Has Cramming Ever Failed You?

19 60
Avatar for Chief_Mekus
2 years ago

Cramming is the act of studying intensively to accumulate a lot of workload over a short period of time.

It is one of the most popular reading techniques amongst students across the world. It's always considered an option or a saving grace when the workload to be covered is much and there's little or no time to read for the sake of understanding.  

   

 I consider cramming as a gift, although it can be learned when there's a little tweak in the situation of things. I wasn't really good at cramming when I was admitted into the university but on getting there, I discovered that I cannot do without it. There are some things you'd read to understand and ones you just need to stuff into your head, enter the exam hall and give it to them just as it is in your note or textbook. 

Sometime ago, we were notified on a Monday, that we would be writing a test on a Saturday. The coursework for that particular course was super abundant, so we had to read to understand, then the ones we couldn't understand, we made sure we crammed them. When it was time for the test, the lecturer came in, and arranged us, such that, the moment you are short of ideas, you have no other choice than to submit because you don't have the luxury of asking a friend.

When the test started, everything was going fine; I wrote extensively on the ones I understood and a few that I crammed. Immediately after the test, we were notified of another test that was to be held the next week on a Tuesday. 

Source

The moment the announcement was made, I began preparations. It wasn't easy because I had to read a lot of cumbersome materials, slides and textbooks all in the space of 3 days. I did my best; I understood the much I could, then crammed the rest. 

    On that faithful Tuesday, we went into the hall to write the test. When the questions were read out, I began answering. The answer to question 1 was still fresh in my memory, so I supplied the answer immediately. The answer to the 2nd question was something I read on the first of 3 days that we were given to prepare for the test, so I had a hard time remembering it. I sat down there and closed my eyes, trying to see if I could at least remember anything. I tried and tried, but it wasn't working and we were not given the chance to interact with our neighbors, so I submitted the ones I could remember and left the hall.

It was quite painful that I couldn't remember the things I spent time reading the moment I entered the hall, but it was expected considering the workload. At that stage it's safe to say that Cramming failed me.

Has Cramming ever Failed you before?

Sponsors of Chief_Mekus
empty
empty
empty

I want to thank my Sponsors and subscribers. God bless you all.

Lead image Source

APRIL 21, 2022.

15
$ 1.33
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Amazing-grace
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
+ 7
Sponsors of Chief_Mekus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Chief_Mekus
2 years ago

Comments

well in my case it depends on subject

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said, most times we don't read to understand we just want it to be in our head and that's actually cramming... I always find it difficult to cram so I just read what I can read within the short period of time left

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most at times, the work load becomes way too much that it's even harder to read within the short period of time. So sometimes you just have to stuff everything in there and keep hoping that things work out as planned.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is the first time I heard about this word and after I read your article I understand the meaning of it. Well as far as I remember when I was still a student I also used to easily forgot the lesson that I had just read and study. After spending some day's of reading at the end I just forgot everything that I just read. I think it was because of pressure. Specially that during exam, you also need to consider the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's really easy to read and forget during exams because the pressure is always which is why it's advised to always read up a little before exams so that you went get to choke yourself when the time comes cause cramming is not always a sure bet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cramming is also already part of my life haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a student, if cramming ain't part of your life, I don't think you can even survive, except you are sure that you would be reading daily and making sure you cover everything. But that's still difficult to undertake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cramming has really helped me while I was still schooling in secondary school when we have loads of books to read for the exam and there's a limited time to go through them,what I do is cram the ones I can't read and put it down in the exam..btw you need to source your images "image source".

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the best option in that case😂, cause it's not easy to read and understand everything. Thanks for the advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cramming has been a gift to me. I can cram and remember things but there are times it failed me and once I hear some people whispering behind me, I quickly remember through a hint from them. Most times when I have forgotten what I crammed and I submit, once I step outside, I remember immediately. Thank God for His grace sha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes Princess, cramming has really been a saving grace. But the cramming that most times fails to work is the one done a night before exams. Probability or remembering/forgetting is 50/50. Thanks for your contribution dear Princess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While in primary school. I had a very sharp brain for cramming that people begin to wonder whether I had a normal human brain as I could keep cramming portions and portions of text book.. but after I started secondary school, I became quite useless and wasn't quite serious in my study since I don dey become big girl and some boys don dey eye me 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂😂 E day happen. In sec school the moment you lose focus, it's quite difficult to recover, especially when you fail to discover that you've lost focus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, 😂 after reading from your experience, I can boldly say I relate to this. Well, cramming has failed me too, in little ways though and that's because I cram a night towards the exam. So I always remember most and disremember nothing but few.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Omoh, my course is such that you will never finish everything. You can read all through the year and end up not reading everything, like it's that bulky. So planning to cram everything a night before test or exam is a death sentence 😂. Like you will literally go blank in the hall.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aaah, omo 😂 Bros Sir, I no fit handle that one. I respect you and your course ooh, 🙇🏿‍♀️🙌 mine is quite simple

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cramming has failed me before, I crammed stuff that morning and when I got to the exam hall omo my head was blank... See as I dey beg for help from my guy... He literally shouted for me to leave him alone...😂😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This cracked me up man🤣🤣🤣, I feel your pains Bro. Going blank in the exam hall is a death sentence cause you will need more than hints to get back ok track again. Especially when you don't understand what you are stuffing in your head😂.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guy like its so frustrating😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago