A brief driving lesson

30 40
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Some years ago, when I was in my final class in high school, there was this girl who was my senior and had already graduated the previous year. I think we were about thesame age but she was slimmer and shorter .

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

Months after she had graduated, she was already driving her younger siblings to school in her daddy's car. I found this very fascinating since she wouldn't be more than nineteen years. Also because it was more common to see a boy driving his siblings to school than to see a girl.

Two years after I left secondary school, I met this same lady at a wedding event. She was actually the one who drove all her friends to the ceremony. Once again, I was impressed. I have seen hundreds of ladies driving in a car, but I never thought much about it since they were all older than I am. But this particular girl was just about my age or even younger. So, I felt challenged. If she could handle a car, I think I can too.

At that time, There was this commercial driver of about 25 years old that was very friendly with my family. At first, when I told him that I was interested in learning how to drive, he thought I was just fooling. But I kept bugging him for about a month till he finally obliged. Although he was always busy and only returns home at about nine or ten in the evening. But I forced him to make time for me during the weekend, at around four or five in the evening and he reluctantly agreed.

On the appointed day, he made sure he explained all the vehicle parts used in driving . I was told it was important to understand their functions before I could handle a car. Ofcourse the theoretical details were very easy to grasp and I quickly memorised everything.

" A car( manual) had three controls; the throttle and the brakes . Throttle was used for acceleration while the brakes are applied to gradually bring the car to a halt."

I was also told about the number gears and their applications,which I masterd very well too. And ofcourse, the steering wheel, that's quite easy,I thought. I already knew the function of that one before I was told.

When we were done with the theory classes and I assumed the driver seat. I felt my heart give a little flip as soon as my instructor started the car engine. I almost totally forgot all I had initially memorised. Even the steering that I thought was the easiest to maneuver felt quite heavy in my hands and I was so scared to turn it either sides. I imagined that it might fall out of its position if I held it very tight. But my instructor kept encouraging me to stay calm and keep my eyes on the road. We spent almost two hours plying a football field at a very steady pace before closing for the day.

We also had a practice the next day which was on a Sunday and my instructor continued to encourage me,he also mentioned that I was doing well. I was getting more familiar with the use of throttle and the brakes. Although, it took me longer time to stamp on the brakes after my instructor had shouted severally even when I had already been advised to always maintain my feet on the brakes while driving. Thank God I never stepped on the throttle instead of a brake. I was told stories of learners who made such mistakes and ended up colliding with a fence or a tree , thereby wrecking the vehicle. Maybe he shouldn't have told me, such stories really made me lost courage. It also seemed as if the more an instructor screams at one who's learning, the more nervous and scared one becomes.

We had four more lessons and I felt I had improved alot. On our fifth tour, while coming out from the field, my instructor mentioned that we would try out one of the less busy roads the next day, since I was already doing pretty well on the field

Fear and trepidation immediately seized me as I wasn't expecting to hear that any time soon. My instructor assured me I would be alright since he would be there to guide me. But all that didn't make me feel better. From the driver's seat, I kept staring at the other cars as if they were monsters. Watching them drive at a much higher speed made me lose my nerves and I thought I was hallucinating. For a moment, I couldn't remember my right side from my left anymore.

I was definitely not ready to toy with my life. Infact, the scenes of fast moving cars from the highway made me forget all I have been taught and I immediately became disinterested in learning how to drive. I told my instructor that I was still a teenager, I still have alot of time to learn how to drive. Lol

And that's how I quit driving 😁

*******************************

Thanks fir reading πŸ™πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

15
$ 3.40
$ 2.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Aimure
+ 16
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

You were are the peak and you quitted, that's not fine at all. I'm yet to learn how to drive but when I learnt about motorcycle, I was determined to finish to the end ply busy roads. One of the things that boosted my encouragement was almost all my set then we're flying with bikes while I was them and feel intimidated πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok, it seems very good to me to accept when to withdraw intelligently before things get worse, it will, but you will do it when the time is right, that time will come by itself

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks much friend. That's what I thought. I believe that time is near. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ but for real, I'm sure you'd have been a proficient driver by now if you didn't quit. You got me cracked up while reading your article. Lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Bilquees, you should give driving another trial.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I definitely will dear 😁.. since I was much younger at that time, I thought I still had time. Now I am getting old and still not learnt how to use a car πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 see this girl o, you just quit after a few trials? You were admiring your friend that drives, you didn't know it will be quite difficult to get the hang of it. From my opinion, you were doing well and the only thing you need to conquer is your fear of the road and other drivers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still regret not going on with it. I thought there would still be enough time to try it once again. Many years he passed now and ... πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did not expect that your driving session will end like thisπŸ˜… I'm scared of almost anything specially driving a car so I would rather prefer to enjoy the ride than driving my own. I'm glad that you did not made any accident that time. I think as you were pretty good at driving so you should give a try again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure dear, I just taught about it yesterday, it's high time I have another shot if given the opportunity

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww don't quit, sistah!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I would definitely try again later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol Nice experience with learning to drive, I think what you need is a girl to teach you to drive, even though I'm a reckless driver I'm good lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yayyy..I knew you would definitely know how to drive and I don't believe you are reckless..pls help a sistah !πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uh-huh. That was quite unexpected. Driving isn't that hard, perhaps that's because I too quit haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha... Doc, we all will get to learn one day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when my father teach how to drive, at first it makes me clumsy the way I move to a certain direction I feel like the wheels are ahead.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There's always a first time. We'd definitely becom better someday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh B, why oh why did you quit? LOL! But it must be fun to try it again now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly dear. I'd definitely give another shot soon. I am wiser and beaver now 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool! Glad to hear that :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww just when we were getting to the fun part, you left haha. It's okay if you don't feel confident and ready don't do it. As it not only involves your life but others also.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm. Thanks for your wise words. Yes, I wasn't confident that time as I was still a kid. I'd give it a try very soon and I know I will be ok

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also wanted to drive a car but the problem is we don't have a car lol! I tried to practice biking but I still don't know how until now .My son knows how to bike unlike meπŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol. We learn things in different ways. But I am very sure that there is alot of things you could do excellently 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well, that is progress, relatively, and good thing you didn't crash or swerve off the road

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. I thank God for that o. If given another opportunity, I wouldn't hesitate to give my best shot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Surely, it will come. Just be patient eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ole, I learn how to drive by only looking at the driver, I love sitting at the front sit, I was watching everything, also I think ladies driving look more pretty in the steering sit.. Hope you can drive now

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very soon I will start again, since I did quite well the last time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure you should

$ 0.00
2 years ago