Her fourth husband also died

14 43
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

I'm very sorry if today's article might sound very silly or unbelievable especially to my non Afrikan friends . But honestly, this isn't based on speculation, I have read it in a book and I have heard it happening in real life. I even know someone or two who this thing has happened two.

Few years ago, when I was still in in junior high school, I read a literature titled "The Concubine" written by an an ace African author, Kelechi Amadi.

The main character of the novel was a very attractive young woman called Ihuoma whose husband, Maduka had died recently albiet mysteriously. Shortly after her husband's death, another man, Ekwueme became interested in her and asked for her hands in marriage.

Meanwhile, an old sage had revealed to Ekwueme's father that Ihuoma was cursed. She was never meant to get married throughout her life. Any man who disobeys the gods by going ahead to bed Ihuoma would die before his first child is born. But Ekwueme was already stubbornly in love with Ihuoma.

Ekwueme had said to his father ,

" Papa, There's nothing I wouldn't do to become Ihuoma's husband, even if it is for just one night".

I still remember the last sentence of the novel till today.

"This spirit of death was known to take the souls of men shortly after midnight, and that was when Ekwueme died". ... The end

Who wouldn't love Ihuoma? She was not only extremely gorgeous, she was also very kind, humble and intelligent. But sadly,men could only admiire her from afar.

Recently, my old aunty, a retired nurse who always tells me educative stories told me about one of her patient who had married four times and non of her husbands lived up to two years after marriage. I immediately remembered and told my aunty about the book i read and I was shocked when she told me that it's not mere fiction.

Such women are also found in real life and she knows three of such women very well. No need to mention that they are very attractive too.

According to my aunty, it is forbidden for relatives and visitors to have s*x around the premises where the burial arrangements of the dead is being made. Any child concieved from such intercourse would be cursed by the spirits and any man whose manliness touches her thigh, later in life would meet his doom.

Hence they are popularly refered to as "red thigh women" in the African culture.

In a rural setting, it is quite easy to spot such ladies since the history of all the families in a village are well known. Hence people are warned to stay away from them.

But in Urban spreads where different people from different background who know very little about the next each other interact everyday, the chances of meeting and falling for someone (man/woman ) with an extraordinary problem is a bit higher.

That's why in my parts of the world, alot of folks do some thorough spiritual investigation into the life of prospective partner(s) before getting married, in order to avert some unfortunate and unforseen circumstances.

Generally speaking, it is safer if one could shun promiscuity because one might end up inviting tragedy for himself/herself all for the sake of a few minutes gratification.

Something mysterious might begin to happen soon, it starts with little problems before compounding into costly damages.

11
$ 1.07
$ 0.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 8
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

There are many things happening that we cannot explain by ourselves but since they happen, we might as well just try our best to not invite them to ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Generally speaking, it is safer if one could shun promiscuity because one might end up inviting tragedy for himself/herself all for the sake of a few minutes gratification.

You're not only bringing shame upon yourself but to your family and relatives and to the coming generations.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A mysterious event. I really pity some women in that category who have been caused not to get married for life, making every man who comes across them die. I believe there will always be a solution to such things except they have made up their mind not to allow them to marry.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's an important point you raised there, princess. I rest feel for them too. I mean it's not as of they brought the curse upon themselves. It was as a result of the mistakes of those before them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess I'm safe being married. I don't have to worry about that. I feel sorry for innocent women. Other than cursing the unborn anything done by the spirits to the two that break the rule?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are absolutely safe Bob and you would always be 🤣😁

T think such women are callef "femme fatale" in English.

I feel sorry for them too. Suffering from the sins of those before them is quite unfair.

Actually, I think there could be a solution but it's very rare. I have heard stories about men who would go through some form of spiritual rites in order to reverse the curse so that they be able to safely marry the woman they love.

But in most cases, the curse is hardly rebuked and someone could still loss his life.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I read an article online about "Buayahon" mentioned by Maria below. Just Google that term and there is quite a bit on it. I think I read an account from someone on steemit. There solution was having the affected go to a spiritual healer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here in the Philippines are also familiar with that kind of curse it is called "Buayahon" in our dialect but it can be cured if you do a "kudlit" and then it will be gone. That person with that curse can have a normal life and a husband

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow, I never knew it happen outside my continent too. It's quite terrible that an innocent woman would have to pass through all those bad omen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, if not the husband will die maybe the baby inside the womb of a woman will disappear.we also have that kind of superstitious beliefs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

might sound very silly or unbelievable especially to my non Afrikan friends

Omo, even me as a Nigerian find it hard to believe, I actually haven't heard something like this before but as a very logical person, I don't usually believe in these things (probably because I haven't witnessed it before)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Things are happening o. Things that are inexplicable, I tell you. Even me I thought it was just mere stories but I know better now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na wa! I really don't believe these things though as they are a little far fetched sometimes but when it Involves matters of life abs death, it's wise to take heed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear, in this treacherous world, it's wise for one to remain conservative o.

$ 0.00
1 year ago