Suya: morning, afternoon or night?

18 44
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago

If there hadn't been women, we'd still be squatting in a cave eating raw meat because we made civilization in order to impress out girlfriends.

Orson Welles.

Suya?

You've probably heard of the word right?

Tasted it?

Felt it softness grinded by your teeth?

Licked your lips to cleanse off the particles when trying to have it eaten?

Are you sure you haven't seen it?

It might mean something different in your language.

Let me tell you what it is and we'd know if you'd heard or tasted it.

According to an English dictionary, Suya is a marinated spicy kebab from Nigeria.

Kebab is a pieces of meat,fish or vegetables roasted in a skewer.

In this case we are talking about the meat part which is spiced, well garnished and placed on a skewer. Which is then served with some fruits to go.

Suya is mostly made at night but going out now,you'd see it out in the morning and afternoon.

What brought up this topic?

Well, my humble self and colleagues were out talking about food which I kinda brought up because I love food 😍😍.

During our discussion, suya brought up it presence (can you believe it😯) so we had it discussed on.

There was a lot of arguments claiming suya is mostly preferably to be made at night and eaten at night which some countered.

I in my humble self sat at a corner and watched the drama unfold😁.

The former claimed that suya been made are night completes the ingredient and should be stopped during the day as it is tasteless.

The latter countered the statement that suya can be made at anytime and would still taste the same no matter what.

The argument went on and on and I enjoyed every bit of it.

I got a call and I had to leave work sadly and painfully but I know I'd hear the full gist today after innocently bringing up the conversation again.

Questions.

What do you think?

Are there truly foods which must be made consumed at a specific time of the day?

What do you call suya in your native language?

What other food do you think should be prepared at a particular time?

Who do you agree with?

The former?

Or the latter?

I'd like to know your views on this topic, please take your time to comment and I'd gladly have them replied.

I appreciate all who took time to view , had my articles read ,commented and had it tipped 😍😍.. I huge hug to you all.

Thanks for the usual tips, comments and love.

Thanks to my readers, friends, families and sponsors of read.cash. I appreciate you all once more.

To my sponsors again I thank you all for having faith in my work and for your continuous support. It means a lot.

Yeah! I posted it though but I can't help writing it again.

Well no drama here...πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Read.cash just updated me that I had 1001 views on my article. So a very big thanks to you all once more.

You made this journey possible as I didn't do it alone.

Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash

Writer: Balikis

Date: 5 April 2022.

Below are some articles of mine that might interest you.

https://read.cash/@Balikis/public-proposals-yay-or-nay-ced499bc

https://read.cash/@Balikis/tame-the-hate-3caf8a42

7
$ 0.17
$ 0.05 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.03 from @Big-E
+ 3
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago

Comments

I don't know if you do listen to Slimcase, a Nigerian Musician. Where he says any Aboki that sells suya in the morning or afternoon is ready to eat it himself. The best time to eat suya is in the evening, especially when you take it with cassava flour, cold water, and milk then you will understand that garri is not for poor men😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although suya can be eaten at anytime it just feels proper to eat it In the evening.

Suya is a local food to us here that totally completes the Nigerian night life. I guess that's why it's best served at night, everyone just want to relax at home with a piece of spiced roasted meat in their mouth after a long day's work.

According to an English dictionary, Suya is a marinated spicy kebab from Nigeria.

Seems the dictionary doesn't know much about our food. Suya is not at all marinated, perhaps that's a step I'm yet to see. And I believe kehbab Is more cooked or baked than roasted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this information, I appreciate your comment here. Suya does indeed completes the Nigerian night life. Well dictionary isn't supposed to know much, I'll try to make more researches next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything looks delicious! I think suya is barbeque, not sure but sounds like it. But, I like it well done not half cook....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It in the form of barbeque.. and it is delicious and it is always well done... Thanks for this interesting reply sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't try suya but as I can see it and have my sense seems like a yummy one and so soft to eat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG sis, you need to . It is so delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

congratulation for your new achievement in this sector. All foods look so delicious and yammy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you friend, I appreciate the kind gesture. Yeah I do agree it all looks delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on your new achievement, to me, there is not time suya can't be made, either day time or night time, just get it to me in its hot state and I will consume it.. In fact.... Anytime anyday... I will eat what my stomach can take

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your congratulatory words dear.. I believe you are also a foodie person. But you do know darkness adds to it taste right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah.. I don't think so

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ermm.... It does.. it really doesπŸ˜’

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me ooh, suya is preferably made and eaten at night, it's just more sweeter when eaten at that particular time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I see you follow the former... I believe so to but some prefer it at anytime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will say only one thing- Darkness is the main ingredient for Suya without which the purpose of eating it is completely defeated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Darkness truly is? Have you tried it during the day?.. I do agree though. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago