A fantasy of Fifths

23 51
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

I always thought it should go without saying that many historians and scholars construct fantasy worlds out of thin air. It's magical. Day in and day out, from study to study, many of said historians and scholars withdraw from comfy writing posts or any form of writing location to show our world proof of fantasy. It all starts in our past, said Thomas, a historian living in a coastal city in north california.

I was a small child during my first carnival. Balloons would pop constantly as kids toss darts at colourful walls. Stray dogs would bark nonstop. Clowns would try to implant awful visions in my mind by following my cousin and I down shadowy hallways of a spooky mansion, dark clouds rolling across a dark sky through high windows. My cousin Andy, who was surprisingly tall, said that all carnivals in north california start on Mondays and finish on saturdays. It was a rhythmic occassion. Six days long and attracting tons of city-folk to calm and rural grasslands, carnivals had such a distinct way of gaining popularity. Kids from as far away as Portland and San Francisco would zoom down highways in daddy's fast and luxurious cars to grab hold of any form of thrill around.

Fast forward now to adulthood. My crazy, spiralling path was forming into a distinct vision. I saw things of all forms falling into a rhythm I was comfy with. Going from a parabolic arc of insanity through high school to this classic and historic job wasn't a straight road. I was happy as a historian now. It was my passion.

"Thomas?" Said Andy, frowning and looking out towards a horizon bathing in bright sunlight. "What's going on?

"What was that sound?" I said, turning to that giant glass window. A frightful boom shook my building. I was four floors up.

Image Source: https://pin.it/4OlrPiI

Shards of glass raining down was a common sight. A mass was plunking down into my stomach. I fought my way to purgatory and back to diminish it. Andy was grabbing my arm, saying that both of us should find a lift down to my main lobby. Hurrying out through a door into a hallway with cracks all along my floor, I found my vision looking at a map showing which way to go. I wasn't too familiar with this building. I only got my historian award not too long ago.

Now in a lift, Andy hit a button with an M on it to bring us towards my lobby. My building was crumbling. I couldn't wait this out. This particular horror was a spark, activating my wondrous ability that lay dormant until now. I was slipping into a void, not knowing If I would avoid mortality. I was moving onward from my ritualistic past and finding innovation amongst my surroundings.

I had wound up in a world far away from my collapsing history building. Or was I far away at all? All my hard work was crashing down and vanishing into thin air was my way of solving it. My dignity was crashing down with it. I had to find a way of moving on.

I was in a colourful room with circular windows on two walls. Through glass I could spot a spongy-looking ground. Am I on a distant moon? I stood upright and could only watch with a frown as a man was uncannily approaching. Looking similar to a clown without a rainbow afro, a formal introduction told my mind that this man was known as Salvador. An artist? Salvador Dali? In this far off world with fantastical inhabitants, anything could look as living as a human back in our Milky way galaxy. How far away was that, though? How many astronomical units? How many stars stood in my way?

"It's truly a thrilling day," said Salvador. Grabbing my hand and taking my body down a shadowy hallway, I was shown into a spacious room. Occupying a smooth rug was a dog that had about six limbs; I found my body turning away so i didn't know if it had six or possibly thirty.

"What is this world?" Said my curious vocal chords. It was bright and colourful and my mind was willing to find out why.

"It's your final location", said a small girl monotonously. Turning around, I was watching as a girl with pigtails and a pink skirt was approaching.

"What?"

"I'm Yolanda... And you know what I just said."

"How did I--?"

"Both your panic and your curiousity brought you to our world," said Yolanda. "And your distinct mind will bring about your downfall."

I was panicking. I had to find. This fantastical world was not what I was anticipating. I was scurrying towards any door I could find. Distant shouting told my mind that Salvador and Yolanda had sprung into action with such hostility.

"I'm just a historian!" I found my lungs shouting. "Don't kill--"

I was back. I saw a colourful lights turning into familiar and dull walls. I was back in that lift with Andy, though my building wasn't shaking. Walking out into my lobby, I thought that Andy should know of my trip into infinity. I was about to inform him, but his swift walking put his body too far away.

Image Source: https://pin.it/2Szex2d

"I just want to go, now," Andy said, talking quickly.

"Andy, wait. You gotta know what I just saw."

"Stop it, Thomas. This isn't good for your brain. It's probably not natural."

"I was in a distant world!" I said, catching up to him. A far off galaxy!"

"Stop acting silly, cousin. It was probably just a crazy, lucid fantasy." Andy was turning to walk away. "I think your mind has has an irrational phobia."

A fading glow of sunlight was shining through my building's windows, casting my lobby into a final splash of significant colour. Today was magical, that much was obvious. But today was also frightful.

"It all starts in our past," I said to my shadow.

Thank you Guys for always appreciating my works 😘😊 I always write fictional stories because of my imaginations hahaha πŸ˜…


Lead Image Source: https://pin.it/6QQbGuF

My Previous Article:

12
$ 6.01
$ 5.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @mhy09
+ 5
Sponsors of Caroline17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

Comments

Huuuy ang galing mars. wala akong masabi talaga. Bravoooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala ng intro2 po. Magaling! πŸ™Œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should be a professional writer for movies, you have a great writing skills. I thoroughly enjoyed every line in this article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thanks for your good comment 😍πŸ₯° But I'm just a writer that's what comes into my imagination .. I'm not like other expert writers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your imagination is amazing, seriously.. please start writing to news papers. they might even hire you one day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder what would happen if he stayed in that other universe :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha wag mo na isipin πŸ˜… dahil isang fiction lang naman. Pero normal lang din may masaya at malungkot πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed a very good fiction writer. I never had such imagination as yours or maybe I had but wasn't able to write it just the way you did. Keep writing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayyyieee thank you so much Sis πŸ₯°πŸ˜Š yan lang kasi ang aking makakaya ang pagsulat ng isang fictional story . Pero I'll try my best na makagawa din ng about sa sarili ko πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good. We have different skills on writing naman. Keep it up po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good indeed :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you sis and thank you for your time 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is my pleasure sis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe yung imagination mo beb...out of this world talaga aigoooo share mo naman yan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you po mare πŸ₯° paano ko ba ishashare haha?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

may mantra niyan or abracadabra hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galinggg mo talaga sa ganito bata. Ako'y nauubusan na ng kwento ee pero sayo. Wowwww 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha yun nga po ako naman puro kwento lang ng mga ganito πŸ˜…πŸ˜Š thank you po na appreciate mo ate Rufa 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Subukan mo na maging writer sa mga books sis.. Galing galing mo na eh..😊 Yun story ko, di ko pa natapos..πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha hindi ko pa kaya Sis 😊 hanggang ganito lang talaga ako.. Matatapos mo din yan hehe πŸ₯°hindi ko kaya yung gagawa ng kwento tapos by chapter haha ang hirap πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hihi.. Mahaba-haba kasi kung tatapusin ko siya sa isang article lang din sis, baka mabagot yung readers ko..πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gusto ko malaman kung papakitaan din ba pinsan nya kasi ayaw maniwala xd

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha Oo papakitaan din Sis kayo wala ng karugtong yan ang hirap dugtungan ng chapter πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago