Childhood memories:The much awaited coconut harvesting time

12 27

Maayong gabie,magandang gabi po,maupay na gab-i ha iyo nga tanan or shall I say Good evening everyone!

What's up everyone?I hope you are doing great today .Be safe guys where ever you are now.

This morning ,my younger brother chatted me asking some load ,and according to him he forgot to buy a load before they went to the mountain.He said that they are harvesting some coconuts in our small coconut farm with our father.So I gave him a 10peso load ,I know he spend it for playing mobile legend ,he is one of those who are addicted to that mobile game.Everytime his run out of load ,he will just chat me good thing I had a Gcash ,so I gave him a 10 peso load quickly then told him ,not to play until they finish and he said they will going to sell the copra this afternoon.

Back to my childhood days

When we are kids ,I and my siblings are so excited when my father will harvested our coconut.This is the time that we knew that our parents will be having a money.When the harvesting time started ,I wrote down the things that I need to buy especially our school needs.

Buying our needs

When we have something to ask for our parents like school needs,slippers ,they will answered us " just wait when your father will harvest the coconut"and we understand them naman ,coz we know how poor we are ,our parents prioritize our food than the other things ,and when the harvesting came ,thats the time that they will bought our needs .

Able to eat delicious foods

After they sell the copra ,our parents will buy meat for us .We only able to eat meat if there were a fiesta or there will a birthday in our neighbor.Our viand usually was dried fish ,vegetables ,shells from the river .And we are excited when our father will be selling the copra.

Able to drink cola /coke and we are thinking before that coke was the best drinks ever haha! We never forget to remind our parents to buy coke and bread when they're going to sell the copra.I don't know if anyone can relate this ,everytime our parents will be going to town we always reminding them to buy a bread even if they are already far we still shouted and said "nay palit pan ha!(reminding to buy a bread)and our mother will reply "Sure! I will buy 1 sack of bread"and we are excited when she came home ,we will check if she bought many bread lol.

Here' s the process for harvesting the coconut:

First -gathered and collects those fruits those are ready to be harvest.It was'nt easy to picked the coconut fruits,you need to climb the coconut tree and sometimes if it was not your lucky day you can encounter bees at the tree.

Second-remove the coconut husk then cut the coconut shell into two.Me and my siblings before will waited this moment coz some coconut those old one has someting inside ,we called it "buwa".

Third-copra drying method,there are two ways of drying ,you can used the sun drying or smoke drying .But my father was used the smoke drying .

FOurth-Removed the cooked coconut flesh from the shell then slice.That coconut shell was useful ,they will make it a charcoal then sell to the market .Another money again .

Then after that ,when its already cool they began to packed it and sell .

Amoy pera na yan😅bahay namin yan dati ,nakatayo pa 🥰
My younger brother,walang jowa yan😄very useful talaga ang kalabaw sa mga magsasaka❤️

We are excited when our parents before will came home after selling the copra .

Now that we can afford to buy some foods unlike before ,after selling the copra we only asked for a snacks ,an ice cream or bread of course lol.

My younger brother chatted me after they sell the copra ,he told me that all the copra they harvested now was cost 19,000pesos but it was not all for my father ,they will deducted the expenses ,labor then it will be divided into two for my mother's sister.But then I am happy for them now ,they already have some money to spend for this comming christmas.

See!It was so hard ,there's no easy way of making money .Be sure to spend the money in a right way.

All photos sent by my brother❤️

And that's all for my blog today,Wala akog maisip na isulat eh ,pagpasensyahan nyo na ,need mag ipon kasi I have a plan next day haha ,so excited to join another challenge again 😄

Thank you for spending your time to read my article ,good night and GOD BLESS everyone.

Sponsors of Chelle18
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 4.30
$ 3.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 7
Sponsors of Chelle18
empty
empty
empty

Comments

sauna sa bata pako, curious gyud kaayo ko kung para unsa gyud ng copras haha naa man gud mga mo palit og copras diri sa amoa, mahal mahal pud ang kilo haha. Akong lolo kay naa man pud kalubihan nya manugo ra siya magpa harvest para e copras niya e baligya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful memory you have of those harvest days. Nothing like the fruit of our labor. I like coconut. It is harvested here too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you mam ,thank you also for upvoting always my article ,have a nice day to you🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My late grandfather has coprahan as well sis.. malawak yung niyugan nya..naranasan din naming magbantay ng kopra dati grabe... enjoy din lalo na kapag nagpapakawit ng nyog, ang sarap sunakay sa kariton na pinanghahakot ng nyog..hahahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Totoo yan sis ,nakakamis no hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga..hehehe..ang yaman ng childhood natin noh..ang yaman sa memories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice one dude....keep it up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are really sweet memories. Your parents really prioritized the needs of you and your siblings and always want to make you happy. And now that you are a grown up woman, no need to mention that you make them happy as well... BTW, when I was a kid, there's this myth in my culture that says that drinking coconut water everyday makes one to be brilliant in class

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every hardwork will be paid off at the right time 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ana gyud na ate no? Basta mag sikap lang jud unya tabang ba manganagmoy pera talaga . And of course makakaon gyud intawn ug mga lami hehehhee humotan raba gyud ko anang baho sa kopras? Hehhehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I laugh at the amoy pera. Ano pong amoy non? Hahaha. Glad you still have those precious photos.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I forgot pala ,galing yan sa kapatid ko sis.Amoy pera kasi naririnig ko kapag alam na magkakapera na😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago