise, I should start changing some exercises to confuse my body as you said. Though, doing the same exercise everyday gets boring along the way.

Yes, to stay healthy and dieting, it requires a lot of money because it's expensive. But we just have to do our best to remain fitted in shape and good health.

Thanks for sharing these tips of getting ready to cock, lock and rock.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

No problem. It's true you get into a routine do well get stronger see other benefits than you plateau. I have experienced this and changed up and got more results. It depends on what results you want. From a weightlifting perspective it's good to change up every few weeks.

Yeah eating healthy is expensive. The best way is to buy and make things from scratch. Buying diet this and that seems to be marked up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bench Press Tricep extensions Barbell curls Barbell Shoulder press Leg Squats Calf raises Fore arm curls Leg lunges Crunches, leg lifts, butter fly kicks All these exercise is a know no for me, it seems very difficult especially when it comes to squats my elder always tell that I shouldn't for one day visit the gim, if not I will break 😊....nice article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Workout is useful to maintain good health. We all should have some time for work out to assured our fitness because it matters for happy life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was thinking of you writing this. I told you awhile back I would write an article about it. Sorry it took so long 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Before I used to do exercises at home, just a simple exercises just to boost my mood. It's been awhile that I stopped being conscious with my health too, so yeah I think it's about time to start living with a healthy lifestyle again, since life is so toxic. Hopefully I can manage to do some planning with actions πŸ˜€.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's tough for moms with young kiddos. Unless there is someone who is trustworthy to watch them. I see a lot of young moms who don't workout because of that.

In the States at some gyms they have free child care centers. But not all can afford gym memberships.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm guilty of not having exercise. It's been a long and I feel heavy and unhealthy already. Plans stayed as plans, they never really happened. it's just like my spiritual life" the spirit id eager but the body is weak" I have too many excuses and now I quickly get sick.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's one thing I didn't mention. Being healthy with a good diet and exercise can give us more energy and the ability to fight off sickness. When covid was at its high I got it before the shots came out. If I wasn't in good shape I know it would have been much hardier fighting it off. I rarely get sick, another reason I need to get back to it before I get to out of shape.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do some home workouts but occasionally I ride my bike and stroll around every 4 o'clock in the afternoon or early in the morning. Due to the fact that we still have classes, I'm finding it difficult to schedule exercise, so instead I'm concentrating on my diet, hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Your young enough you can get away with just a diet. But you can always do things on the weekend if there is time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always persuade my wife to be my diet and exercise partner because I'm bad at doing exercise alone, I'm not consistent, and thinking if I have her as my exercise partner I can do it regularly, I love to do jog early in the morning, I want my shape back but its hard

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's hard. I'd say you can set up reminders to help aid with motivation. Maybe an old shirt that doesn't fit anymore, hang up photos of yourself when you were more fit or use your child for motivation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

usually, the motivation I need is an old photo of me hahaha randomly when I see random memories on facebook, I am motivated to do exercise to regain my shape , I exercise everyday for week and after that back to normal feeling tired again hahahah and stop hjahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this Bob.I badly need some sort of inspiration to pursue my exercise.Diet is not enough so I have to move and get back on track

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's only you stopping yourself from doing it. You can do this!! You've been through a heck of a lot worse :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you Bob

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My last year plan about diet and exercise are still plan today 🀦🏻😹

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well just got to put them in action :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good advice and it really motivates us lol. But I'm quite lazy when it comes to exercise hehehe. When it comes to foods I'm also sensitive so I prefer veges and seafoods.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Diet is good. You only need one hour a day of exercise. I tell people who I have helped out in the past you can split it 3 times if you want in 20 minute intervals

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it is important to stay healthy at the same time physically fit in order for us to avoid getting sickness, thats why im always do weekly bicycle rides with my group, its give as well a proper to maintain healthy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Every little bit helps I've always wanted to ride but everything is very flat and boring to look at here to the most part.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Been planning to get back in shape for almost a year but till now, remained as plan 🀣. Yes I do exercise but the problem is consistency, will do it only for a week and continue again after monthsπŸ˜….

Goodluck to your journey though

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Consistency is key. Have to keep after it. Sometimes easier said than done

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I enjoy walking with my husband and eating after. It's not very healthy but we try to balance it out. Sometimes. 😁🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Eating before or after isn't bad it's all about how much you eat. I will eat lunch after running and eat dinner before lifting. But have a snack after lifting which is usually a protein bar

$ 0.00
1 year ago