What a loss!

16 61
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago

Date of publishing: 6-11-2021

Time: 10:30 pm WAT

As of yesterday night, a friend of mine was physically, mentally and emotionally down. We tried to console him but it isn't easy to get it off one's mind. It got to an extent that we were calling his name, but he wasn't hearing us. I wouldn't want to mention his name here for some reason. We had to tap him hard before he came back to his senses. He was in deep thought.

What happened to him?

He just bought a new iPhone-X last month. While coming from work yesterday, he misplaced the phone. A new phone that he hasn't used for up to a month. He works in a factory where he earns 10,000 naira per month. Imagine the number of months he used to contribute 200,000 naira to buy the iPhone. We spent most of the time yesterday consoling him.

That is not just the only problem, He recently received $500 worth of BTC (Bitcoin) which he said his Uncle sent to him. The Bitcoin went with the phone he lost.

Now, the mistake he made was not writing down his Seed/Recovery phrase. In his words, he said he took the screenshot of the recovery phrase. The only way he could have recovered the screenshot was if he backed it up on Google Drive, but he didn't.

If he had written down the Seed/ Recovery phrase, it would have been easy for him to recover his Bitcoin later. But now his iPhone is gone and his $500 worth of Bitcoin is gone.

Isn't that a Double loss? I decided to drop this because I believe someone might learn from his experience. Especially the newbies here. If he had taken heed of my warnings and had written down the Seed phrase, the Bitcoin loss would have been prevented.

I followed him back to the factory he was working to check if we could find it there. We searched the whole place we couldn't find it.

We trekked a long distance looking by the roadsides for the lost phone. On a normal day, we would have taken a taxi because the distance was too far. But because of the phone, we were looking for, we had to trek. Unfortunately, we still couldn't find it.

How to find your seed/recovery phase

I always like to start with the Bitcoin.com wallet.

If you are using the bitcoin.com wallet, it is quite easy to get your recovery phrase.

STEP 1: Once you open the app, click on settings.

STEP 2: Click on Backup and security.

STEP 3: Click on Manual backup

STEP 4: Click on the wallet you want to backup, on the page you will find twelve words, that is your seed/recovery phrase.

Procedures on how to find and backup your seed phrase on Bitcoin.com wallet

If you are using Trust wallet

STEP 1: Open the Trust wallet app

STEP 2: Click on Settings at the right bottom corner

STEP 3: Click on wallets

STEP 4: Click on the three dots beside the multi-coin wallet.

STEP 5: Click on the show recovery phrase. You'll find the twelve recovery phrases.

Procedures on how to find your recovery phrase on Trust wallet

I believe with the steps above, it will be easy for you to find the recovery phrase of any cryptocurrency wallet you are using.

Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Check out these wonderful sponsors. They are the best ❤️❤️

Less I forget, after reading @HappyBoy 's article today welcome to read cash. I decided to add more to what he wrote. And it is based on the inbuilt seed phase given to individuals by readcash. It was boldly written when you were signing up to write down your seed phrase because If you lose it, your Bitcoin Cash will be lost forever.

Read more about it from the admin's Back up your seed words

Now back to my friend's case. He is now back to his normal ways. They are currently helping him track the phone, probably the phone fell somewhere. I pray someone else hasn't taken it.

Back up your wallet today, so you won't end up losing like my friend.

Thanks for reading 🙏❤️

17
$ 3.24
$ 2.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 6
Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I can understand the feelings of your friends he had great loss feels sorry for that. I have learnt by heart my seed phrase. Although I don't have much in my wallet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feeling really sorry for your friend. It happens a lot these days. There are many things we can do, like phone protection, authentication, seed security, and so on. But we take things for grunted. Yes, we can't secure our future but we should do our best to protect our crypto/asset. BTW, I have printed out a copy of everything. Also, my phone is pass, finger, and face varified.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh I don't want to wish that to happen to anyone. It is a tragic but thanks that you open our eyes with that, and now I'm writing my seed phrase.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh boy! So sorry about the loss...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how hard we try we can't console someone fully or we can't understand what is going inside their mind,but we can try. I think he needs your support the most in this crucial time. I hope he will get something better than he lost which things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So Sorry for your friend’s loss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so painful. I know of a guy that lost his large numbers of TRX because he procastinated saving his word phrase. This is a big lesson, most of us are aware of the importance of backing up the word phrase but procastination is keeping us. Even this wallet here, it's good to be saved somewhere else cos we don't know what will happen tomorrow.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What a sad loss I can’t even imagine his pain thanks for the lesson bro I am going to go back up all my wallets now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A double loss indeed! May God replace it with something better. Thanks for the tips Abhay.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, that's really bad for your friend. Thank you for sharing it here, it will be a reminder to us to double check whether we have recorded our 'keys'

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was a double loss.. I can imagine how stressful your friend right now.. but I hope he can still get back his phone. Saving your recovery seed phrase is totally important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was painful. He should take heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for helping sir, by now I should be able to recover my forgotten seed phrase 💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please just stay around him, so that he won't but himself. Hopefully, the phone will be tracked and recovered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just hope that they help your friend track the phone that's a huge loss for him if he didn't see the phone and secret phrase,I hope he gets it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God for the life of your friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago