My insecurities are getting worst

16 18
Avatar for Athaliah
2 years ago

Hey there! Read.cash friends, we were facing another week and I have this strong feeling that It will be full of surprises and challenges. Earlier this morning I was struck down by a pile of laundry which made my entire body feel so numb and worn out. I totally regretted not being able to do the laundry last week and this was the result of my procrastination.

Anyways complaining wont change anything and I guess it serves me well since I'm a lazy brat. So much for that, I've been feeling so down this past few days and there is something that keeps on bothering me up until now. It took me almost a week to determine the source of this indescribable feeling. And just a while ago, I came across with our huge and wide mirror placed in our living room I decided to stare my own reflection and paused for a moment.

Image from unsplash.com

As I continually gazed upon the mirror it gave me a hint to all of my questions and then a lot of realizations suddenly pop out through my mind. I became to conscious of my outward appearance and compare it to my younger years by checking out our family photo album.

Back then...

I pay no care on how to look pretty and pleasant in the eyes of others. When I was in elementary I look so filthy and ugly. Why do I say so? Because I was once a victim of bullying due to how I look. Our neighbors seems to rudely tease me for not being beautiful as my mom. At a young age I was fed up of such mean words from the people around me yet it doesn't bother me at all and as time goes on I'm getting used to it. When I reached my teenage years I still don't have any idea about fashion and wearing girly stuff. And that was the most painful moment of my life because the criticisms that I received from others are getting worse and that is also the time when I finally have a younger sister. I feel so much pain and I don't have anyone to burst out all the emotions that was hidden in the deepest part of my heart. My sister was way more pretty and she inherited all the good things that I obviously lack. Our relatives often compare us and I just responded their words with a fake smile. I don't hold a grudge against them because I also agreed that my sister's beauty is on another level unlike me and I appreciate that.

However, a lot has changed and the pain from getting compared was stucked in my mind and heart. My aunt (My mom's niece) lived with us for almost 3 months to find some job nearby us. At first, she looks so friendly and nice but weeks passed by since her stay, her attitude became gradually transparent. She mocks on me several times and teased me rudely while telling me that I am adopted because I don't have the slightest bit of beauty inherited from my mom. She was ten years older than me that is why I just don't let it get to me and cry secretly after that. I tried to open up with that matter with my mom but I am afraid that my aunt would get mad and mock at me even more worst.

I hate to admit that my confidence and self-esteem went down and I am getting envious with my sister. I still received a lot of words of comparison from my acquaintances and even my friends that we don't look similar at all despite of being sisters, and she looks more of a woman unlike me. I am just a lowly and cheap lady without any sense of fashion. Well, I accepted that either.

Closing thoughts;

Nevertheless, when I reached this age now all of those words are no longer had an effect on me because I realize that I may have lacked the things that my sister have, I must focus on my own assets instead, as well as appreciating and loving my self even more. Lastly, we are born perfectly imperfect and looking down or bullying others because of how they look won't make us beautiful. Embrace your flaws, ika nga❣️.

You are all beautiful just the way you are.

There you have it, thanks for dropping by!

Have a great day ahead.

Sponsors of Athaliah
empty
empty
empty
Thank you dear sponsors!
Check them out!

Sayonara!❣️

Lead image are from unsplash.com

9
$ 2.76
$ 2.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Winx1988
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 4
Avatar for Athaliah
2 years ago

Comments

Insecurities kill the beauty we have, so dawat² nalang jud ta ani

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga we should embrace ourselves. Each one of us has flaws and imperfections. We are not perfect. We are unique. God made us beautiful. All of us are the same to the eye of God. The true beauty seen not in physical appearance but what's inside from us. The precious heart we have.

Langga who says you're not pretty? It's not true. When I saw you here. You're so pretty. You look like a Korean. I love your eyes. Whatever they say don't mind them Langga. You're pretty for me Langga.🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen ate ganda we are beautiful in the eyes of God but as long as we are living in this world the beauty standard perceived by the human being will always be there. Hays but the only solution to that is to neglect and love our self even more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't mind them Langga. They couldn't help you. Just neglect them. Focus only to the things that makes you happy and enjoy. People will always like that langga. There are a lot of people who are judgemental everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you said it right dear:

we are born perfectly imperfect and looking down or bullying others because of how they look won't make us beautiful. Embrace your flaws,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for acknowledging it mamsh, I truly appreciate it.❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all are beautiful but in different ways. Many of us can't see beauty in everything that's their problem not yours so don't recall those incidents. Bullying is very common among us, most of us has experienced it at least once in a life so forget about those and live your life happily without making any comparisons or regretting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the overwhelming concern sis🥺, life is hard and unfair but let's keep on living while fighting with those criticisms 😌.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't deny that our life is not unfair because it us but worrying or overthinking we can't change this fact from our mind, so it is best to ignore those narrow minded people and their judgmental opinions. When you stand up for yourself the rest of the world will definitely bow down for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pakielam nga pala nya sayo? Gusto mo backup? Kung ganyan makasama ko sa bahay lalayas yan ng disoras

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko talaga makeri yung ugali ng tita ko sis uys! Haha harap harapan talaga akong sinabihan ng mga masasakit na salita pero buti nlng umalis agad haha di rin kasi nagustuhan ni mama ang ugali nya kaya pinauwi😂. Thanks sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this,me too have been told by my relatives that I looked haggard already,that I should not worked too much,but I'm trying my best.Maybe beauty really changes ,as my age also is growing and having a physical condition,but we can still manage to make ourselves better ,just be yourself,people just give opinion,but we shouldn't let it get into our hearts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis your absolutely right, most especially when we are focusing on our own priorities as we age ,we somehow forget to take care of our self. Thanks sis❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Self acceptance jud dapat ang una para others will embrace us and no matter what they say if kabalo ta sa atong worth dili ta maging affected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gyud kay kung perme nlng sgeg absorb sa mga sakit na pulong mapilde gyud maong laban lang jud.❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ana jud abi palag weak hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago