Our Superpower

18 41
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

One of the characteristics of living things is ADAPTABILITY. And humans have an innate ability to adapt to situations and circumstances they find themselves in. The only variable is the time taken to do that. And while some take short time, others take long time, even for all living things too.

I had said before that we are currently at our designated outstation doing the first phase of our field practical training, which started last Monday. One of the things that swam in my pool of thoughts as I prepared for it was how I was going to cope with twenty two (22) other persons in the same three bedroom apartment.

At that moment, I wasn’t thinking I will adapt neither was I thinking it won’t be a terrible experience. Why did I think so? Although, we have been classmates for years, but have never had to live in the same apartment until now – except for a few who stay in the same hostel or are roommates – we spent the most of last year doing hands-on practical in our departmental experimental farm, and these practical required a lot of team work, that is, us working together to achieve a common goal.

Many a time, the bickering and unnecessary fracas that would erupt among us became incessant and either brought us apart or closer (not sure which at the moment). All these, coupled with the fact that I love my space and relish in privacy which were what I never saw myself having all through our staying together for three weeks of the practical training. I had played out instances and scenarios that could get me agitated, irritated or cranky. And thought about how I’d react in such scenarios.

So far, many of those scenarios have not played out yet, and as it turned out, it seems I got a bit of the space I wanted, needed in fact. And I have managed to adjust my sleep schedule to suit me. I am usually up two hours earlier than my other classmates or apartment mates, any goes at the moment. The reason for this is because I have to cook what to eat, and the only time I’ll practically not get anyone traipsing in and out of the kitchen is when most people or everyone is asleep.

The moment everyone is awake, expect everywhere to be crowded at the same time. I don’t know how that happens, but it’s the fact that anywhere you go to in the apartment, there is almost always someone. And if there isn’t, they are just right behind you, coming into the room. The only place that could be classified as your fortress of solitude when you are there is the bathroom.

Though, about 5 out of the 23 people who are supposed to be living in the apartment do not stay in the apartment with the rest of us, and I suppose this has helped the other 18 of us have relatively more space to ourselves. And about 6 persons out of the current 18 flat mates have gone home for the weekend, to return Sunday evening for our second week of training. So, relatively more space for those of us still sticking around at the moment.

I must confess that I am quite impressed at how things have been going thus far, the unity and sense of togetherness is commendable, and everyone seems to have adapted to our current situation quite well. There has been no major disagreement. Perhaps it is too early to say that, or maybe we are still in the tolerance phase, where everyone can tolerate things until they get to their limit and explode. Of course good behaviour matters in the next three weeks and maybe that is why everyone is on their best behaviour.

Whatever the reason, I don’t see any major argument happening though, at least not in the manner I had envisioned, as new relationships are forming, and broken ones seem to be getting mended. It’s interesting how it seems everyone has adapted so quickly and at the same pace. Brings to mind the current pandemic ravaging the world at the moment.

Maybe we will get over it sooner or later and things we go back to as they were or maybe this is the 'new normal', and we have no choice but to adapt to it and continue with our lives. As I have adapted to my new sleep schedule, and even though it is the weekend, I still woke up 1am like I have done since Monday to write this article.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

11
$ 1.46
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 9
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Yes, we are a species that adapts easily to change. All for the good. Sometimes I also wake up too early and write my post.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, it is all for the good. Good to know I am not the only one eh? But doesn't that affect your sleep pattern?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything happens for a reason. Things affect you when you allow them to affect you. Discipline in life teaches you how to manipulate things to your advantage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely agree with what you've said. Thank you very much 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adaptation occurs in every part of our lives, any little changes that occur, adaptation follows

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think adaptation is the reason why humans and other life forms have successfully conquered every region of the earth. As you keep adapting you will definitely succeed and have greater opportunities towards success.... Wishing you luck on the next phase

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind wish Bil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you dey use the same trick as calm Sam, cooking by 2am like hoodlums 😆 I never doubted that we will be able to live together in peace and harmony, the only thing I had a problem with is that there were lots of distractions but that can't be totally avoided, considering the conditions of things as at then

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. That time is my new afternoon o. I don turn night crawler

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂 kpele night king

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of this proves to us that things do not always go the way we envision them to, its why we have to keep an open mind.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One would have thought this article is on its way to talk about Super heroes and their various sci-fi powers, but the way this has gone made me understand that even adapting to new environment is a super power. Brilliant friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe. That's the aim, so the article isn't judged by the title. Thank you for your compliment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adaptation is part of humanity and orget forms of lives. We all have to Scot to changing circumstances. At first, it might seem difficult and unbearable but with time, things would sort themselves out. Thanks.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. An that in itself is not easy to do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So it’s all about adaptation?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dear, it is, our ability to adapt is super

$ 0.00
2 years ago