Adjust Your Lifestyle According To Your Budget

29 43
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Do you know people who always have debts without any emergency reasons? Do you know people who always ask you to lend them money because they got short on paying their orders? Do you know people who don't have money but still try to pretend like a rich kid? Do you know people who often like to eat at any restaurant but can't pay their electric bills?

Maybe, you have known a kind of them. They are very common now and one of them might be close to you. You will just see them always posting pictures of their new bags, dresses, shoes, accessories, or even where and what they ate outside. They look so cool like they are not that stressed from their debt. They didn't care if they have a debt anywhere just to acquire what they desire. Maybe, you can guess what I have been meaning to say and where did this thought would be coming from. Just from my title, "Adjust Your Lifestyle According To Your Budget", I guess that's too easy to understand. Still, let me share some mini-stories related to this from someone I know.


The first one is a friend of mine since high school. She also has a kid right now, but unlike me, she has a husband who works as a call center agent to provide for them. Every payday, she would bring her family to the mall to eat and shop. Well, it's their money and there is nothing wrong if they spend it. But the thing is, she doesn't know how to allocate the money according to their needs and wants. If there's something she likes, she buys.

One time, she messaged me saying that she wants to borrow money from me so she can purchase a shirt for her son online. I asked her why is she borrowing from me since her husband's income is, maybe, twice or thrice of my monthly income here. She said that they got short on a budget because she bought something for them and she paid the bills. Since it's just a small amount, I still gave her and I just consider it as a gift to her son because I know that she can't pay me back anymore even though she told me that she can pay.

According to Chinkee Tan, if you lend money to someone just give them what you can afford to lose, and so I did. After a few months, I was right. She didn't pay me back. Then, she messaged me again saying she wants to borrow money because her money to pay their bills isn't enough. I asked her why again. She just told me that they went out a lot and wasn't aware that they already spent the one that is intended for the bills.

Since I don't really have extra cash on me, I didn't give her any and just told her that I already sent a monthly allowance for my daughter. I don't know where did she borrow money the next day, but our conversation goes on. I told her to learn how to allocate properly her husband's income and prioritize their needs over wants. She just laughs at me but her husband is shouting that he agreed with me in the background. Well, I did my part as her friend and give her a piece of advice. It's up to her if she listens or not. So far, she didn't ask me to borrow money anymore.

Another one that is like her also is my cousin, who also has a child and husband. She left her child in her father's care to work in another city, just near to her husband's workplace. They are both earning but she still messaged me to borrow money sometimes and this even happened twice. The first one is when she is just getting started in her work. I lend her some because I understand that she didn't really have money at that time. After all, her father got hospitalized.

I empathized with her at first but when our conversation goes on, she slipped and said that the store wherein she ordered a dress for herself is asking her to pay already. And yeah, she never pays me until now. Then just this morning, she bugged me again. I don't care whatever her reasons are, I instantly refused. I just told her that I need my money for my flight, so it wouldn't hurt that much.

What's wrong if you don't have a new dress from time to time? What's wrong if you just eat with your family at home? What's wrong if you can't shop because you don't have a lot of extra cash with you?

I also shop and buy things for myself and my family but not every month to the point that I will sacrifice the budget for the things that I prioritized. It's okay to reward ourselves but only of course if you have that money to buy a reward. Are you gonna fall sick if you can't spend all your money every payday?

It's all just have to do with self-discipline. For the third time from the title, I will say this. Adjust your lifestyle according to your budget. No matter how small or big your wage every month, still prioritized your needs over that wants. Allocate some amount to your savings first, any amount will do, as long as you save it. Next is for the food, have a budget just for that. It is much better if you have vegetables or spices that are planted in your backyard. You can save a lot with that. Then, allocate some amount to your bills like electricity bills, water bills, internet, mobile loads, or whatever, and also for your groceries. The remaining cash would be for your wants. If the remains are less, then better luck next time. Just don't touch the allocated budget for the things that you needed most.

Isn't that so simple? I can't understand why they still got short of cash with them. The three of us have a child to raise, unlike them, I don't have a husband with me, but they still can't spend their money properly and got short on cash every time. I know it hurts to see something that you want to buy but you can't since you don't have enough money with you. That's life, though. You can't get everything you want. If you really want it, then save up for it. Don't borrow money and give them hope that you can pay.


Haaaiiyaaa!

Every time Uncle Roger disagrees with the cooking procedures, he says haiyaa! I also want to tell them that, but I chose not to. They're going to snap back at me if I did. Well, that's a little bit of rant above there, but I hope you learned something.

Thanks for reading!

  • Images edited from Canva

  • You can also find me at;

Twitter|Instagram|Telegram|Torum|Noise.cash

13
$ 10.28
$ 9.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
+ 10
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

Medyo napapadalas din panonood ko sa mga video ni Chinkee Tan this past few weeks. So far marami akong natutunan, and balak kong bumili ng books nya. Napanood ko yung vlog nya about kay Vice Ganda, kung pano hinandle ni Vice yung finances nya. Nakaka inspire kaya medyo inandjust ko ulit yung fund management ko nitong nakaraang araw to sort out things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din sana bumili books niya eh. Pinag-iipunan ko pa. Mahirapa talaga kapag di ka marunong mag-handle ng finances mo. Ayaw na ayaw ko talaga sa utang eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've read one book of Chinkee Tan and I like how practical and sound were his advice. Indeed we have to live according to our means and not based it on what we see from others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung iba kasi nahilig pumorma na akala ko mo naman mayaman, yun pala wala naman laman ang bulsa, dami pa utang. Ako kasi bahala na kahit asin na lang iulam ko basta wag lang akong mangutang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The reality of these days, is rich people don't show they were rich and poor people just wanted to be exposed they are rich, yan ang nangyayari when we just let the society impressed. Nagkaka utang na just to sustained their vice and worse galit pa kung sisingilin na haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga. Hutek na yan. Kala mo sinong mayaman eh. Mukha lang pala, wala naman pera. Parang ikaw pa masama kapag naningil ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa panahon ngayon, impportante talaga ang budgeting. Naranasan ko yung inaantay ko sahod ko para may pagastos ako kasi na mismanage ko pera ko hehe. Now, I put my money kung san pwede pa lumago hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganiya na ganiyan din ako dati, pero nung naranasan ko magka emergency, dun lang ako natuto mag-ipon at magbudget.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa naman akong kaibigan na ganito, at teka wala pala akong kaibigan ahahaha. Anyways, wala din akong kakilala na ganito but if ever di rin ako magpapahiram. Wala naman ako trabaho ee ahahaha. Pero bat nga may ganyang tao ano. Mas inuuna ang wants kesa sa needs tas pag na short kala mo ay sobrang lala na ng problema na kung tutuusin sila naman ang nagdala ng problema na un sa kanila 🙄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung mga walang control sa sarili ba, tapos magpopost sa FB na sobrang stress na sila sa babayarin. Magpapaawa para mag magpahiram. Hay naku, buti na lang kahit maliit lang sweldo kobsa regular job ko, wala akong utang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate that when people ask for money and they are unable to pay it back. There are two types of borrowers. One who never has enough money and that is the reason they can't pay it back. The other type has money, but there is a larger amount unexpected payment so they can pay it back over time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the one who borrowed from is the one who never has enough money. I just hate it when they would give false hopes that they can pay even though they can't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I should say, "Budgeting is the key talaga." And, that's really a life changer and saver as well. Tested and proved ko na s'ya since high school pa lang me. Since Home Economics ako before, talagang ginamay ko na mag-budget kasi kapag hindi? Mapapagastos kami nang bongga everything na magluluto or bake kami. And also, mulat ako na dapat di nagsasayang ng pera sa mga unimportant things or mga di naman kailangan. And mas naging fan pa ako ni "budgeting" since I started earning, it's a must yun eh. Ayokong matulad sa mga Tito and Tita ko na baon sa utang kasi halos inuuna ang wants kaysa sa needs. 💫

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama yan. Dati palagastos din ako pero simula nung nagka anak na ako, dun ko na nalaman ang hirapa ng buhay kaya higpit sinturon talaga, mapagkasya lang. Okay din naman kinalabasa, nakapag-save pa ako at may naipundar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you can afford to lose that's what you should lend out. I think that's the best quote I have read today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. You can't really expect people to pay you, that's why just give what you can afford. I

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree must know your wants to your needs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've always known to live within my means

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good, then. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The one who is poor from financial condition and are rich from heart can enjoy every lifestyle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, but you still have to allocate what you have and don't spend it in one go.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah obvio.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang nahook akonsa title nito ate. So far di naman ako nauwi sa puntong nautanh dahil lang sa gusto ko bumili ng mga bagay bagay. Mas importante talaga yung nakakapag save at nakakapag allocate ng mga funds for emergency and stuff.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti naman at nakailag ka. 😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung may pang mcdo pero walang pambayad ng Kuryente. haha Naalala ko sila talaga dito eh. Gala ng gala mga anak nung nagpapagawa sakin nung Module ng mga anak niya hello? Yung anak niya nag aaral pero bakit ako yung sasagot sa module ng kapatid nya? Wengya

Yung mga ganyan na klase ng Tao ayaw na ayaw ko talaga pahiraman. 🙃 Lalo na kung pansariling gastusin din lang naman nila igagastos 😌 Buti sana kung para sa emergencies, gamot ganon pwede pa. Imagine, may mga asawa naman pala. Bakit dimo sila iinvite dito mare ng magka pera din pang shopee mga nanghihiram sayo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iniinvite ko nga eh. Ayaw naman kasi hindi daw mahilig magsulat, mahilig lang ata mangutang. Hahaha.

Wag mo na sagutan yarn. Buti sana kung binabayaran ka nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I definitely think that this should be taught more so that many people will not fall trap to having a lot of material wants but no money for needs. It is sad when people have to borrow money every time just because they could not budget well.

Good on you for not allowing anyone to take advantage of you! I admire the boundaries you set and how you gave an advice to your friend, hopefully she listened to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if she listened, or she was just embarrassed. But I hope that she will learn from it. It's for the good of her family after all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago