Unfaithful Tailors

18 35
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Hello everyone. Hope you all had a beautiful and productive Monday. Its a pleasure to write to you once again. Most of my faithful subscribers and readers must have already know by now that i am more of a storyteller than a writer. Lol. I have a knack of writing stories about my own experiences and that of people around me with a peculiar strategem . Honestly, I never knew that I had this faculty in me until I joined readcash. I also want to thank you all my loyal readers, sponsors and subscribers for your unwavering support by bringing out one my best parts. You all gave me the inspiration and the "ginger" to keep pushing and getting better each day. πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—

So, today I want to talk about my unpleasant experiences with naija tailors. Lol. It is a known fact that majority of our tailors can be unpredictable just like our NEPA. Your tailor might be loyal and devoted to you for more than five years. But he must surely "f**k up"one day and it is usually on a most important occasion or hour that they default.

The first bitter experience I had was when I was in my first year at the university. There is this special celebration that comes around in our village every five years. This particular year, and elder brother of mine was among the celebrants, so I couldn't afford to miss it. I have already planned to travel a week before the event. The festival lasts for five days and and there are special attires to be wore on each of the five days.

Since I was away from home, I wasn't able to take my cloths to my mother's tailor who had been very consistent and never disappoints. I asked around for a tailor. I was directed to a guy whose shop was not very far from the school. I was also told that he was superb at his craft and always delivered on time, so i rushed to his shop immediately.

He told me that my clothes will be ready in three days, possibly before then. I was so impressed that I paid him in full ( the usual practice to give half of the payment. Then when the clothes have been sewn, you complete the payment). My measurements were taken and I left his place with a confident smile on my face.

Three days passed quickly, and it was exactly a week to the big event. To my amazement, I met the tailor's shop locked. A woman from the next shop volunteered in providing his number. After dialling three times, he eventually answered. He said a cousin of his died and he had to travel to a nearby town for the burial. He apologized profusely for the inconvenience and promised to return the same day and complete my clothes. He claimed he had already started working on it and was about to finish. I also sent my condolences to him for the loss of his cousin.

Two days later, I returned to his shop. As soon as he saw me alighting from the bike, he immediately brought out my clothes and pretended to be working on it. He again apologized to me , giving another excuse that his wife had been sick and he was just returning from the hospital.

By this time, I had become quite apprehensive and fearful. The ceremony was in less than a week from now and this man hadn't even finished sewing even one of the two dresses I had given him!

He promised that he would sew all the materials today and they would all be ready at ten pm. I could choose to come get it at that time or wait till the next day, he said. I never knew that as soon as I had left, this man had abandoned my materials and left the shop.

I couldn't go back that night since it was already late and would be quite unsafe for a lady. But I was so anxious to get my dresses. So, I sent a friend of mine ( a guy) to help me get the delivery. He returned around half past ten and told me that he met the shop locked. I tried the tailor's number several times but it remained switched off. I had problems with sleep that night.

As soon as we were done with the first morning lecture the following day, I rushed to the tailor's shop. I was so angry you would think i was about to go kill someone. When I finally arrived at his place, I met the shop opened but nobody was there. I sat down on a bench by the door and decided to wait for him. Maybe he had gone to ease himself I thought.

After waiting for more than an hour, I resolved to go into the shop and searched for my dresses, damning the consequences. I hadn't searched for up to a minute when I saw the materials for the dresses. It was dumped carelessly in an old sack. It wasn't even cut yet, it was just as exactly as I had brought it.

All the anger in me suddenly dissipated and was replaced by a sick feeling of regret and hopelessness that moved me to tears. My own brother's occasion was in three days time and I was supposed to travel to our village that night. I wished I had took the initiative and sent the clothes to my mother's tailor.

As I step out of the shop with my clothes in hand, the woman from the next shop saw the depression written all over my face and she came outside to console me. I later learned that moses( tailor's name) was a gambler and a drunk who had been in the habit of disappointing his customers and hardly any customers visit his shop nowadays. He was also fond of exchanging a customer clothes with another customer's when "high" on marijuana.

There was a time he spent a week in the cell when he was arrested by a bride' family whose dress he failed to sew until the day of the wedding. The woman said she was sure that he was in local bar at the moment and already drunk.

Consequently,I missed three days out of the five days of the festival. By the time I arrived at the village,I told mum about what I passed through in the hands of moses the tailor. I saw all the beautiful photos my siblings, cousins, parents took in my absence with their glowing and identical attires and I became so sad

This experience and two other painful encounters with unfaithful tailors made me almost vow to settle for english wears only. But that would be almost impossible since we had to be in our traditional wears for most weddings and ceremonies .

****************************

Thank you so much for reading

Yours lovely,

Bilqees.

10
$ 3.74
$ 3.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
+ 9
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

Unfaithful tailor are everywhere....I normally give my tailor a notice og 2 weeks before the day of my collocations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I woud be so furious if I were you.. would have slapped the tailor for good.. so sorry you had to go through that.. its the worst feeling ever when the ocassion is nearing and you have nothing to wear. These kind of idots are here in India too.. In fact. I gave a tailor a bunch of clothes during Nov 4th and he still did not touch even a single piece of it. Can you believe?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can never believe the tailors like that because when I let them sew something they do the opposite and then I have to go to the tailors again and again to fix it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so stupid of him to act that way. I don't give people full money unless they have done my work finish. That is a non challant attitude from him and no one would ever trust him again. This also has made him lose his integrity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tailors are always known to frustrate us in this country and fortunately I can't relate and it's probably because I hardly sew clothes. The last time I went to a tailor was when I had a wedding to attend in 2019 and they gave me one of those marriage clothes (abi aso-ebi). The tailor told me to come for it in 4 days time and I actually thought he was joking.

Well, he shocked my by calling me back just after two days that the clothes is ready, and he did his work perfectly that there was no need for amendment. Those type of tailors are actually rare in the country, it's usually the ones you will feel like killing that are everywhere πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was because you were a first-time customer that was why he's trying to cultivate a good will. I know tailors like this and had it been you continued to patronize him, sooner than later,he for shock you πŸ˜‚. Not only tailors see, even carpenters and mechanics sef dey fall hands... All this handwork people ehn... Na only okada man no dey disappoint sometimesπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ looks like you know them so well and I think you're right, the guy is trying to treat me right so I will keep coming back

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, this is so bad. If this happened to me, I will surely get angry and disappointed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's normal for tailors to Frustrate in naija, it's in their Gene. I remember when I had to pass a night in a tailors shop just to see him through sewing a clothe I'm supposed to used for the next day. He disappointed me to my bone and I had to sit him down with "you must sew it today". I've had countless experience with tailors. The best thing to do to them is to give them the clothe early and start persuading them from the first day 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Spent the night at a tailor's shop. πŸ˜‚. Walahi some tailors in naija are supposed to be okada riders instead

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moses the tailor is such a pain in the a** I can feel your frustration from the way you narrate the details of your story. I hope the tailor would find his karma soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of them are just so unbelievable.. He had left the trade a long time ago

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don’t worry with all the troubles he made with some of his clients I am sure karma is following him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That must have been a painful experience, really

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can relate to this story, I've been a victim once or twice too, what I do know is that I lie about the date I need it giving about 2 weeks to when I need it to allow for contingencies, you just have to brace yourself for the disappointment but always have a backup plan ready, that's how you survive Naija tailors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. This is a very clever approach. I have a friend like you. He would tell his tailor that he intend to use the clothes the following week for an event which was actually in a month time 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For more than three years now I haven't given any tailor to sow any clothes for me. I always feel their service charge sometimes can be very high.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is another point too. They are fond of overcharging. Thank God we now have a relative who is a tailor

$ 0.00
2 years ago