Tried beers at Craft 1945

26 58
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

While waiting for our friends for a meet up, me and my partner went to Craft 1945 where they serve craft beers. There are three places here in our city that serves craft beers that I know of and this is the last place that we haven't been to.

The other two are Baguio Craft Brewery and Hoka Brew.

I am not an expert in beers so I just go by my taste.

When we arrived there, I was curious to see that there is a signage of Baguio Craft Brewery. Then as I read closer on the signage of Craft 1945, a small print stated Baguio Craft Brewery and Casa Marcos. It turns out, this is a joined project of both businesses. Baguio Craft Brewery is a well-established beer crafter here in the city and the first one at that. Casa Marcos on the other hand is based in another city so who else would you partner with than the one who is already established.

The house where the business runs is reminiscent of the old Baguio houses that you see in the city - white with green accents. You can still see houses like this in Camp John Hay, Baguio Country Club, Teachers Camp, etc.

I like how they retained the old look like fading and peeling off paint on the windows and the dirty white exterior paint. It gives off that homey feeling. Plus the lush greenery surrounding it is a perfect location. It is a quiet place to spend your time.

The wooden structures, high ceiling and warm lights added more comfort. It gives off a warm vibe to this cool part of the city.

The tall windows are well thought of so you get to enjoy the trees around you while enjoying your time at the place. It surely makes you be one with nature in a setting such as this. Also, windows like this brings in natural light and soak yourself in the warmth of the afternoon sun.

This brick wall and painting serves as a backdrop of the stage where musicians get to set and entertain the guests. There were no musicians at that time though.

This is a Spanish restaurant so naturally, the painting had to be in concert with what the restaurant serves.

However, we were here for the beer.

This is a two-story house. You can choose to dine indoors our outdoors. The old jeans cum plants pots is a nice touch. However, that needs more landscape as that area seems to be drying out.

Looking at their beer choices, their were only a few that you can choose from namely Hazy IPA, Mango Jango, Blondie, Red Tide (Red IPA), Passion Fruit, Keywheat, West Coast, Porter and Lagud. I wasn't sure if there were the only beers served but those are the ones indicated in their menu. These were all priced PHP200.00 and under. Source

I went for Porter and my partner had West Coast.

Porter has an ABV of 7.875%, the highest ABV among the list, and my partner had West Coast with an ABV of 7%. For more details, you can check their page.

Porter has that bittersweet after taste but verging more on sweet. West Coast is described to have that citrus but high bitter taste. I didn't get to taste the citrus in it for the bitterness is stronger. When I say bitter not as bitter as black coffee but you can taste it.

I like that the prices of beers are set at PHP200.00 (around USD4.00) as the most expensive, generally all the beers are.

I do like the place itself, the vibe and location. What I don't like is the odor of the smelly canal that it unmistakable as you step into their driveway and if you sit by the windows, you'll get a whiff of that.

I haven't asked if we can pay using other means aside from cash for we paid in cash. Also, I am not aware if they have free wifi. As long as the place is enjoyable and you are in good company, who needs wifi anyway.

If you ever visit Baguio and you want to try some craft beers, visit Craft 1945 located along Outlook Drive, Baguio City.

20
$ 5.89
$ 5.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @mommykim
+ 14
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Beer in a cold place is a must try! The architecture reminds me of Teachers Camp. Sana makapunta ulit ng Baguio so I can try it with friends. Masaya makipagbonding lalo kapag gabi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup, those are the American style of houses that were built in and around the city during their time including those in Teacher's Camp.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do like beers as it light. Anyways, the place is undeniably fascinating! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beer for life lee hehehe.. Pero di ko yan sila kilala at c redhorse lng bet ko😅.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I came across a TikTok video yesterday about craft beers and I wouldn't let the day pass without reading your article about it. Personally, I haven't tried drinking a craft beer but I would like in the future. The one that I've tried drinking was red horse. 😂 Can you name one common beer that it would taste alike?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I haven't drank a lot of beers so I can't tell to which these are closest to in terms of taste. Maybe let's go beer tasting? lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oks na sana e sa window muni muni tas yung malalanghap naman hahaha char pero bet ko yang mga ganyan place pero di iinom 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laking turn off talaga un. Pano maenjoy un place kung mabaho naman hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaaah sobrang ganda ng place kuya Lee. Medyu na loka ako sa plants na nakatanim sa pants HAHAHA. Jusko, diko kayang makita yan pag gabi 😂 may iba iba palang flavor nang beer wow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Oo nga ano parang di maganda un pants pag gabi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not really into beers but the photos are amazing. It is really all about having a great time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can go and try their food :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sa pa tour, when kaya ako maliligaw sa place na yaan bala jan ako makakatikim ng unang pagkalasing ba haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Pasyal na :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I rarely drink beer, but I love drinking with friends and family. This is worth visiting especially there in Baguio.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The place looks great :) I like their light bulbs :D Sana I could taste their beer too soon. Missing Baguio! Thank you po again for the sponsorship renewal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a very good spot for unwinding plus thier beers has low alcohol that will still leave drivers sober to drive home.

I hope they could find a way to clean that nasty canal so everyone will come back often too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said it right :) Always drink moderately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great place to visit. Hope that beer was good too 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda nman jan.. Sna mavisit ko tlga ang Baguio soon 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Visit ko sya kapag napunta ako ng Baguio, 4 years from now....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do like the place itself, the vibe and location Nice article Dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beer apart, that place looks fantastic. Also, love your clicks. The jeans cum plant idea is very sustainable and amazing haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This seems like a nice place to visit

$ 0.00
2 years ago