What is a shared wallet?

18 85

Lead image: designed using canva.

What is a shared {multisig} wallet.

Many of us might have come across the word (multisig), which simply refers to shared wallet. We never go beyond using our basic wallet to find out the features and uses of a shared wallet.

Without much ado, let me explain briefly what a shared wallet is.

A shared wallet is a wallet in which it connected multiple keys to a wallet.

Making use of a shared wallet might look technical and most people count it unnecessary, but in most cases it's a lifesaver from the real world.

It's a lifesaver from emergency cases or untimely demise, the future is unpredictable, unforeseeable to no one. We can't predict what would happen in the next minute, so that's why having a shared wallet is a good thing to have.

Having a shared wallet where your loved ones can have access to your funds is a good thing in times of emergency cases and untimely demise, we have lost millions of crypto due to people not making proper plans for the worst scenario to take place.

Your loved ones can access a shared wallet whenever we are not available or no longer here, it's would be of great help to your loved ones so it won't be lost forever.

How can you setup a shared wallet?.

We can easily create shared wallets using desktop and mobile wallets app. I'll be focusing on how to create a shared wallet on Bitcoin.com wallet.

-Download the Bitcoin.com wallet

-Sign up and open an account with them.

-Tap on +ADD/IMPORT

Image source: Bitcoin.com wallet.
  • Lastly, select add a new shared wallet.

Image source: Bitcoin.com wallet.

-After tapping on add a new shared wallet,you can select the type of asset (Bitcoin cash).

-You can decide the number of approvals and participants.

-Next you need to add the name of the wallet (e.g. My family shared wallet, Amazing-grace shared wallet and so on)

Note.you can't change the name of the wallet after you've created it, so be sure to fix a name you want.

-Next, you need to enter your name. It would be visible to the participants in your shared wallet.

-Next you tap continue.

Now unto the next step, which is how to share a shared wallet.

After you've successfully created the shared wallet, they would ask you to invite participants which works in two ways.

You can either ask them to scan the shared wallet's QR code.

OR

Tap the SHARE button and send the link to them.

Now unto the last step, which is how to join a shared wallet.

-It's easy to join a shared wallet with these two steps,

Scan the QR, which is provided by the creator of the wallet.

-Tap the shared wallet link which is sent to you.

I would ask you to enter a name. This would be the name which is visible to other wallet participants, lastly tap join and that's all.

If you need further explanations and illustrations on how to go about a shared wallet,you can visit this link to know more.

Closing thought.

This article was meant to be published yesterday but I was on a trip to a state,so permit me for not being online, I'll do the needful to get things working back.

Sponsors of Amazing-grace
empty
empty

Be sure to check out my sponsors,they are the best I have ever had❤️.

Thanks for renewing your sponsorship @Olasquare it means alot to me.

Thanks for reading and have a wonderful day ahead.

21
$ 4.19
$ 3.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.10 from @Potbelly
+ 13
Sponsors of Amazing-grace
empty
empty

Comments

I generally don't understand articles on crypto wallets. Your article clearly explained the utility of shared wallets. Does bitcoin-dot-com permit p2p payments?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can make use of the exchanges on the app that supports p2p which would be a great choice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have had an unverified account on bitcoin-dot-com for some years. I will verify and start using it. Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! From the looks of things, this would really be helpful. It means me and whosoever am sharing my wallet with, would use the same seed phrase right? So incase I forget my seed phrase, I could just get it from them. I guess this shared wallet is just like shared bank account.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think its kinda like a watch wallet or am I wrong?? Though I haven't tried it before but I have done something in this form in my trust wallet... Anyways its nice of knowing this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing this. Though I should have like to use the share wallet but who should I share with? I’m the only one doing such as my brothers thoughts using crypto currency’s is fraud.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can still use it to keep your funds safe with two devices it's not necessarily it should be shared to your loved ones but for emergency situations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a good one, definitely learnt one or two things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't shared mine with my partner coz he is a spender🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although I know the use of shared wallet, but I don't have someone to be shared with. Only me who use the bitcoin cash here in our home. Quite sad. But it's very helpful to others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can share it with your loved ones and lecture them on how to use it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like yo share wallet with some people, but they aren't using the app, do they have to have that same app for it to be possible

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes,they need to have the same wallet with them if you choose Bitcoin.com wallet you participant need to have the same wallet installed on their device.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, thanks for the answer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This can be very helpful, especially when you lost your own wallet you can easily access it from another phone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes,it is very helpful to everyone so as not to lost their funds .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is interesting but I haven't heard about this wallet, and so i was curious with the security of this wallet. Maybe I will do more research and get the answer for my curiosity, Anyway dear thank you for sharing this information to us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can do more research on it to know more about the shared wallet,it would be helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago