Annoying and frustrating Christmas guests!

29 49
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Hello my dears... How y'all doing. Christmas is still very much in the air. Yesterday was a very stressful day for me and I didn't enjoy my the Christmas celebration as I had planned. Guests continued to arrive at our home to see my dad and I had to be on standby to serve them. My father had lived in that street for a long time, so he was well known to all.

Some of the guests were very choosy. They would decline a particular meal that i served to them, so I would be instructed by dad to go back to the kitchen and start preparing the preferred meal of the said guest. There was this guest that refused to take any drink amongst all the drinks we had. He complained that they all had high sugar content. So, dad gave me some money to go get the specific drink he considered good for his system. I had to walk through three streets before I could find the brand of drink that the guest wanted. By this time, i was alredy tired and my feet were dusty,so I had to board a bike for my return journey.

When I had served this guest his drink. He yelled at me that the drink was so cold, and he was not supposed to take such cold drinks at his age and in such a weather. He asked me to get him water instead. My dad apologized to him and also scolded me. Dad said I should have asked him initially wether he wanted a cold drink or a drink at room temperature. The Two men immediately ignored me and continued to discuss in our local dialect as I stormed into the to get the glass of water, with a frown on my face.

I was so busy in the kitchen preparing various meals since all the meals we had prepared a day before Christmas was almost finished. My duty also included shuttling between the kitchen and sitting room, laying the meals down for the guests and also returning to take the used dishes back to the kitchen every ten minutes. I soon considered this to-and- fro movement as a Christmas day exercise for me specially created for me.

Every now and then, when another guest arrives, dad would yell from the sitting room: "Bilkisu, bring more meat." "Bilkisu, bring more drinks", bilkisu bring water for washing hand ". I would immediately leave whatever it is I was were doing in the kitchen and ran out to attend to them.

One guest asked me to go out and get him toothpick which he would use to pick his teeth after he finished with the chicken. Another guest who just finished a meal of egusi soup asked me to bring my powder for him which he would apply over his hands so that they wouldn't smell. I was so furious I felt like giving each a smack on them ugly faces, but dad ordered me to go get what they needed without delay.

By 2pm, two of my friends arrived at my house. They couldn't come in as the whole sitting room were already filled with my father's guest who were eating, drinking and arguing about politics. I had to quickly go out to meet them. I presented some meat,drinks and snacks to them as I apologized for the inconveniences. They reminded me of the Christmas party we planned to attend. But I told them I couldn't go, I was unfortunately tied down to my father's guests. I was very sad about this but there was nothing I could do about it. I took my phone and called some other friends that might be expecting me and I canceled all my appointments for the day.

Different guests with bigger problems continued to arrive at our abode. Whenever a particular set of guests had depart, dad would asked me to clean their dining area while waiting for the arrival of more guests. No need to mention that some of the guests ate recklessly and I found it disgusting clearing the area.

One of the women who came to pay homage to my dad dumped her kid on me as soon as she had arrived. She claimed that she had received a distress call and that her attention was urgently needed. Dad again told me told me to take proper care of the kid in his mother's absence. But as soon as his mom left, the little boy began to wail. I found it difficult trying to console him as I was already busy with the meals and the guest. The child continued to wail frantically, I was so frustrated and exasperated that I scream at him. I threatened him that if he doesn't stop crying at this moment, I would break his head with the ladle in my hand!

My scream interrupted the discussions of the men in the sitting room. My father asked me what was the problem and I told him that the boy wouldn't stop crying. He ordered me to sing for him and I angrily replied that I won't, as I had alot works in my hands already. " I can't kill myself because we had guests", I screamed within me. My dad thought for a moment and then told me to hand over the child to him. As soon as the child was in my father's arms, he miraculously stopped crying . The other guests were amazed by this and they started clapping and hailing my dad. One of the guests mentioned to the others that my dad had always known how to handle women and children . I took a brief glance at dad and I saw that he was grinning from ear to ear. He was actually feeling like "Alexander the great, Conqueror of the World" as his guests continue to praise him, referring to him as a "man of the people". I silently hissed at all of them before returning to the kitchen to wash the dishes.

Later in the evening, when most of our guests had left and dad was sure that no one else would be coming. I hurriedly dressed up so I could go out and see wether I would still be able to catch some fun. That was the time dad decided to go out on a visit too, but he quickly realised that his Christmas wear waswnt ironed. So I had to spend another twenty minutes pressing his big agbada.(a traditional attire for men in my country). After I finished, he put it on and left the house. I couldn't go out again because I was so angry and tired. I went to bed early instead.

I n conclusion, I planned to enjoy and have a memorable Christmas celebration. Unfortunately, I was turned into an errand girl, a waiter, a baby-sitter and a drycleaner on Christmas!

This morning, Dad told me we would be expecting more guests, so I had to go to the market again to buy more yams, meat and drinks.

@Kushyzee @Kiingsley @Theblackdoll @Princessbusayo @Olasquare @Talecharm @Ling01 @Jijisaur @FarmGirl @Bloghound @bmjc98 @jasglaybam @Maryjacy @Garrethgrey and all my subscribers and sponsors too numerous to mention but always upvoting my articles and my comments . You all should come forward with your plates so that I would serve you some pounded yam. None of my father's guests who I had been serving since yesterday gave me any money 😞😞😞

THANK YOU!!!

10
$ 4.41
$ 3.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Maryjacy
$ 0.10 from @Ling01
+ 11
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

Stoppeeeeet! I just glanced through my year 2021 and I found out that I hadn't tasted pounded yam once for this year because I've been away from home. I wish those foods are sharable from there 😢.

Talking about you and kitchen, seems you are the first girl or probably the only girl. You are the engine room of the house. Super power 💪. Back then at home, I've had encounters numerous guests of my father, mine is not the kitchen but always on the track road to purchase cigarettes 🤦🤣. But not now na, if I go home them to loyal🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

U never tasted pounded yam since the beginning of the year? Sorry oo. Chai, how we go do nau😢.. I'm not o. The others escape before I woke up. The other two girls realized how the house would be on that day and they quickly went to spend Christmas with an aunty. I was the only one left and sadly I couldn't go anywhere again as I couldn't leave baba alone in the house. Although I resemble my father and I am closer to him than the rest. ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With all this I have read, I guess you are either the First born , last born or the only daughter. Those three categories of children run errands for their parents in seasons like this. Well every disappointment is a blessing, God knows why he stopped you from attending the party, its for your favour although it's annoying

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's really bad, I don't like how they act, so annoying. It's good that you was able to end it without doing anything that can make them feel bad. Gusshh if this happened to me, I will tell my dad not to invite them again. Btw, thank you for inviting us!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much ling☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Were you the only one doing everything? Where are the others? Omo! those guests are something else. I won´t even answer them again if the workload is too much on me. Why would guest be choosy and picky in another man´s house? So funny sha

Thank you for calling me to come and eat pounded yam. I also ate it last night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mom nd the other siblings traveled somewhere else. I never knew o , if not o wouldn't have agreed to come back home. I for just jejely remain at where I was 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry about that dear.. It makes me realize that having a broken family saved me from that kind of scenario lol. The guests should be thankful that you are taking care of them not complaining and you became a babysitter lol. I would love a pounded yam please with that white soft yummy bread.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mom and the other two traveled to celebrate with some relatives. I never knew, else I would have remained at school as I was aware it would be very difficult to cope with the guests... Anyway, someone just have to be at home to be with and support dad. Tanks so much for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why didn't you tell me, so I could have been one of your guest too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, the day be really tiresome . What! I won't give a damn to live the house

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haa.. My father will jus tell me no to come back again😂. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Emi lazy faa, make them kuku kill me haha 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na too jus relocate b dat o.. Dads don't tolerate laziness o 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, where do you live btw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Northern part of the country

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Which state precisely? I'm from north central but I have been several Northern state in Nigeria

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kano

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I think kana will be next in my next adventure, had been I can choose the state for my nysc come February 2022 I will select Kano for my service.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kano is peaceful☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe, you just make me laugh so hard, that how it always look like in my own house too, sometimes i will just feel like going out from house ...but not possible.

Well despite the annoying guest that you have, I can see that you enjoyed your Christmas , I'm coming over to bring my plate...

Through our the Christmas period I've been so busy with Christmas preparations, I could not even come online, but now I'm free, waiting new year stress again....lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mother and the siblings traveled. I really had a very hard time coping with them all. Oya throw your plate over the gate before unwanted guests come finish everything again..... Thank you soo much for the generous tip sis!☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of those guests can be really annoying, but luckily we didn't meet those annoying type in my house yesterday. There was one that came late in the evening at around 6pm, immediately after we finished the entire rice in the pot thinking nobody will visit again, baba just turn up 😂 my mom quickly had to prepare semovita for him coz he was a very close friend of my dad, that God there was soup.

I am almost at your gate sha to collect my share of that pounded yam 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mother really tried by preparing food again for only him . I would just buy biscuits and mineral for him. I can't come and kill myself😂..... The guests have finished the pounded yam again. Na chin-chin remain now. I can't come and pound another yam again, I go just collapse 😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 biscuits and mineral for elderly man? Haba, fear God na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seemed like you had quite the Christmas day. I understand how frustrating it can be to serve people everything and how cranky one can get when you hear your be every 5 mins, one errand to another, before you are doing doing one thing, you are being called to come do another thing. Seems you can pound yam well. Give me your address let me visit you and help you pound... Sorry eat the pounded yam 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You wouldn't be able to come o. I live in the northern part 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? . I have never been to the North though, would like to visit there some time

$ 0.00
2 years ago