What would you have done?

18 38
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

After me and my partner bought what we needed for Christmas Eve, we got out of the store and walked a bit to find a restroom. I had to wait where we will ride a taxi. My hands are full that time for I was carrying everything.

When we left the store, I put in my pocket the change of bills that I have received from the cashier. I thought I secured it my zipping my pocket or I was so sure that it was safe.

While waiting for my partner, I walked some steps.

I looked back and noticed a guy who was with his partner picked up a couple of bills. They were about five steps from me. I knew right there and then that that was mine but I didn't react and wanted to see what he would do.

The girl was laughing the whole time. They passed me and they didn't say anything.

I balanced everything I am holding in one hand to check my pocket and sure enough my change of bills were no longer there.

The amount of PHP250.00 (about USD5) can still buy a lot. That can feed 2-3 persons.

In my mind I thought I'll just be the Santa Claus for them and didn't bother going after the money. If I confront them, it would backfire to me. I'm a pacifist so I avoid confrontations and trouble as much as possible.

I'm wondering how would the both of them feel. How would they have felt using money that is not theirs? People today are so entitled they feel everything belongs to them that we have become dishonest, disrespectful and unconcerned about others.

I am not discounting the fact that that was not my money. Maybe it fell somewhere between the store and where I encountered the couple. I'm still giving them the benefit of the doubt.

But if that was mine, God bless them and hope I made their Christmas happy.

If it's true that that was mine, it just saddens me to think that this is the generation that we have raised. How much more with the next generation to come if these kids train the young ones the same way? If this is how we treat each other? We have seen a lot of viral videos about maltreatment to others. Did we really feel sorry? There is no such thing as small evil. Evil is evil no matter how small or big it is. Get that in your head. Not because you don't do what others do it does not mean you are better.

New year is upon us. May we all be better persons. Teach the younger generations the simplest things. Save them from growing to be the society that we have right now. We have become indifferent and apathetic which are killing us. Let us not be greedy. Take better care of yourself, others and the environment. You know what to do. It's just a reminder to us all.

16
$ 5.78
$ 5.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

It's the little things that matters the most. Happy New Year!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truly :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happened with me too. Around 10$ fell from my pocket, they took that away. I didn’t say anything because both were girls and they looked that they needed that. Surprisingly they returned me that after a week and said that they needed it badly at that time. I refused to take it back. Smilingly went away saying that I didn’t know them or the money.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's really kind of you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suddenly remembered the time when I picked some bills,around 3 pieces of 20 petot then I handed it to the man I am following. Kinuha nman nya ngem ksla masmasdaaw nu apay. ,Meron din palng gnun bsta kukunin ang hindi pagmamay-ari jaja.. as for what you have lost, yes isipin mo n lng na pinamigay mo and it will get back many folds

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! Baka human reflex kaya nya inabot :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, sayang naman po. Medyu guilty ako ksi may mga moments na nakakapulot ako ng tag 20 and 50 pesos pero di ko naman kasi alam ko kanino, so binibili ko nlang ng foods 😅. Pero if alam ko naman kung kanino, isinasauli ko naman.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Okay lang pag di alam kung kanino hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lng sana kung walang tao at aangkinin nila eh andyan ka pa tsk tsk.. Iba na ngayon Lee di gaya sa mga 90's na ang babait, char!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe kaya nga e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many people are just like this and love taking what does not belong to them. This is not the best and this era is not the era of taking what does not belong to you.

Just imagine that you don't have any more money with you, it means you would have become stranded trying to either beg or run to the POS or ATM.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And here I am thinking that our city is better than in other places for there are honest people out there but I was wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll call you and get it back to you, I may be in dire need but it's not my money. . There are also ungrateful people, once my son came home with a phone, the girl who was sitting next to him on the bus had left it forgotten, we waited for him to call and went to meet him to return it, but he received an insult from the girl. On another occasion we found a phone in a cab, we managed to communicate with a relative, they came to the urbanization to look for it, the surprise was that the owner of the phone had studied with my son and they had a long time without seeing each other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope that girl never lost her phone again. What an ungrateful one! Good thing about the other one though. An unexpected reunion :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of people like that in our society sir. I don't know what's in their mind why they need to do that. It's a sin of the eye of God. They knows what is good or bad. It's depend of a people sir.

Sometimes there are people also that if they saw a bills and they know who's the owner they immediately return it. They are the good ones. I hope that those people who are doing that kind of things to get money, I hope they will change.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, baka di nila nasightung na nanggaling ka sa spot na un? Pero ukaw lang ata ang utaw don why not ask sana muna ano 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May you have a better days for the next year 2022 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naranasan ko mahulugan ng 500 kuya nung nasa city ako kuya. Swerte ko kase ung nakakuha binigay dun sa tinambayan ko, nung binalikan ko para iask binalik sakin. Binigay daw nung nakakita, ang swerte ko nalang sa part na hindi niya kinuha. Pero doto sa probinsya, ung 1.8k ko na pambayad sa school di na naibalik 🙃

$ 0.00
2 years ago