Experience is the best teacher

28 45
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago
16-12-2021
Thursday
9:00 pm WAT
#75

Today I made a terrible mistake, but I know it is an experience which I would make sure it doesn't repeat itself ever again. I've been selling my BTC and BCH to Fiat money, not today. And I've never had any issue with it.

Lead image source

I make use of Remitano every time I want to sell it. It is a very good and reliable app to sell and swap your cryptocurrency. I've been using Remitano for over four months but today, I felt like a novice on the app.

Normally whenever I want to deposit the Cryptocurrency, I'll choose the Cryptocurrency which I want to sell. Most times, it is either Bitcoin or BitcoinCash. And I've never made any mistake since I started using the app.

But today, I needed some cash and so I decided to sell some BCH to cash. As usual, I went to Remitano, copied the depositing address and I sent $12 to the address.

On a normal day, the BCH I sent will reflect on the Remitano wallet immediately. I waited for a while, thinking it was probably a network issue. I waited for over thirty 30 minutes, and by then I knew something was wrong somewhere.

I went to my bitcoin.com wallet and checked the transaction status and it says confirmed. Then I knew the fault isn't on the bitcoin.com wallet but on Remitano. So I took to their email and sent them a complaint

Below was the message I sent to them

Good afternoon. I tried sending some BCH which is worth $12 to remitano wallet. For over an hour now It hasn't reflected on the app. I checked the transaction status on my bitcoin.com wallet app and it says the transaction is confirmed. I need to sell the BCH as I need the money urgently. Please respond to this ASAP.

Remitano's reply

Hello Abiodun, Your deposit was not detected in the BCH network. You sent it to the wrong address, therefore your BCH is pending and hasn't been reflected yet on Remitano wallet.

It was at this moment I knew I fucked up. How would I make such a terrible mistake? Instead of copying the BCH address, I copied that of BTC. Which means I sent the BCH to a BTC address. A terrible headache attacked me immediately I saw remitano's reply to my email.

My $12 was now looking at me face to face but I couldn't withdraw it. Because it was showing under Vietnamese Dong (VND), Something I haven't even heard before in my life.

There were two reasons behind the mistake I made. One was because I was in haste. After all, it wasn't my first time, I knew every step already.

The second reason is that I deal with two similar cryptocurrencies on Remitano. I deposit both Bitcoin and BitcoinCash, so I had forgotten to change the crypto I want to deposit to BCH. I just sent it to the first depositing wallet I saw, which was that of BTC.

We all lose sometimes, that is what I know is surely inevitable. And also, every mistake is a lesson. I've had an experience today and I'm sure I would never make the same mistake again. Henceforth I'll always make sure I check the address I want to deposit in.

I hope people learn from my story because this particular mistake can be done by anyone into cryptocurrency. It's not necessarily on the Remitano app. It can be made on any crypto wallet.

Make sure you check the address you want to send to, so you won't lose your money.

There is no refund for you, once you've made the mistake your money is gone just like mine today.

Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Check out my wonderful sponsors

Thanks for reading 🙏❤️. Merry Christmas and Happy new year in advance.

17
$ 5.30
$ 5.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @sj0820
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 7
Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It sounds terrible and bad but don't worry it is just a part of your day not your whole life and I know it will definitely help you to be more careful than ever. So don't regret and be careful next time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow, I'm really sorry about your loss. I made that same mistake one time on trust wallet but they redirected it for me. Too bad remitano is not like that. Then again I saw something, you said you sent $12 but you saw 12k there. Is the 12$ 12k there

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks. Yes the $12 is equivalent to 12k VND not 12k naira

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I saw naira there that's why I asked, check second paragraph after the last pic you'll see it written there. My 12,413naira is there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a mistake $12 is roughly 6,000 naira. 😆 I made mistake I wanted to write VND

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol okay, I thought maybe you were using the all to cash out o... lemme come and join.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Situations like these can be really annoying. I'm so sorry for the loss, I know how you feel.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot. I'm grateful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot. I'm grateful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about this experience. It wasn't your fault actually, it can happen to anyone as nobody is perfect. In life , we can't be too careful no matter how much we would try something would definitely go wrong at one point or the other. I have seen similar cases

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really sad but also funny at the same time. How could you make such a mistake. Is there any way you can get your money back?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks bro. Yeah, sir Fexo said there should be a way. I checked google already but couldn't find any way out. But I'll keep checking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very painful experience. But what is it they say about experience being the best teacher. You'll be fine bro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What an experience, thanks for sharing this. I guess experience is really the best teacher.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry for this unfortunate situation you got into. Hope that next time this mistake wont repeat itself dear

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry about that dear. Trust you gonna make more than that. Be good !

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have also made the same mistake twice but ever since then, I have wised up and I do it patiently without rushing at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really sorry to hear this my friend .. no worry you go dey alright

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks bro. I be hard guy 😉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I trust you my gee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh these really bad , seriously I usually say we should be careful when handling with these BTC stuff . Let us all learn from these o. Experience is truly the best teacher ❤️ @Abhay stay calm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks officialrosh. Now I've learnt my lesson. I will always be careful with it now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a way to get that BCH back, try to Google it to know how it's done. I can't remember exactly now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright sir, I'll check now. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry about the loss. It's really painful. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We learn from our mistakes. Thank you, my dear, for alerting us and for your interest in us. Love and peace to you, my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago