Philosophy of Classifications

16 43
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: My thoughts, Random

Yesterday was a lazy day for me, and it was partly due to the fact that I didn’t have enough sleep the night before and that I had to go play football as early as 8am yesterday. Two hours later, after the exhaustion , I come to my room and had a bath. And thus began the laziness that lasted most of the day.

Thing is I was supposed to be packing up and getting ready for the second phase of our Field Practical Training which will be in a research institute in Lagos, and would last a month. My university is located in Edo state, so we have to travel down to Lagos state as early as 8am on Monday morning. And this time, the entire class is travelling together.

Unlike for some of my classmates that this will be a new experience for, as it is the first time they are travelling to the state (I hope they enjoy the experience), I am not new to Lagos, it is the state I was born and grew up in. Lagos is basically divided into two parts – The island and the mainland – and trust humans to use this geographical classification as an opportunity to stratify even the social classes into the different locations.

What I mean is: in Lagos, the division doesn’t just end with geology, but also with the various social class. The island is popular known to be where the rich people are. And of course, with this comes a high standard of living. The mainland on the other hand is for the middle and the lower classes, that is not to say that you won’t find rich people on the mainland, of course you would.

But I actually realised from reading a book that the segregation is merely a continuation of what was in the colonial era. The Brits have particularly inhabited mainly the island in Lagos, I suppose their (the Brits) time on the island must have had an effect on the area in terms of infrastructure and development and when Nigeria finally gained independence, the prominent Nigerians fancied the living in this exclusive place, and that has been mostly the case ever since. It is safe to say that practically every thing is under one form of classification or the other.

Firstly, there is the general forms of classifications which can include: living things and non living things, good and bad, among others. Further classifications led to the classification of living things by taxonomists among other things. It is an action that has been consistently done be it consciously or unconsciously.

It is our uncanny habit to create hierarchies, as seen in the workplace, in countries and even when it comes to our wants and need. I suppose the question is without these hierarchies, what would be? What would exist?

This is my attempt at trying to be philosophical with my thoughts and try to make an article of it, I had started writing this article yesterday, but dozed off before I could complete writing it. Today will be a busy day for me as I have a lot of packing to do for tomorrow’s travel, we would all agree that travelling can be tedious.

SPECIAL THANKS TO MY SUBSCRIBERS, SPONSORS, READERS AND UPVOTERS. I WANT TO THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR CONTINUOUS SUPPORT ❤️❤️🙏🏿🙏🏿

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

14
$ 3.19
$ 2.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 9
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: My thoughts, Random

Comments

Only lagosians will understand that classification. Most people be like "I live on the island" as a way of bragging.. Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really good meeting you .. I wish I could stay in lagos once again I remembered when I was there I do explore the things around there . Nice meeting you 💥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagos is a beautiful city, I have been to Lagos once, that was in. 2018, it was an excursion we had and back then, i really felt like I should not go back anymore 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe. You are always welcome to visit or stay. If you can cope with the high population. Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagos, here I come

$ 0.02
2 years ago

All the best, and have all the fun you can!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hierarchies are part of our world, there will always be the rich and the poor.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True, that is an immutable structure of the human society

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wishing you luck in the second phase of your training.... Never been to Lagos and I'm not enthusiastic about going to here someday. Don't just know why

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much Bil. Hehe. I'll try to make a post later about some exciting things or beautiful sights in Lagos and hopefully it'll help change your mind. All I ask is you keep an open mind. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will be patiently waiting... Wishing you a safe trip 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my opinion, classification is a way for our brain to order its perception of a chaotic outer world, to create order where, perhaps, no order exists. An order only existing in our mind. I wrote an article about this some time ago: https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/classification-multidisciplinary-thinking-labelling-91a7d3d3

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A blast from the past! Read it, and was quite impressed. I want to ask, where are you from? You write English so well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Well, let's say that English is not my native tongue, but I have a long experience of writing in English, also professionally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you still enjoy your travel for tomorrow, have a safe travel Anyway 😊.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much GarethGrey 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago