Overcoming procrastinating

36 62
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Laziness can be described as a state of mind or a feeling characterised by a lack of motivation to do what a person ought to do at that particular point in time. The most annoying thing about laziness is that is doesn't spring from a lack of knowledge to do what a person has to do, it is rather a lack of motivation. So how do we overcome that feeling of lack of motivation that comes?

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

Personally, I device ways to help me become more sensitive when I feel like I am deviating. Whenever procrastination begins to rear its ugly head into my affairs, I take a step back to analyse the situation and figure out the root cause of the feeling so that I can act accordingly. If it's hunger, I make sure I get something to it at that exact time. If it's overfeeding which is, in many situations the case, I do a couple of jumping jacks if not for anything but to renew my motivation and maybe allow me to get some of the excess food down. Sometimes too much work results in tiredness which is also a cause of procrastination. I take a break when this seems to be the case.

Here I am talking about procrastination when I made a title about laziness, why? It's because they are almost the same thing. Laziness is the by product of prolonged procrastination just like how success comes from hard work. When we don't pay heed to the amount of time we spend procrastinating and take adequate measures to help curb that habit, it would come as a shock to us when we find out that we are down the abyss of laziness and when we get there, it would take a much greater effort to come out.

One thing I do to reduce my level of procrastination as I am still struggling is to make out time to procrastinate, yes I do that and I'd recommend that to any one struggling with procrastination because it has helped me. When you're fond of procrastination, it can be very difficult to stop even with all the motivation you think you have inside you. The thing is the human body needs time to adapt to new situations and you can't just change things in an instant or else you won't keep up or stand a chance of burning out too soon. If you're the type who procrastinates for up to six hours a day, start by cutting it down by a half. Why not do three hours instead? Of course those three hours could be spent doing something important but it is okay to start small. Use the first three hours to do something productive like reading a book that's if there's nothing you have doing at that time and use the remaining three hours to do whatever you do when you procrastinate. Try your possible best to make sure you don't exceed three hours else you would mess up the whole cycle.

As time goes on, you will on your own make a decision to cut down on the time you spend procrastinating to do other productive stuff. If the first three hours are spent on something beneficial to you you would come to love it more. People like things from which they benefit. You can read a storybook for two hours, engage in some other productive stuff for three hours and then use one hour to procrastinate. This is perfectly okay as this would no longer be considered as procrastination but resting.. Which is infact important.

It is worth noting that what we eat also makes us feel lazy. Imagine having a heavy meal that sits at the very core of your soul early in the morning or in the afternoon. That's not so good. The most common happening after a person eats a heavy meal is falling asleep, which you don't wanna do if there's really something important you want to achieve.

Let's all cut down on our excesses and focus solely on the grind!

See you at work!

25
$ 3.46
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.06 from @Ellawrites
+ 20
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

When we postpone works we are suppose to do at the moment to the future, they are going to accumulate. And any time wasted at the moment will be requested later. In all, procrastination isn't good, thanks for these tips on how we can overcome it. Nagode!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome. Barka dai 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ease is a threat to work. We sometimes feel we have all the time in the world when we should be focusing on "NOW" while trying to minimize the distractions. Those who waste an hour in the morning would spend the whole day searching for that one hour. A stitch in time saves nine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you sir.. Time is the most important thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, my dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

its really so much educative post . I just love every post my dear friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

U r welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Few years back, I enjoyed the company of procastination as a neighbour. Lol🀣 Procastination is kinda hard to control because it sweets the body. It's just like when you've eaten a well red oiled beans, even your spirit to cooperate with laziness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😁😁.. and later your eyes will clear πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad that you are staying on top and not making procrastination win. You are doing a great job in disciplining your own self with that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ma'am, if we have discipline, we can literally do or achieve everything πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting article, we must learn to handle our time efficiently, since time is the most valuable treasure we have. The time that leaves does not return.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This was indeed really educative, I'm one who has taken procrastination an hobby and just as you said Bil, procrastination always arrives due to excess laziness and that's exactly what I do feel anytime I procrastinate. Thanks for this, I'll definitely try this out...this will surely be of great help. "Reducing and slashing the number of times I procrastinate in a day, by half" really enlightening.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure Ella, we just have to be disciplined enough.. achieving even the little tasks we set for ourselves gives us a kind of confidence.... Welcome back Ella, hope you are well 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sighs... discipline is truly a very great trait, thanks once again for this Bil...

Thanks dearest Bil, yes dear, I'm wellπŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think majority of people got a wake up call when they procastrinate but very few act on it to find the solution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true and when we eventually get into our senses, we Begin to beat ourselves up

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously, I sleep once I finish eating, no matter how large or little the quantity is. I still donΒ΄t know the reason behind it. Though, I might find time to research it. This definitely makes me lazy and keep procrastinating. But do you know what I do now? Since I arrived in my village, once I feel like procrastinating and I have a lot to do, I will just get up and go sit at my usual spot, under the cashew tree and it works for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I have an answer for you. Infact that's my field πŸ˜†.... After we finish eating, blood is drawn away from the Brain towards the stomach in order to facilitate the digestion process since the stomach is more active now, that why we always feel tired after taking a heavy meal because dopamine and other neurotransmitters from the brain have now been chanelled to the stomach. That's why students are advised to eat lightly or light food before studying. And also try eating more of proteins or add a good portion of protein to the meal or fruits when you plan on working or reading for hours cos carbohydrates triggers and draws more blood from the Brain as glucose requires more energy for its digestion. If you feel hungry again while reading for sometime, you could add another moderate portion of food or tea while resting... Drinking alot of water too also helps you maintain focus

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow! This is well explanatory enough and I think I should adjust what I eat. More protein, more water, less carbohydrates. Thank you for this reply. Perhaps you can make it as an article so others would learn too. πŸ™πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good idea 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, πŸ˜… talk to me directly, cause I like eating heavy food well well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. You better stop fa. Even if you wan eat heavy good, eat more of proteins or fruits if you plan to do something. It doesn't weaken the brain as much as carbs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Overcoming procrastination and laziness is really a hard work. But all you have mentioned is very useful to prevent it. I think most of the time it is because of our lack of motivation. Most of the time the reason that we feel lazy, is because of our hunger, or tiredness, or having a heavy meal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Heavy meal is the major culprit. Glucose requires alot of energy for its digestion, hence draws more blood from the brain

$ 0.00
1 year ago

procrastinating often leads to an increase in stress and anxiety, as well as the likelihood of making important errors when rushing toward completion of a project. In worst case scenarios, putting things off until the last minute or hours can cause you to miss an important deadline.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true friend. It's because you are now working under pressure, so you could make unnecessary mistakes. When we do what we have to do at the right time, it gives us more confidence

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes, I say that procrastination is a sin. It wouldn't let you do what you're supposed to do in time. I used to procrastinate before but there's one time it affected me badly and since then, I didn't procrastinate anymore. I'm happy that you're able to control the urge of procrastination.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am happy for you too friend. One just have to be disciplined enough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Procrastination has really done me more harm than good. It makes you think there's more time to cover up a large bulk of work whereas there's literally no time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true chief. It is after you had hit rock bottom that your eyes will clear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was such a helpful article for a person like me who wastes hours procrastinating. Thankyou bilqees for sharing those tips of yours, I will try to follow them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome raheela πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh this procrastination, i remember when it was my exam I was delaying the preparation just thinking that I've good time to do preparation but what was next i just scored the passing marks. Now I'm working on it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

O believe you would do much better next time Bibi πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago