The Road Less Traveled

31 50
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Today, I have decided to take a road less traveled by writing about things I don't like even though other people do them (knowingly or unknowingly). We all have our likes and dislikes as well as our individual personalities and habits, No one is perfect. We must understand that and learn to live with it and accept each individual as they are. Even with all my shortcomings, imperfections and bad habits, I have always found some things weird or inappropriate when other people do them.

Perhaps, other people find it weird or inappropriate when I do certain things I may find normal or is my habit too. What can I say, I believe one thing the university has taught me is how to co-exist with people from different backgrounds. In this, my patience and tolerance level has increased quite significantly, as I have been exposed to different people with different habits and personalities.

Some time ago, I saw a post on Instagram and I remembered it today as I was watching a movie on TV earlier. So, for fun purpose and perhaps, an opportunity to know me better, I have made a list of common things people do that doesn't seem appropriate or that I am not used to:

Soap Lather on The Bathroom Wall

For as long as I can remember, I have always found seeing lather on the bathroom wall or anywhere in the bathroom irking. Anytime I go into a bathroom and see soap lather on the floor or on the wall, I usually just wash it off before I start bathing. when I am done bathing I wash off any lather I set my eyes on, as I usually make the conscious effort of looking around the bathroom before I go out. Lather has a way of staining the wall when it dries up. So, cleaning it off is better, don't you agree? Hahaha. Cleaning it off too can make your bathroom look clean for long too.

Using Toothpaste

I absolutely have no problem with using toothpaste, as I use one every day. What I do find strange is people not pressing it from the bottom. Growing up, there is the impression that those who press toothpaste from the bottom are probably poor and want to use every paste they can squeeze out. But, I can't imagine pressing toothpaste from the middle or close to the opening of the tube and seeing it go in two different directions. I guess now that there is a toothpaste dispenser, it doesn't matter right?

Taking Things From Crates

It is usually weird when I want to carry eggs and see that someone else didn't follow the order with which the eggs have been arranged. I usually follow the other when taking eggs or drinks from a crate and if I meet that the order has been disrupted, I arrange the eggs back. Hahaha. Not just eggs though, I like to follow patterns in which things are arranged taking them one after the other. Someone once said that I am showing symptoms of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) what can I say.

Leaving The Volume on Even Number

I must admit that I find this very weird. Whenever I need to increase or reduce the volume of anything, as long as I can see the number, I always leave it in even numbers. I am just uncomfortable leaving it on an odd number and I really don't know why.

Sleeping With Light

My eyes are very sensitive to light, so I tend to squint a lot when I am out and it is bright. It is probably why I like the room dark and the brightness of my phone is almost always at the minimum. I find it hard to sleep whenever the light is on, even if there was no power and the bulb switch was on, if the power comes back on, I will wake up because of the light. It is also one of the reasons I find it hard to nap during the day. So, when I came to the university to see that my roommate was my opposite there was a problem. He always sleeps with the light on, and even if there was no power, he turns on the lamp or his phone torch. Oh well, Over time, I have learnt to adapt to sleeping with low light compared to complete darkness.

Conclusion

Adaptability is one of our characteristics as humans and we eventually become tolerant of others too. As I said, no one is perfect and we all have our differences, likes and preference. It is this variation that is key in our evolution as humans and also what makes us unique in our own way.

Perhaps this can become a new prompt, as I'd like to know what it is that ticks you off but it is normal to some others or they have issues with it. Not sure if I should mention anyone, but feel free to participate if you feel it is worth writing about or you want to let us know.

Thank You For Reading πŸ–€πŸ–€

21
$ 3.51
$ 2.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
+ 19
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

The toothpaste, yes! I hate to see it all scrunchy or pressed in the middle. I just think it's so much neater if you just start from the bottom. The soap lather on bathroom walls, yes! I also don't like when toilet paper is put in wrong, it should hang over, not under. Also, lemme see, I don't like walking with outdoor shoes inside. Who knows what you stepped on outside? But listen, @Aimure, I am super OCD so I won't even venture any further into this rabbit hole, hahahahaha. I loved this post! Have a great day.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha. Oh Trifecta, I think you're indeed super OCD lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, all these things are the same for me o except for the even number volume, I don't even bother checking that one and just leave it wherever I feel is loud enough

$ 0.02
1 year ago

And you like it loud too, too loud.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Leaving volume on even number, omg, I literally do the same, otherwise my mind will kill me lol.. I laughed at few points of this post sis lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Finally! Someone who does the same too. People been saying they find it odd. Glad some of them made you laugh hhahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First thing first, I hate seeing soap lather on the wall too in the bathroom and I make sure to wash it off immediately I take my bath.

I think I am guilty of pressing toothpaste from the middle 🀣🀣🀣 I should change from now on.

Is there anything bad in not leaving the volume of TV at an even number? This is quite strange to me though.

Sleeping with light or not, I am good with both. It depends on my mood if I should turn on the light or leave it dark except if there isn't light.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Of course there is nothing weird with leaving it on any number, I just leave it on even numbers and fee odd if I leave it on odd numbers, long as I am the one reducing or increasing the volume

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I so much hate seeing soap lather on the wall. I do exactly what you do, i wash it off before taking my bath and i'm always careful not to splash it on the wall when bathing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LMAO. We are alike in that hahaha. Even if it foes splash, I will rinse it off before leaving the bathroom.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Another interesting prompt! And you do sound like an OCD but perhaps you want order and things being organized hehe. That's what I say when someone points out I'm OC

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I do like orderliness and things being organized. really jump for it. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good. I can't control my mouth when things are disorganized, lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't control my discomfort. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Leaving volumes in even numbers...guy that one weird die..laugh wan kill meπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. What can I say, I am weird innit?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I reserve my comment..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hate sleeping with light too and not following the order at which something is been picked can be so Annoying

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha. Good to know I am not alone on that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Up until now, I still sleep with the lights on.. I am still scared of "ojuju" after all these years 😞

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LMAO. Ojuju will not come and carry you, don't worry

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We usually have this doing that other people don't find normal hehe. If I were to list them one by one, I have a long list of them hehe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. Suppose listing some will make a good article, what do you think?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While I was reading I have felt that you have OCD but I think it's fine, we all have differences, besides it won't hurt anyone. However I also do love arranging the stuff accordingly, I like a clean and well arrange surroundings as it brings peace to me and less distractions. When it comes to the toothpaste I also press it in the bottom.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. I have done several online tests and it says I only have the symptoms and it is fine. When everything is in order and clean, there is this peace and pleasure it gives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aaah, Aimure, the only thing I also don't like is leaving the volume in an odd number, and also yeah, I love taking and arranging anything in crates in sequential order.

like for real... I press toothpaste from anywhere presable... Lol, this would be a great prompt. Lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. That is how my sisters are too. Press from anywhere. Look forward to reading your version if there will be one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also like pressing toothpaste from the bottom, i don't why, but i just like to do that. Bro, you see that not sleeping with light aspect, we are on the different pages as touching that, because i love sleeping with light. 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. How do you have that super power to sleep with light on. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The volume and items on crates sounds OCD symptoms indeed but we all have our ways of doing things and that's fine. I agree with the toothpaste thing though for I squeeze it from the bottom.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. Well, I read having the symptoms is okay too, so I have nothing to worry about.

$ 0.00
1 year ago