When Pronouncing Somebody's Name Becomes a problem

17 31
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

When I was in class five in elementary school, a new student whose name was Vaughan came to join us. Well, he'd made the introduction and told us that his was Vaughan, but we wouldn't just stop spelling his name as "Vogan" especially when reading through other list of student names.

I wondered why the spelling of his name would be different from it's pronunciation and our English teacher couldn't give us any plausible explanation on the reason why. She would only say that that was how the name is spelt in English and we have no choice than to respect that.

There was another lady whose name was "Joyce". Joyce was very easy to pronounce but the problem would definitely be from the spelling. Some kids might read it as "joysee".

Also had a guy whose name was Michael but he would always frown at anybody who calls him "Mike". Well, even if this was a cool version of his original name he didn't like it and we respected that. Infact according to him, people who called him Mike instead of Michael are lazy people who prefer shortcuts. Lol.

Not only English names though, even our native African names could be pronounced the wrong way, especially the surname. There was also this lady whose name was Motunrayo. Ofcourse this name wouldn't be difficult to pronounce even for a white man. But unfortunately, some mischievous students would want to hurt her my calling her "motuary". How cruel!

Sometimes, some African names or surnames might even be difficult for another person in thesame country but from a different tribe to pronounce . Infact some children ( gen. Z's) can't even pronounce their own surname properly. There's no need to mention that such children speak English more fluently than their own tribe. Often times, they might be scolded by an elder from thesame tribe or from a different tribe for their inability to learn their mother tongue.

I have heard of alot of young Nigerians that have migrated to the UK and US and had to later modify their native names for easier pronounciation by their hosts. Ademola is modified to Adie. Fashanu becomes modify to fash, Mayorkun is modified to Mayo, Omolola/ Omolara becomes Lola/Lara ........

🤗🤗

Well, I don't think that omitting a syllabus, vowel, consonant from your name would make anyone like you the more. Afterall, I know some English and other foreign names that could be tongue twisters too, although o wouldn't mention them 😆😆

Ofcourse, u understand that it could be very frustrating repeating the correct pronunciation of your name dozens of time in a day to someone from a different culture. I even heard that the "Nelson" was not the original first name of Mandela. It was given to him by the colonizers who apparently got tired of trying to get his native name right 🤣

Your name is your name and it plays the biggest part of your identity. You should make sure that is is pronounced properly else you could become stuck with a new identity irrespective of wether you like it or not.

*************************************

Thanks for reading

11
$ 1.81
$ 1.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @Unity
+ 8
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

I remember my secondary school days my tribal name is very difficult to be pronounce by both teachers and students this made me to have few friends

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is why Gen Z switched up their names into someone tush and relatable. When you are not used to a name and your tone is different, you will always call it wrong. We have had our fair share of ruining people's names when we were little.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. Especially when we were in secondary school.. we do that alot, just for fun 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha exactly...just for fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Personally, my traditional name is a real tongue twister for most people. It's not for me though but I'd rather not tell people cos I don't want to give them an opportunity to pronounce it wrongly which makes me sad often than not

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have a traditional name. But it's quite cool to pronounce 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's always funny the way we(the world at large) mispronounce names. It just the way people colonised "igbo" to be "ibo" and these Igbos are not doing anything about it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are you an African? Just recently, our children in high school have their topic in their English subject about Africa, and they are having a play about it. Mostly, African names are hard to pronounced.

Just like with your example "Vaughan", when we pronounced it, yes we can but maybe but not that kind of accurate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ma'am. I am an African and it's true some African names could be hard to pronounce but believe me those names got have beautiful meanings 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am guilty of wrongly pronouncing people's names. I just find a syllable in the person's name that can serve as a short form of calling the name

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. I think I'm guilty of that as well. Especially Calabar names 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It happens a lot in the States with names not of English sounds. Most introduce themselves as such but immediately tell you it's ok to call them something else.

BTW my name is Robert but I prefer and go by Bob.

Here Robert can be short also for Rob, Robby, and Bobby. I don't like to be referred to them though.

Take care and I like your article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you soo much Sir Robert . I really appreciate the support. As a native Nigerian, it is customary to tell someone who have shown you kindness " God bless you"🤗🤗. Thanks alot once again. It was really huge, almost too good to be true 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can call be Bob for short I won't think of you as lazy 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you Bob! 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha,other makes me call by my name with so much artand ghey prefer it thatway

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. I can imagine ma'am. But you'd definitely get used to it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yap🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have heard different versions of my real name and I would correct some of them but most of the times I don't for I like the way they say it lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago