A Year That Seems Like Forever

68 171
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
8 months ago

Hello readers and friends. How has everyone been? It's a different kind of birthday for me today. One year of blogging for me (12 August). It all started for me right here at read.cash and noise.cash. Let me tell you what led me to blogging, my good old days here, the very silent period, my venturing out, and some good ole appreciation.

Prior to Blogging

I spent some time on Kik more or less looking for some online conversation. I spent about 6 months or so time there before joining here. My whole goal there was to meet individuals I could share issues with. I was not there to hook up with anybody though that was much the vibe there. I mostly spent time in Asian communities chatting in group chats. Why? I just have a connection with Asians hard to give a specific reason. I guess it may have to do with being in relationship a long time ago that turned out to be a lost love. About two or three months in I met an individual who did listen to my issues and I consider her a really good friend.

We met in GC when I mentioned about going fishing. I remember her saying, "I like fish too Bob." Well long story short I sent her picture of fish I caught via a PM. It was a promise as I said I would catch one for her (I think, little foggy), haha. That led to many hours chatting and we got to know each other fairly well. I may be wrong on the length but I think it was a good three or four months. I learned she was a blogger and was currently on break from it.

Well she returned from her break and began blogging again. It wasn't long after that she sent me links to both noise.cash and read.cash. This is how my journey started here. Some of you know who but for those of you that don't it's no other than @bmjc98 aka MJ :)

My Good Old Days

So my good days differ from some of you older veterans. Mine were when I first got here to Christmas last year. Those were the days where $3 - $6 per article were common for me. I quickly met some interesting people that I really enjoyed reading from.

It was September when I met my read.cash identify. It was my first time choosing Authors of the Month. I labeled it "Ber" Authors of the month for the remainder of the year. There were so many I wanted to give recognition to so I did multiple users each month.

I shortly began doing some challenges. At first, I followed MJ's challenges than I did my own. I found doing them and writing them was a lot of fun. It also led to a little more interaction in the read.cash community. I did the same thing with writing prompts. Followed others and came up with my own.

Silent Days

I think it was around the Holidays when we all got the message that the random rewarder did his last tip. Many left right away, some stayed for bit, and a few decided to stay regardless. I tried my best to encourage and even increased my upvoting some to keep the few that were left. At one point my piggy bank was all but dry. I'm not a rich fellow I work many hours for what I have. I'm a slave to the dollar like many of you, haha.

It became so quiet I thought the end was near. In February there were times where I would check for something to read and there was nothing. The worst part about this period is many vanished. Sure some either went to Hive or devoted all their time to it. The sad part is I had some of my favorites authors just stopped blogging period.

Venturing Out

I even got bored with read.cash not because of the aim of the platform but I felt like I heard my own echo. I made the decision to go to Hive. Immediately going there I ran into many that were once here. Even some of the elders I never had the opportunity to meat were there. I waited for the move and I'm not going to lie I thought the doors were going to be closed here.

Shortly after getting a little traction in Hive the random rewarder showed backed up. A small flood of new users showed up along with some familiar faces. I quickly realized I don't have time to devote to both. I tried sharing time between both but that only worked out for some time. I got overwhelmed and decided I had to devote more time to one. Many know I spend much more time in Hive now. I got hooked on growing there. Hey most of you are there as well. There's a few here only and I stay here for that reason.

Appreciation

The last year has really be a roller coaster here. Is there a correlation between BCH price and the air drops? Perhaps who knows, all I know is I have met some great individuals here and I am very grateful for that. It was my start here and I won't throw the towel in and give up here completely.

The thing about here is it's so easy to understand and be an author here. Your allowed to write whatever you want and don't have to worry about communities or tags to use. No one is going to come along and mute your post because you may have teeter tottered on a rule. No down voting that takes value away from your post.

Even with the ups and downs I've had here the last year I have had a hell of a good time. Between the challenges, prompts and the #readcashrain events it's been so interesting reading from you all. The most fun part is seeing you out of your comfort zones, haha. Shall I do a a fourth #readcashrain ? Well I'll answer that for you...Heck yes!! You know I've had the template in my head for awhile. Haha everything including the interaction questions, jack pot, and writing prompts. Also I have another challenge in my back pocket.

After Thoughts

Well one year down another to come right? Seems like it has been a long year blogging. I guess the ups and downs does that. Looking back though I would do it all again. Too many friendships made and that is the best part of doing all this.

I go on vacation Wenesday once I get off work. I will be off for 11 consecutive days. So looking forward to it. Once that is all over I look to bringing back some fun here ๐Ÿ˜œ Take care, enjoy what's left of your week, and Love you all โค๏ธ

23
$ 1.47
$ 0.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @Unity
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 12
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
8 months ago

Comments

Wao beautiful โค๏ธYou're welcome. You deserve such an appreciation from us.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Coolmidwestguy I contacted you on your hive.blog but you never responded to me am so sorry to escalate this further but could you please tell me when you are organizing the next #readcashrain event again help please help my friend. And are you conducting one of these on hive.blog now please tell me.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Happy First year here in read.cash sir Bob. I miss reading your articles. You're one of the best authors that I have known here and I'm so thankful and I appreciate all the things you did to make read.cash livelier through your challenges, and acknowledging some authors in your 'ber' month Authors. Thank you and happy Anniversary to you sir Bob.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Thank you so much for the kind words. I miss those days and the users that took part in them. I haven't been so active here and I have swallowed my fears of bees and been somewhat active in Hive, haha. A lot of old users from here that are there. I'm going through some things in RL but will have something for the community here at some point. Take care and enjoy the rest of your week.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

You're welcome. You deserve such an appreciation from us. Miss those days too. It was fun and memorable.. Oh, you're in Hive. That's a great blogging platform too. There are lots of bees there, hahaha ... Hmm, I heard too from sis Jeansapphire that many read.cash users are active in Hive... Thanks, Sir Bob. You too, take care always.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Happy First year. Your articles are motivational and inspirational indeed and to be very honest I am a keen reader of your articles. waiting for your next article soon.

$ 0.04
8 months ago

Thanks for the kind words. Hopefully next article will be soon.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Happy 1st year! A meaningful whole year for you here. I am one of those who got inspired by your work but i have to be out for sometime due to some personal reasons. Glad to know your still here and there are still a lot of works i can read.

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thank you so much I'm glad I had an effect on you. Good seeing you again it's been awhile. Hope everything is well with you .

$ 0.00
8 months ago

happy first anniversary! I still remember the times where I first read your article about your eyes, time flies so fast! I am looking forward to read more of your contents!

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thank you. Oh those eye days were challenging especially that last surgery.. It seems only a few are here still that read those articles. It's been a joy reading from you too. I love your courage and everything you have revealed about yourself. It's so hard reading and catching up with everyone now across two platforms. It blows my mind how some do it on a handful of platforms. Thanks for dropping by and being a great supporter of my content.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Happy 1st birthday anniv Bob and you did a great job here. All of us really appreciate all the goods that you've shown us. For being generous also that make us overwhelmed. Thanks Bob.

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thanks Jean. You've been an important part of my journey. We've had some good laughs right? Glad I've been appreciated by a few here. I always wonder what it would be like if I found this place a few years prior.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Your always welcome Bob and yes we had good laughs been shared hahaha. Who bring you at blogging world?

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Happy first anniversary. Time flows like water. Readcashrain events are the best. I always got inspiration from you. As you always appreciate quality content.

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thank you I'm glad I have provided some inspiration to you. Unfortunately I'm out of read.cash BCH for the time being

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Happy first year of blogging, you are doing very well and keep it up! ๐Ÿค— Have a great time on your well-deserved vacation! ๐Ÿ˜Š And of course, create content, we look forward to it when you come back. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thank you for the motivation and wishes. I will have a lot to share.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Hola amigo ๐Ÿซ‚ feliz cumpleaรฑos en Read.cash ๐Ÿฅณ๐ŸŽ‚๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ‚ y Disfruta mucho tus dรญas libres, descansa, come saludable y que Dios te bendiga y proteja siempre ๐Ÿ™ pronto regreso acรก con tus amigos que te apreciamos mucho ๐Ÿซ‚๐Ÿซ‚๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.02
8 months ago

gracias amiga. Esperando un buen tiempo libre. Espero volver aquรญ con algo de diversiรณn. Que dios te bendiga tambiรฉn ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Happy anniversary Bob! My gosh, it seemed to me like a year travels to the moon so fast. I hope BCH too. Kidding aside, enjoy and make the most of that 11 days off :)

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thanks Jeaneth. Looks like I need to get back to challenges and another readcashrain event to give you something to write about eh? I'm shocked you haven't had an article for awhile. Not like I have room to talk I haven't been to active here much lately. Take care I hope you find a good online jobbie :)

$ 0.00
8 months ago

I have been so busy lately, we moved out and I had to make adjustments on taking care of granny. Hope all is well there, Thanks Bob!

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Being busy will do that I surely know this. I'm ok, in a couple days I will be fabulous which I'm so looking forward to. Very much needed for me :) You should hit up MJ and ask her about freelancing. She posts quite a bit in Noise

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Yeah, I have already reached out to here :) keep safe!

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Hello friend, congratulations on your year in this place. I certainly go along with you in thinking that this platform was the best in its good old days. No tags and free writing, it was great. There were few friends left, I see some old friends from time to time, but they all stayed in hive. I don't write very often there either because I don't have so many beautiful photos to share. As long as I can I will come from time to time to say hello and write as I do today. Happy vacations to you.

$ 0.05
8 months ago

Thank you for the wishes. There's a handful of people I haven't seen anywhere. Going to Hive I met a lot that left here. I've met people in Hive that left read awhile ago that I never knew here. I hold this place close to my heart, it's like home. But I have kind of moved away but not that far away. I will remain and visit often still.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

It means a lot to me here too. That's why I stop by to say hello from time to time.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Congrats for your 1 year here at read.cash.

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thank Scarlet. Hoping the next year brings us closer to the good years of the past here:) A lot of us still here would love to hear from some of legendary users of the past :)

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Happy birthday haha. I will one day go to Hive, will dm you in noise for more question just in case. Yeah we're glad to know bmjc is back, the green guy is showing up like a mushroom after thunder ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ. Writing here doesn't much require many rules, but we care for the little of it like communities engaging.

I'm looking for the freelancing writer here, that 23+ years old young women who have her own piggy business. @Jeaneth is asking if you could help her (I guess)

$ 0.05
8 months ago

Thank you it really has been a joy here. Meeting so many users here that really feel like meeting friends.

I will one day go to Hive, will dm you in noise for more question just in case.

Hit me up with questions I'll answer what I can, if I can't I'll find the answers for you :) So much noise from you going there but no post yet, get on it girl!!๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿคฃ ๐Ÿ˜‚ Just kidding take your time, there is much to digest in Hive better to have somewhat of an understanding before typing away. I look forward to your journey there and again I'll assist with any questions you have.

Oh no I really don't know anything about freelancing. Of course I'll listen and would have to put her in touch with someone that does.

Two more wake ups and vacation time, feeling like a kid at Christmas, hehe. Oh the "Ber" months are almost here, is the Pinay in you jumping around? Haha. Have a great week ahead SJ take care.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

It's been like 19 days and still have no Hive haha, I think I already have but will check the account information. How was everybody there?

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Many that you don't see here no more are there. It's different there. It's all about building your account and having an influence. If you engage properly many will help you out. Many different challenges and initiatives there. So you can't find your account or create one? You should be able to create a new one if you get an invite. I'll give you mine or you can get one from any other Hive user you know.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Ok will go think about it. I have to find my notes first haha.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Oh no the notes are misplaced, haha. No hurries Julalaine

$ 0.01
7 months ago

THanks for the mention sizzy. :) yeah, I'm looking for an online job rn.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Hi kamusta na nakahanap ka na ba?

$ 0.00
7 months ago

nag try ako sa upwork sis, naubos lang connects ko :( ikaw ba?

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Ano yong connects? Nakapagwork ka ba konti.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Wala eh :( Naubos lang yung connects ko. Para syang coins na need mo i spend para maka apply ka sa job posting.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Bibili ka ulit ng coins pra makaapply? Any job ba andun? C @Eirolfeam2 yata yong nagblog na maganda ang kita or someone basta dito ko nabasa in kay read.cash.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Para syang energy tank na dapat meron ka para maka submit ka ng proposals. Yeah, she's working there pero nahihiya ako magpa refer. Haha

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Never tried pa. 100% energy tank yon. Mga ilang proposals? Ano nga hinahanap mo?

$ 0.00
7 months ago

VIrtual assistant jobs lang pero pahirapan. Di man lang na vi-view proposals ko. Haha

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Same here. It doesn't just feel the same as before. I was also consistently publishing everydayโ€”no rest in between days, along with my favorite authors. I miss those days and I still think of them until now.

By the way, congrats for your milestone here!

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Exactly a so much different feel. I haven't been around all that long but I remember seeing a handful of people who ran challenges. It was fun and it led to me creating my own..Now I feel alone with this.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Happy birthday! Youve been a huge blessing to many. A lot of read cashers would hve left if not for you tipping out from your very own wallet. Im so. Looking forward to your return ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thank you for the uplifting words. See you around :)

$ 0.00
8 months ago

That's life, the good part is you've been successful on Hive, you've been lucky enough that those people liked you (OCD) and that's sorted you out most of the way.

Also several users that you frequent are very powerful people and I must tell you that they view Latino people with contempt, at least in my case that has contributed to undervaluing any content that I make, and in general for Latinos, the content is always more pleasant. receive support from those communities. Only those who are in circles of friends with them are the ones who receive support (I'm talking about Latinos).

But I'm so glad you're doing well, and keep it up Bob.

Emerging in hive is Russian roulette, look at what Pantera tried and we all know that he is a good content writer, he wrote more than 100 articles in hive and was unsuccessful. Something similar happened to me. That's why I tell you, it's only a matter of luck and preference for a geographical sector of the world. Probably writers from the Latin or Russian sides are undervalued, if you don't have influence, they don't care about you. At least that's my appreciation.

I hope you continue to make a long journey in Hive, and take advantage of growing as much as you can, because it is a good investment.

Successes brother.

$ 0.10
8 months ago

It's much different there I have found you have no choice other than to interact with many there. If you don't you will not get many upvotes. Of course who you do it with matters too. I don't just comment to higher HP users I do it because I find their style interesting to read. I just find those that post interesting articles. I can't read and interact with those who I don't find interesting. With no interaction you won't do well. Really interaction is a big thing in all platforms. It's a jobbing platform for me and I have a hard time keeping up with old users I know and the new users I have met.

Luck to a point but if I stop reading, upvoting and commenting I will have no luck at all. Certain genre of articles are upvoted there more than others. I can write something off target and get pennies still. It's a much larger stage than here. Someone with power won't upvote everything unless your someone else who holds the same power, haha. I have shifted focus I don't try to dwell on those things anymore. I just do the fundamentals and I like everyone who I interact with.

The journey there has been fun. It was a little shaky at first but the important thing is I'm having fun there now. My main goal is to grow and share there. I do realize that not everyone can do this. It's a platform where you have to invest time and grow. Some get to certain HP level before they power down some. While others do it right away. I've found those who build up HP do better. I get why people do it but I really think having some power helps a lot. I have a friend from your country that does well there. They built up to 1500 HP and now they mostly power downs earnings they make.

Well there's a lot to say about both of these platforms. With everything there is pros and cons no different here looking at both platforms. Take care brother!

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Without a doubt, each platform requires a different work and style, that is to say a different approach to do things, because it is difficult if you are starting ha ha.

The key is to attract attention and read, but of course, that requires time, I dare say at least 2 hours a day, between reading and commenting, to obtain results within approximately 3 weeks. It's complex, but you have to interact haha.

Always in touch brother Bob!.

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Days going like rocket and years like water in River. Our life running in speedy way and even we can't count it now in today's world. ReadCashRain was a fabulous event on time to time which brings a new passion in users and each one appreciated you on this initiative. Wishing you happy birthday ๐ŸŽˆ here on completion of one year . Stay blessed and happy !

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thanks friend. Things change and it doesn't mean we have to abandon them. I will always hold this platform close. I may not be as consistent as I once was but will continue to visit when I get the chance. May blessing find you as well :)

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Wow,, a very big congrats to you for being consistent here on the platform.. more grace and strength.

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
8 months ago

"The sad part is I had some of my favorites authors just stopped blogging period".. I miss so many of them. Happy read cash anniversary. Cool guy from the West looks so good in picture ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Yes there's a handful of users I've not seen since the initial announcement from the random Rewarder. Thank you I managed to not breaking a lens taking a selfie hehe

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Congrats on completing one year on ReadCash. Time trifles away like a river.

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thanks Unity. I can look at other aspects of life and they fly by but when I look back on time on read.cash it just feels I've been here much longer than a year.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

I cannot imagine if you did not arrived here on readcash, I think it would be different haha. Was Kik a dating platform? I feel sorry hearing about your lost love but I guess you have already recovered from that. Well yeah, it's really hard balancing your time between different platforms. I have joined so many crypto & blogging platforms and sometimes I neglect checking them. Just like here on readcash I have a very little free time to spend because I'm also busy with other stuffs such as studying and doing my passions in life.

Wow, I didn't expect to see a photo of you attached in the middle. Let me guess; you are still in your 30s? Looking young and unproblematic in life. I wish I would be like that one day. I think you should reveal your secret Bob. ๐Ÿ™

$ 0.10
8 months ago

Let me guess; you are still in your 30s?

Haha you get brownie points. I turn 50 this year.

I have joined so many crypto & blogging platforms and sometimes I neglect checking them.

With everything that I have going on in my life I really only have time for 1 platform. I let read.cash be the only 1 for most of blogging time. That changed when it became a ghost town. Now I neglect time here and also some time in Hive. Maybe I'm 75/25 Hive versus Read

I think you should reveal your secret Bob.

Well I reveal its deals with my current relationship status. I feel it's better to wait to discuss when that status changes. Yes over the lost love that was over 25 years ago..

Thanks so much for the great comment Sydney :)

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Happy 1st birthday here in read, I hope for more achievements, interactions and days to come. And enjoy your break, take care

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thank you the countdown is getting closer. Three more wake ups.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Enjoy your vacation of 11 days! You also take care and have fun. Will miss you around. Stay blessed dear ๐Ÿ’–โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’

$ 0.02
8 months ago

Thank you dear, I miss the days the first few months I was here. I remember have like eight pages of notifications to run through. I can't imagine what it was like in read.cash in its hay day when many enjoyed $10 plus articles on a consistent base

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Happy 1st anniversary here in read!!

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Thanks Joyce. It's been a fun ride so far. Great to have read from you almost all of my time here. Congratulations to you on all your RL happenings.

$ 0.00
8 months ago