Acts Of Kindness

7 21
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Every problem must be solved by having a question. Obviously, problems exist first before having a solution.

In the same manner, questions are not only there to solve problems. We often ask questions if we want to find the meaning, reason, and or opinion about something.

Today’s post is in relation to bbyblacheep’s post, Another Q&A, which I think should be submitted to Writing prompt #5: Questions.

I submitted my entry for that prompt three months ago with the title The Why's And How's And What if's. Feel free to check if you have spare time for readings today. Just leave a comment if you want to share your opinion about the post.

The “Another Q&A” post has ten questions and it would be fun to try to answer them if you want to entertain yourself. These questions are fun to ask with our family and friends too whenever you're at a small gathering or bonding.

I wanted to answer the entire questions there but I only choose one for this post. The questions are not that hard but it is quite interesting because you will pause sometimes and think.

I am not good at answering questions on the spot. Mostly if it requires thinking and reasoning so if ever I will be interrogated for witnessing a crime I can easily tell the truth (laughs).

Anyway, here is the question that I have chosen to answer for today’s topic.

Unsplash free images by  Matt Collamer

What is the best random act of kindness you've ever witnessed?

I have witnessed a lot of kindness from different types of people. From the neighborhood to the office and even in public places. There are still a lot of good people out there despite the cruelties and violence around the world.

I’m Good, God Bless You

I was sitting inside a city hall while waiting to get my medical certificate. The people coming in and out of the building can be seen from the inside. A man came in with a cane and appeared to be a person with a disability then when he reached the stairs to the second floor an employee came rushing. When the employee passes by the PWD he stops and extends his hand attempting to offer help. The PWD refuses and smiles at the employee as if saying that he was good and can manage to go up. The employee smiled back and moved on.

How Far A Twenty Peso Can Go?

When I was still working at the office, I used to have my lunch alone at the canteen outside the building. I had to walk for at least 200 meters and ate my lunch there as the prices of foods inside the company’s canteen are a bit higher compared to the foods outside. One time while I was walking through the canteen, there was a pauper ahead walking. Then a couple was walking too, going in my direction. When the couple was meeting the pauper on their way, the man pulled a twenty peso bill and handed it to the pauper.

They Are More Starving Than Us

I was waiting for a bus ride at the pavement along the highway. There was a rolling store nearby selling fried chicken. A car stopped in front of the vendor and I saw a hand extended and bought a bag of fried chicken. Then the car leaves and I follow it with my eyes because the car looks expensive. At some distance, the car stopped and I saw a hand again from the inside extending to give the same bag with the fried chicken to a beggar sitting along the pavement with a child.

Those are only a few acts of kindness I have witnessed in the past. Take note that there were no social media back then because those scenarios have so many photos and videos on social media these days. Do you get what I mean?

These events are like viruses in my brain that they just can’t be deleted but kept because of the righteousness it brings. These acts of kindness are contagious too. You will be surprised one day because you will find yourself doing the same thing. Giving and helping other people without expecting something in return.

Sometimes I felt guilty when I saw people showing acts of kindness to others when I have nothing to give. But instead of feeling like that, I felt inspired because I can do the same kindness too. We all can do that if only we let our hearts free of hatred and jealousy.

Sometimes those who have nothing to have are the ones who can give.

The old quote that says “It is better to give than to receive” works out well even today. Try it and see how it is good to show acts of kindness to our brothers and sisters. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Lead image source credits to Kelly Sikkema

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

8
$ 4.11
$ 3.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 1
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

When I was thinking of a title, I actually thought of the writing prompt from before. 😁

And suddenly I remembered that there was a lady who let me sit on her lap when we were on a jeepney. That time, public transportation were limited because of hike and it was rush hour and raining a little. Not sure if you happened to read my article about that but to make it short, she had me sit on her lap so we can all go home. "ayaw kasi ni manong driver magpasabit ng babae. Yung mga lalaki sa loob ayaw din magsacrifice na may sumabit. Nakipagtigasan talaga ako. Hahaha"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

writing prompt has no time limit naman so you can still submit anytime.

i have also witnessed similar scenario as yours long time ago and i was guilty of it. aarrrgghhh! 😬😁 kaso umuulan kasi that time, medyo masama panahon kaya wala tlagang gustong sumabit at si ate gurl di nya alam n puno n jeep, gusto nya lng tlga makauwi. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy that there are still people who like to help others and do good deeds. A simple act of kindness will surely leave a great impact to the person who we offered our help with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and the good thing about it is that people who witnessed such act of kindness will do the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yessss! And I hope it will be like a ripple effect

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Act of kindness to show the others is the greatest gift. It's such a priceless. Happiness can be unmeasurable. We should learn to share our blessings to others.

I felt pity those beggars. It's really painful. If i saw street children. I give some foods and sometimes cash. I know it gives them happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those people of course did not choose to live a life being homeless.

It's better to give them food than money i think because we never know what they do with the money. But it easier to give them money to buy food if they suddenly approach us on the street.

$ 0.00
2 years ago