If Wishes Were Horses

30 38
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

At at the time of writing this article, the exact time is 2:55am, electricity had come one not quite long and it seems to be the coffee I needed to stay awake while I write, as that was the initial plan when I slept around 11pm: wake up in the middle of the night and write. Well, it is may be the hormonal rush that comes with expecting something then it finally comes that is keeping me awake. Whatever it is, I am happy to be up.

Many a time we’ve caught our self saying if wishes were horses I am sure if they were, that we’d ride them a lot, some may never come down. Let me use this opportunity to say that I like horses. I like their agility and strength and speed too. Pardon me as I digress, it has become one of my guilty pleasures, anecdotes some might find irrelevant, yet I say them anyway, in between conversations, storytelling and sometimes writing.

Many of us have wishes, some of these wish have transformed into goals and dreams making us genies as we grant our own wishes or the the wishes of others. Yes, I said it, you’re a genie when you make a wish come true. It could be the wish of a loved one or you personal wish that you’ve set into a goal or a dream you’re working towards.

I have caught myself wishing for things I could never have, especially when reading about the past inventions or historical books. Some of these wishes you might say are somewhat strange you see, and you’ll understand why I say that as you read on. I remember when I was reading a book ‘There Was a Country’ by Chinua Achebe. The book is about the civil war in my country Nigeria which was between 1967–1970. I remember wishing I was around in that time and maybe being a soldier fighting for either side or a just a Nigerian/Biafran.

(Image Source)

This is weird because why would I want to experience a civil that was the bloodiest in the history of my country? I think it was the writers charm to paint. I remember the book had started by him painting a picture I so wi had experienced and that was before the civil war began. And as he slowly transcends into the civil war; along with its horrors, it was hard to let go of the first impression I had gotten or perhaps I was subconsciously holding on to the beauty my minds eye had seen initially.

Moving on, I had seen a series titled ‘Genius’ and the first season was about the life of Einstein, I was blown away by this genius (pardon my wordplay). So, that made me wish I had got to know him or meet him or was one of his children. Hahaha. Weird right? 😅 Can’t blame me, we’re talking about one of the greatest minds in history and it is no coincidence his brain was preserved after his death to be studied by scientists.

Also saw a documentary about Leonardo Da Vinci swept me off my feet. He was a man of science through and through. I remember hearing in the documentary that he had incorporated geometry into his painting of 'The Last Supper'. When science and art meet, you can expect nothing but perfection. How he managed to even sketch a design of an aircraft tells you he is a man way ahead of his generation. So, like Einstein, I wish I had met him in person and perhaps worked with him too.

(Image Source)

CONCLUSION

These are some of the wishes I have and the common thing about all of them is that they are all in the past. If only wishes were horses. Or maybe the invention of a time machine so I can travel to the past would make all these wish come true. Never mind me anyway, this is just one of my late night ramblings and I thought why not make an article of this. Thus, the birth of this.

Perhaps my readers can indulge me. I’d like to hear about your weird/strange wishes, so don’t forget to leave a comment. And perhaps rejoice that wishes aren’t horses.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

Special thanks appreciation to my newest sponsor @Talecharm Thank you for the sponsorship, I really appreciate it.

16
$ 2.96
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 11
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Seriously if wishes were horses i would definitely time travel

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe. Surely that's on top of my list too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice wishes you've got there bro. If wishes were horses, I won't only want to ride for eternity but will get as many harems as I can😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Many harems? 🤔🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah bruv, I'd have them in batches

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly if wishes were horses..... Wishing you had experienced the civil war, like seriously? "But Sometimes not getting what we had wished for can be an amazing stroke of luck" . Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, I know it sounds strange. And perhaps it is truly a stroke of luck that I missed that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

BY now I'd be riding a horse with wings if wishes were horses as I wish for too many things lately.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's the human condition, don't be hard on yourself 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If wishes were horses, even me will like to ride on them ooooh! I wish to do many supernatural things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. Sure, what are wishes without wishing for supernatural things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are nice wishes, although I wouldn't want to go back to the war period, my dad experienced it. I didn't know Einstein's brain was preserved lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was. I think it was even stolen at one point but ended up in the London museum or it happened the other rway around. Not sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah!!! That's mad!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps you also have something hidden in you like Da Vinci or Einstein :) You just need to discover it hehe. Each of us have wishes I think so it's normal :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe. Perhaps. Let's see what happens over time. Thank you FarmGirl 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back then, I wish to fly. I just hooked watching superhero movies when I was still a kid. And for now, three of my best wishes are for the good health of my family, world peace, and a stable job for myself. :)) The rest, well, just waiting for the right time for that to happen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Surely hope your wishes be fulfilled, so you can be happy getting all you want in life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really hope so.. Thank you so much my dear friend..😊❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's nothing to apologize. We do have ramblings every now and then. We all have wishes and desires that we want to have and we want to be and that's okay. We are free to dream :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you ARTicLEE. You are so kind 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If wishes would be horses then my wish would be the Pegasus. Much more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. Surely you can save up to rent or buy one for yourself so you can start making money while racing. Good luck with that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don't like Pegaxy? lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a lot of wishes too Aimure at the past. If I'm given a chance to go back. I will grab it and make those wishes will come true. How I wish I can go back.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truly, hopefully someone invents a time machine. Lol. It will all be all right Ramona 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm hoping too Aimure. ☺️ Thank you Aimure we need to move on and continue with our journey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"I wish I could go back"

I never spend a day in life without thinking about this line... makes me think all humans are more or less have the same thoughts lol...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If we actually look at it, most of our thoughts are about the important things in life such as happiness, love etcetera. We think about the same things, just in different ways

$ 0.00
2 years ago