"Wait for me." "Wait for me."

28 32
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Your silence is what I always remember. You and grandma would go about your day in silence most of the time, a comfortable silence. I remember sleeping in between you two when I was a kid. Early to bed and early to rise. You gave me freedom but also reminded me of things I should not do. We didn't have a lot. You don't shower me with gifts. You are not materialistic but I have always felt rich and blessed with the freedom you give me, better than any material things.

You could have reprimanded me but I can't remember. For sure, you have never raised your voice to me or spanked me. You never got angry with me. You are so patient and kind. I saw once how you got angry with my aunt, your youngest. I saw your fury and how you have spanked her. For whatever reason, I can't remember what caused it. For that I have respected you, not feared, but it made me understand the love you have for me. I am not your only grandson but whenever I spend times with you, I feel special.

What I remember most are the times you would cut my hair with blunt scissors, the only scissors sharp enough to cut hair. I have a lot of nips and permanent scars on my head due to that. Hairs would be pinned every now and then in between the scissors which would then be plucked as you continue what you are doing. The scissors would loosen and you have to tighten again and again. I was at your mercy but I bravely went through all the ordeal. I feel proud to have my hair cut by you. I wear these scars like badge of honor. Of course I was ashamed as I grew older for others would tease me for it but I have grown to love it. I consider myself lucky for having a grandfather cutting my hair.

Over the years, as I have grown old, you have become shorter physically as you are bent over by age and I have been stretched by time and age. I used to look up to you but now I have to sit down to level with you and see you eye to eye.

As you age and grew weaker, it's getting harder and harder to accept that a once strong person you are seems so frail and fragile.

You said to my sister, "wait for me!" while gripping her hand tight. You said it twice to the consternation of my sister. When asked what you meant by that, you just shook your head.

It was frustrating and traumatic to watch you online as my sister tried to revive you. We felt helpless who are watching as the events unfold. We all kept holding back our tears. Whenever I think of that time, I shiver and tears come to my eyes. I hope you have bade us goodbye peacefully without having had to suffer in your sleep.

No more pain. No more suffering. Thank you, lolo, for the memories. I already miss you.

16
$ 7.33
$ 6.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.05 from @jasglaybam
+ 9
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Our condolences kabsat...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat, kabsat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My heartfelt condolences friend. You must be passing through a tough time I believe. Do pray for his abode journey. May his soul rest in peace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful words, they are the best memories left. My condolences.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry for your loss po. I can totally relate, I wasn't physically with my mom when she passed away just saw it via video call. Losing someone we dearly loved will forever leave a scar in our hearts and souls. I pray for you and your family's strength.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My heart goes to you as well. It really is heartbreaking to witness it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh oh i am tearing up.. hugs to you sir.. condolences to you and the entire family.. it's a sad time but indeed no more pain and suffering...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks, Jean. Teary eyed ulit ako kasi naremind nanaman ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

virtual hug sir to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grandparents have a very special place in our hearts. We mostly wish that they could be with us until we reach goals, be on our side as we become successful, but just like the season, they will reach their season of winter, cold and weak. I wish we could bring summer to them forever. My condolences to you and your family. May he rest in eternal peace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed we are accepting of the fact that they will not be here for long but there is that wishing they could stay longer still. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry about what happened to your Lolo sir lee. I'm sure that even he's in good hands now, still he always beside you to guide you in your life sir lee. I felt emotional with this and have my tears. I know your Lolo felt happy with your achievements in life sir.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks dear. I'm feeling better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It got really emotional towards the end! I do hope that she finds peace in the after life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really hope he did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Condolence, he will be in Gods hand and will guide always

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. Amen!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry for the loss. You'll be fine๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sending my hugs to you Kuya Lee. I am sorry about what happened to your grandpa. You two, surely had an amazing moments together.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maraming salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hugss to you Lee. You had a great time with your grandpa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awee sorry to hear this articlee. As I read this article I suddenly remember my lola.๐Ÿ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our dear ones will always be remembered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hugging you. I was smiling & then my face turned in silent mode. I felt it. I swear I did. Literally have tears now. I am so sorry dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago