Savior psychosis

21 21
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Last Sunday, i met a cousin who I literally see almost on weekly basis through out my life. He was in a serious financial crisis. He had been swindled by one of those fraudulent platforms that promises it's members bogus returns of investment when they invest heavily in them. Needless to say that this was never the first time he would be falling for such scams. What made this worse than the previous ones was that he invested with borrowed funds and is now in a huge debt.

Thank you 🙏

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

From a distance, one could clearly see the look of great anguish in his eyes and he needed all the assistance he could possibly get. After he had told me about his predicament, I wasn't quite surprised when he asked me to help him in the little way that I could so that he could offset some of his debts. He said that the pressure and humiliation from his creditors are becoming more and more embarrassing on a daily basis. I really felt sorry.

Honestly I didn't have much in my bank account at the moment, so I told him I really wished I could help him out but I am unable to But deep down , I knew I was in a position to help him if I wanted to. I had some funds in my Bch wallet but I felt I shouldn't tamper with them at the moment since they were valuable assets that should be left alone for a long time so that they could appreciate .

That evening , after I and my cousin had parted, my heart was heavy and I couldn't sleep much the whole night. I knew I could have helped him . I tried to imagine a brother, a husband or a father in such a position and i felt an ominous chill run through me. Then I realized how insensitive I was. No doubt, if any of my loved ones were in such a jam, I would definitely not hesitate to put on the market all that I ever owned just so they could be free. I felt rather ashamed and asked the Almighty for forgiveness. After I had sold the funds, i immediately called my cousin and requested for his account details.

After the transaction had been made, I felt a tranquility I'd never felt in a long while. Even though the money was quite a substantial sum, it seemed I didn't care whether he paid back or not. As a matter of fact, my whole being was overwhelmed by the exceeding gratitude in his voice when he called back and confirmed that he had received the funds. It made me felt that I had done the most impressive thing that I would ever do in my entire life. Not that I felt powerful or Superior afterwards, I only felt glad.

This is definitely not the first time I have experienced restlessness after initially failing to oblige someone else's needs. I'm quite sure that some of my friends here also suffer from such a psychological phenomenon.

Ever since I was younger, I always tend to develop a rapid and strong emotional connection to people who are in dire conditions. Irrespective of how they found themselves in such a situation or wether it was entirely their fault they fell into such a hole , I don't usually care. I wouldn't even consider the possibility that I might be implicated or fall into thesame hole when extending an helping hand.

I'd always feel like, if I don't help him/her, chances are that no one else will. This was why I called this a psychological issue. My mental health could even get worse when I begin to imagine that the person might think that I deliberately refused to offer an assistance.

In the nearest future,wether or not the table gets turned and I find myself at the other end, i wouldn't bother much if thesame individual failed to assist me as much as I have assisted them in their own time. No doubt, I would definitely feel hurt and cheated, but trust me, such feelings are only ephemeral and don't last long.

In no time i would ever use that situation as a justification to ignore the person or cut them off, just like how some people would do. Neither would i ever refer to such past disappointment or use it as a yardstick anytime I am about to render a similar assistance to others.

Demonstrating such kindness to others is a major path that leads me to abundant peace of mind and satisfaction. We should always be ourselves and always follow our hearts no matter what. So long as we are sure that we are doing the right thing and wouldn't hurt anyone.

******************************

Thanks alot for staying with me 🙏

8
$ 1.32
$ 1.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
+ 6
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

You have such a beautiful heart. Your generosity, kindness, and care for those in need is admirable. I may not know your cousin but, I can imagine how he must've felt during those overwhelming times. Thank you for helping him out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I imagined that also.. Thanks alot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure miss. 💐🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you have done is wonderful and it's the right thing to do, congratulations on your kind heart and generosity. When we help others, we feel satisfaction without expecting anything in return

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true dear. We should always be kind when possible. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God bless you more B for your kindness :) I heard you when you said you felt restless and then eventually helped him afterwards. I hope your cousin will use it responsibly :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I pray so too.. I already did my best for him

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are great B :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, if its for a family, and I have much BCH, well no doubt, family that is very close and act like a family o, but another individual, maybe the person should help me increase the current price of BCH to $50,000, then I will see what I can do... I'm glad your Cous didn't feel entitled, I don't like the entitle ones

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. Wether family or not, help when you feel you can 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok mummy.. I will

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. See this boy 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a humble soul. God bless you dear frend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Get d bless you too friend. You are highly welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a noble soul you have. Glad to know that dear. Proud of you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks alot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a big heart and you are really kind. Then later on by yourself you will realize if you did it right or not. Life always teaches us lessons.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly ma'am... So long as we are sure about what we are about to do is right, then no matter the outcome, we'd still be unruffled

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Bilqees, you are a very kind girl, who gave the money from your efforts to your cousin. Like you are less common these days. You are right, peace and happiness after doing such good deeds are worth a world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly ma'am. There's nothing that should be more important to us than our peace of mind... And we should always strive to maintain it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can very much relate to this. But don't beat yourself up about it, it is simply because you have a kind heart this is happening

$ 0.03
2 years ago