Sweet Temptation And The Struggle of Balance

21 37
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Hola gente guapa, I trust you have had a productive week? If, not, there are still one more day to go before the weeks ends. If you still can't this week, you have next week to be as productive as you can. That reminds me, I have always believed the week starts on a Sunday. But some other people feel the week starts from Monday, thus, why Sunday is considered part of the weekend.

I'd like to know which day you think begins the week. Feel free to leave a comment on that.

I have said in one or two of my previous articles that I am at home because the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) are on strike in my country, a supposed warning strike that they have been extending every time the warning period ends. This would have been the year I completed my 5-year degree programme, but thanks to their incessant strike and the pandemic, it looks like I will be a graduate by next year (hopefully).

I want to use this opportunity to thank my benevolent sponsors for their support, I very much appreciate the effort and can't thank you all enough for the faith you've shown in me.

Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty

Anyway, I have been at home for two weeks now and the problem with this is the constant torture of resisting food. By food, I mean anything that you can it, be it junk or a proper meal. This struggle is compounded by the fact that I have no phone of my own to keep me busy doing other things (I am working towards rectifying that as soon as possible). I am the kind of guy who eats more when bored. Yes, when I am bored with nothing to do, I tend to eat more and never get full.

The only reason this is a struggle is because I had made a personal choice to eat healthy and maintain a healthy weight. You see, I have been blessed with the curse of gaining and losing weight easily, so it is difficult to maintain the particular weight both when I am at home and when school is in session.

I practically live two contrasting lifestyles at home and in school at home, I have to constantly resist the urge to eat, even when I do, I am careful not to over eat or eat too much fat and carbohydrate. In school on the other hand, you eat what you find, and no matter how much you eat, you never gain weight. The only thing you do is lose weight.

Of course I suppose someone is thinking why don't I just exercise more when I am at home. Truth is that I m usually lazy when at home and weirdly just prefer to rest and gain a little weight because I know I am still gonna lose them when school resumes, because I am more active in school. First of, I have to leave the house as early as (am in the morning, oftentimes, without having breakfast. I walk to and fro classes from Monday to Friday, and usually indulge in playing street football Saturday mornings. Not to mention the usual competitive football I play in in school. So, it is easy to lose which ever weight I have managed to gain while on holiday at home.

On one hand, I think it is strange for one to die from conditions which resulted from one's feeding habits. On the other hand, if one is to die, isn't it more logical to die from eating too much of every thing? I mean, eating is an important so, I can understand why one would 'overdo' it. Doing the right thing right is never easy if we are being honest.

Well, so far, I have been doing well in resisting the food temptations. I have had only about four bottles of soft drink since in the past two weeks. Trust me when I say this is progress ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ . Since no One has an idea when the ongoing strike action will end, let me see how much more my resilience can be put to test, wish me luck.

Thank You For Reading ๐Ÿ–ค๐Ÿ–ค

17
$ 2.69
$ 2.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 16
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

The week actually starts on Sunday because the week end on Saturday and a new week begins the next day.

I also eat a lot when I am bored and I still gain weight. Many have complained why I keep adding weight when as a student, I should lose weight ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ That is the way my body is.

I hope ASUU call off the strike so you can graduate soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what I think too about the week. hahaha, so you're one of those people who gain weight in school. I hope the strike ends soon too. It is like I have exhausted the student fuel in me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, the way I think of it, the real week starts on Sunday, the work week starts on Monday. Does that even make sense? lol! I can also relate all too well to the attraction of junk food when bored. Now that pandemic related restrictions are lifting in my country, I intend to spend some more time walking and exercising.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a good idea. Being more active will burn the excess calories. Yes, what you said makes sense

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, thank God for fasting oh, maybe by now weight would have doubled ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… you gain weight easily too?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes o. It's quite normal if nothing is done about it๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our New Week starts Monday :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For us christians, Sunday is a Lord's day and at the same time family day. Thus, our first day of the week is Monday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

To me and for me, the week starts on Sunday. Lol, ๐Ÿ˜‚ we are definitely alike in the aspect of eating too much when we're less busy. But, four bottles of soft drinks in the past two weeks???!! And you said it's progress. This means you should be taking more soft drinks than I do and I should definitely be taking more of biscuits than you do. (Lol, if you eat biscuits though) lol... I wish you luck on this new journey you've embarked on. Lol, do keep us updated as the clock ticks and keeps ticking.,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. Even when I eat biscuits, i prefer the less sweet ones like Coaster and kemps crackers. Some cookies once a while like Fox, Maryland...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! "Less sweet ones" now, that's so unlike me, you're by far better.

Lol, cookies... Oppression has started.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oppression ke. Who is oppressing who? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, all those cookies you mentioned. Lol ๐Ÿ˜‚ Naah, I've had none of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahn ahn. Now, that is strange๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a kind of a person who is not fond with eating, but if i do like the food you would see me eating it many times in a day ๐Ÿ˜‚. I already have gained weight but that was when I was just at my 20's as I age I struggle on gaining some weight, well I think it was because of stress ๐Ÿ˜…. Anyway I prepare Monday as my starting day for the week.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow. Women usually gain weight easily as they age, I guess you are lucky

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well the week starts on Monday for me, it varies here according to people's jobs and the school they attend, lol I do the same thing, I fight boredom by eating, but I exercise and do not suffer from weight gain

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am too lazy to do exercises, maybe some home workout for my abs and that is all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meh, I think I see Monday as the start of the week. I think it's engraved in my mind haha. And here I am, no matter how much I eat and sleep I don't gain weight, sometimes 2-3 kg but even after increasing the calories after that I still lie in the same. I think I need much more calories to gain but how, my stomach is so small lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Lucky you. If only that were my case

$ 0.00
2 years ago