Mud balls

17 39
Avatar for BreadChamp
1 year ago

August 18 | Thursday

Hello mga ferson! Have a drink muna oh!

How's your day? Has it been raining over there too? Whatever it is, I hope everyone's doing great!

Today, I want to do some storytelling. This story is about a place that I just recently visited, the Chocolate Hills. The place and the view are so fascinating that I got curious about how it was formed.

Then I remembered something from when I was a kid. My mother actually told me a story back then. And it was the legend of the Chocolate Hills!

The story goes like this...

Once upon a time, in the province of Bohol, there was vast dry land. Plenty of cracks appear during summer, but the whole area becomes muddy during the rainy season.

One day, two giants, coming from both ends of the island of Bohol, one Male and the other female, roamed around the province for the first time. The residents feared that both of them would cause trouble, but they are worried more that the two giants might ever cross paths, thinking that they would fight and cause damage to the village.

Their worries were heard from up above, for the two giants met. People sensed the tension and started fleeing from their homes.

It was a rainy day and the two giants finally had their standoff. The female giant yelled, "What are you doing here in my land? Get lost before I tear you into pieces!"

"Ha! I have been here for quite some time now and made this land my territory. Take your gibberish with you and leave my land at once", the male giant replied.

"If you want to stay here so bad then I shall grant your wish, but I'm going to bury you under the ground", warned the female giant.

"Save your energy, for I shall send you flying all the way to the neighboring island", the male giant replied with a laugh.

The female giant got so angry and started picking up huge chunks of muddy dirt and making giant mud balls out of them. She threw the mud balls at the male giant but her aim was so off. The male giant just kept dodging the mud balls and ran around the place, stomping over the houses and the crops that the villagers worked hard for. The mud balls scattered all over the field, forming into the hills that we can see now.

The villagers didn't know what to do, so they just prayed to Bathala that the two giants be punished and be gone so they can go back to their village and live in peace.

Bathala heard the villager's prayers. He struck the two giants with lightning, turning them into ashes, and blew them away into the air.

The villagers finally went home. They were able to fix their houses, but they had one problem. The vast plain fields where they planted crops had been covered with hills. Some of the villagers had no choice but to move away from the hills to the other areas on the island of Bohol where they could plant crops and start a new life.

The hills have now become the Chocolate Hills, earning its name from their chocolatey color during summer. Lots of tourists visit this place every year, and its name has been made known all over the world!

I really enjoyed listening to this story when I was a kid. Anyway, do you guys have similar stories that your parents shared with you when you were still kids?


This is it from me for now, buddies. I'm going to enjoy the cold weather on my bed this time. See you on my next blog!

Love you!

Until then.

9
$ 0.56
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.04 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of BreadChamp
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BreadChamp
1 year ago

Comments

Thank you for sharing the story of Bohol, I really want to see the Chocolate Hills in person .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My pleasure, teacher Lyn. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kasexy bang madzam hehe! Same kadungog nako ani nga story unja permi ko ma amaze bsta e storya ni ni lola bisan. Balik2 na hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yay salamat madz hihi. Makalingaw man jud ang estorya sa mga katugulangan gud uy haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana mavisit ko din yan. Bata pa lang ako gang books lang nakikita yan tas online. Gang ngayon ganun pa rin di man lang ma visit haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alam ko balang araw Kuya makakapunta ka din dyan. Para kang si Dora the traveller ee hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow... It's a very wonderful story. Now, the hill is somewhere that you all relax over there. That's great I hope you learn more stories from you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super relaxing, yes! 💚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uy welcome to bohol sis..hehe nibisita d ay ka diha... mao sad ni story ni chocolate hills sauna sa amoa..hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes sis, nakaadtu rajud ko sa wakas hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. My bread champ First of all I love the aspect where you dash out the drinks and I would pick the dwarf coke.

Second is the pictures of the chocolate hills looks amazing. Yeah back to the story. I enjoyed reading it. Maybe I call it folktales or something else. I am glad the villagers were able to get back to their homes but the sad news 😔. I am sure their land would never remain the same again.

Your picture look so take away.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am so happy that you loved it @McYusuf ! 😍❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Narinig ko nga yang legend na yan sis. Minsan nag eenjoy talaga ako makinig ng mga kuwento lalo na pag tungkol sa mga legends ng mga lugar. Sana makapunta ng Chocolate Hills sis. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganda kasi pakinggan sis lalo na kapag lolo at lola natin ang nagsasalaysay ee hihi. Soon sis, bisita ka din doon. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis totoo yan. Mafeel mo talaga yung kwento. Soon sis.🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napaka ganda talaga ng chocolate hills, na kaka curious talaga bakit tinawag syang chocolate hills. Ngayon ko Lang din narinig ang ganitong story about the giants. Ang ganda NG view.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Legit sis, sobrang ganda. Tiis tiis talaga ako kaka picture kahit mainit haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago