How Do You Remember Your Grandparents?

19 35
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

"Grandparents love their grandchildren more than their children."

Image from Unsplash

Every time that there is a discussion about grandchildren, I often hear people say it. They said it's because grandparents tend to remember their children when they were kids when they see their grandchildren. It is said that they missed those days and wanted to relive the life they have when their children were still kids by giving more attention to their grandchildren who resemble their children so much. Some people said that some of the grandparents wanted to fill in the shortcomings they have for their children back then. As to make up for the past, they divert most of their care towards their grandchildren.

Do you have a good relationship with your grandparents? How close you are to them? How are they treating you? If you are not near them now, how do you remember them?

As of Sunday, September 12, 2021, we are celebrating "Grandparents' Day" here in the Philippines.

Hey, wait there! Have checked on them already? Did you greet them? If you didn't know this, you must hurry and greet them now. But if you're reading this late, don't worry about it because every day can be a Grandparents' Day if we want to.

Just like anyone of us here, I'm also one of you who have a very close relationship with my grandparents. In fact, I see them as my second parents because I spend more time with them than my parents. My grandmother on my maternal side passed away before my Mom got married and I'm not that close with my grandmother on my paternal side. We never see our grandfather on my paternal side since he is living in Davao since my father is still a kid and already had separated from my grandmother. The one that I'm is closest to is my grandfather on my maternal side.

Though he has remarried before my parents got married and are living in another city, he always still finds time to visit us and checked upon us. When we were kids, every time that we have a semestral or summer break, he would fetch us and took us to his home in another city. We would spend our vacation days there.

What he is like to us?

Image from Unsplash

Loving and caring. Another reason why he always visits us is that my parents often fight. He wants to make sure that our situation there is fine. He would bring us fruits, toys, new clothes, and sometimes he would leave us some pocket money before he would leave us. When our parents are away when we were kids and he is the only one with us, as manly as he is, he would still sing to us a lullaby or his favorite song until we fell asleep.

A Joker. Not like other grandparents who would tell you bedtime stories before you fall asleep at night, my grandfather would tell us jokes instead. Every night when he is having a vacation at home, we would be cramping in his room, all of us siblings, just to listen to his jokes. Sometimes we would just fall asleep without knowing it, and we are all hugging him. Imagine how suffocating that is to him. But since he loves us, he bears with it and never complains.

A History Geek. Have you ever heard your grandparents say, "Back then this is a... In the year of XXXX, this is just a". He loves telling us the history of some things around us. Such as the history of the haciendas in our place, what our place is like when he is young, and some events when he is young.

A good conversation driver. He literally talks about anything with us, that's why we are more open to him than our parents. He would talk about politics, religion, school, friends, businesses, home works, or even our love life. He doesn't mind any topics at all. He still listens to us and responds to us logically. 


Well, every one of us has grandparents, right? Every one of us has different experiences with them. But not every one of us here also has gotten the same treatment as me from our grandparents. Whatever it may be, let's still be thankful to them for giving us parents that let us be born in this world and enjoy its wonders.

Let's celebrate a Happy Grandparents' Day!

I tend to discuss more stories about my grandfather but I'm sleepy now, so I'll with this. How about you? How do you remember your grandparents? Feel free to share it in the comments or an article.


I have to get up early for work tomorrow, so I can't stay up late tonight. I'll continue reading your articles tomorrow. I hope y'all had a great Sunday as this day was about to end.

Just remember to be safe, be healthy, be happy, and stay beautiful.

Well then,

Good night.

Lead image and closing image, both edited in Canva.

11
$ 5.38
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 4
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

My grandparents on father side already died I never meet them to my mother side naman si lola lang ako nakita ko once lang din kami nagkasama when I was 5 years old si . Second vacation namin ay wala na si lola.Nag kwekwento na lang sina mama at papa tungkol sa aking lolo at lola sometimes iniisip ko ano kaya na kasama ang grandsparent lagi kasing sinasabi na mapagmahal ang mga grandparents sa kanilang apo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga din naririnig ko pero di talaga lahat ng grandparents mapagmahal sa apo, yung iba namimili lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaaa, I literally have no idea that yesterday was Grandparents Day. I haven't met my grandparents at my dad's side. I grew up with my lolo and lola at my mum's side.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am super closed with my grandma and yesterday we spent it chitchatting with each other. We only talked via phone because I am still far away from her but even if we don't see each other today, we still update each other about our life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great. I'm never closed to my grandmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Both of my grandparents on mom's sode already died. I have few memories with lol as she was with us on elementary days. But she is ulyanin na, and she was always lying on a bed.

Lola on fater's sode naman is in the province in Visayas. I only saw her when dad was hospitalized and she traveled to assist in taking care of papa, only for two days, I think. Lol in papa''s side have been separated from their family ever since papa's young.

Happy grandparents' day pa din! Kahit late. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, sakin yung lolo ko lang ka close ko. Di kasi maganda ugali ng lola ko sa father's side. Di man lang kami pinapansin kapag binibisita siya namin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka naman, nag uulyanin na din? or may mga dinaramdam na sakit.. At least naman may lolo pa kayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Namatay na yun last year. May favoritism talaga siya. Mas mahal niya yung mga apo niya sa pangalawang asawa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ganun naman pala. Di nya siguro gusto yung unang asawa. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo hahah. Iniwan kasi siya dati.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love my Lola so much since she's the only one that is alive when I was little. She will give everything to me even she doesn't have it. She will make way.

My kids are lucky with their grandparents. Well-loved and treat as a star. They are the best! Happy grandparents day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A happy grandparents day to our grandparents! I wish they can live longer to witness our success someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is great you have a good relationship like that. Treat them as good as you can :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, we should. They are old after all. We should treat them well as long as they lived.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all happy grandparents day, and I am happy to see your love for grandparents. My grandparents from paternal side were dead before my birth but my grandparents from maternal side are still with me and I can't explain my love for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just take care of them wholeheartedly, and they will know that you love them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love my grandma. Yesterday I meet her and my day was so good. Unfortunately today I can't meet her but I'm trying to visit tomorrow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take good care of your grandmother well. I hope you can manage to visit her soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago