All in all is all we are

10 33
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

We cannot just show direct insult to a person of his actions simply because he violated our set of standards or beliefs.

Some people live their lives with their own sets of rules. Humanity has been living life in accordance with the rules of man and the laws of nature. No wonder that from the time we were born we are already accustomed to rules and standards in our home and within the community we live in.

 Along with these rules are people's own beliefs and principles. Often the people who want to live their own principles have issues with other people that cause conflicts or arguments. Worst is that it can lead to a war.

How do you live your life? Do you live your life according to what you want? How do you deal with people who seem to mess with your standards?

Unsplash free image by Elevate


 See related post: Rules: Obey And Disobey

Simple Lesson

Life teaches us so many lessons. Some are easy and often those hard lessons are the ones that shape us. Those lessons that make us become wiser bring great impact to our lives. Mostly are our relationships with people. Be it with friends, officemates, the people we meet outside or even our intimate relationship to someone.

Making friends with strange people is easy. All you have to do is to show things that interest them or them showing you things that have your interest too. In other words, there is compatibility. So most groups of people have one thing in common. They have the same interest that is why they can understand each other. They have harmonious relationships. Although in every group there is still one who seems to have a different perspective than the rest. He is the one who mostly contradicts or complains. He always has problems with the group's rules and standards.

Unsplash free image by Karl Edwards

When I was studying at the university, I was a total stranger at the campus. I am an introvert, a silent type guy when I am at totally strange places. I am not the type of college guy who gets along easily with other classmates, especially with girls. Contrary to what my male classmates do who feels like they know their female classmates for a long time. You will just see me sitting in one corner observing the clamor.

It took me a couple of years before I had two close friends in our class. I am a very selective person when choosing people to become my friend. Yes, I just don’t know why but it is just me and that’s all I can be. I don’t think there is a problem with that. But sometimes when I am alone, I talk to myself. Yes, I always do.

See related post: Finding Me

Some classmates have their own group of friends easily. Girls are always the first ones to get along with other girls. Boys of course get along easily, particularly those who learn to smoke at a very young age. They would go to the nearest store and smoke while waiting for the professor in the next class.

It is true that most foolishness can be learned in school but are not taught by our teachers.

Filter Issue

I was learning to smoke during my college days and one time I asked my classmate for a smoke whose teeth are almost decaying due to nicotine. He did not give me because he knew that I don’t know how to smoke. Then he said, “If you could show me one hit and then satisfy it, then I will give you one.”

That was remarkable to me because I know that he has been smoking even when he was still in high school. Eventually I learned to smoke after finishing college. Then of course drinking alcoholic beverages.

See related post: We Learn To Live

When I was still living with myself, finding my fortune in the big cities of Metro Manila, I used to work with an employer whose type of job was to convert video tapes to CD/DVD. He has space in a particular mall somewhere in Greenhills. I was his only guy so I don’t have someone to talk to. During my breaks I will go to the smoking area for a smoke. It was then that I forgot my lighter in the office desk so I had to ask a guy near me for a lit. He then extended his cigar to me, I held it and lit mine and gave it back while nodding as a respect. To my surprise he threw his cigarette when I handed it back to him then got a new stick and lit.

Unsplash free image by Chris Arthur-Collins

I was puzzled by his action and reaction. I was clueless. But I don’t show intimidation. I just sat in a distance and finished my smoking. I didn’t share that incident with anyone. I want to know why. I want to figure it out myself.

Years have passed and I have almost forgotten about that event. I have long been smoking and drinking in my 20’s. While I was in my heyday (as a jobless), I learned a lot of lessons from drinking alcohol and drinking with different types of personality. That was that time when I found the answer to the guy who insulted me by just asking to light my cigarette.

Today I no longer smoke. But it doesn’t mean that I stop smoking because of illness from smoking. I am in good health. I just found myself quitting smoking years ago.

If you are still smoking and happen to read this post, do you think you know the reason why the guy threw his cigarette when I returned it back to him?

Anyway if you aren’t smoking you can still share your views about this post.

Thanks for reading. Ciao! 

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Elevate

Karl Edwards

Chris Arthur-Collins

Tom Barrett

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

8
$ 5.33
$ 4.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @leejhen
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 5
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I'm not a smoker so I don't the answer. Why did he do that? It can't be that you held the cigarette for I see a lot doing that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes bro, It was long enough when I found out that the filter should not be held when asking to lit from someone's cigarette. 😬😄

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahhh I see :D That makes sense.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never smoked and drunk in my life until I enjoyed solo backpacking in my late 20’s. It’s just for experience and I was very funny when drunk. I smoked weed and fell asleep. Hehehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh... So it was more like a sleeping pill... 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes. My first smoke was a banana flavored one during my backpacking in Myanmar tapos nasundan ng weed. Good thing I don’t get easily addicted to smoking. Not sure why other people feel like they can’t breathe without a cigar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Also, yes it is ready to make friends from everywhere. And just as easy to make enemies.

I've made enemies, I think, even here. I believe, though, not the person I insulted. Rather that person's friends. I apologized for my mistake and my outburst.

But the friends didn't want to accept that.

It's ok. I know in my heart and the other person knows in their heart what was going on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed it is easy to make enemies too.

It is normal to raise our adrenaline sometimes because if we keep our anger inside there is a psychological effect in our life. More important is you apologize and you know in your heart that you are sincere.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

"Thanks for the ear worm," she said sarcastically.

I'm going to hear that refrain for the rest of the day!

Way to quote Nirvana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was thinking of "Lesson learned, wish me luck" title from Nirvana's Dumb but there are a lot of post here with lesson learned as their title so I ended up with the lyrics from All apologies. 😄

$ 0.03
2 years ago