The procrastination trap

34 51
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

I forgot where I read this but I'll try to give a summary of what I can recall. I'd like to relate that to my experience with the bank. Yes, I'm not done with that yet lol!

A guy noticed that one of the windows in their house was broken. A lot of scenarios played in his mind. Upon initial inspection, he thinks that it needs an expert to do it. Thus, he contacted some contractors asking for an estimate and he was given a quote.

He kept pushing back on having it done. Because of the busyness in life, he kept forgetting about it but it is one of those things that always comes back nagging at you. Still he kept pushing it away.

One day, he decided to take a closer look and tried assessing the damage further. There he realized that it was actually an easy fix that he was able to do it himself. That saved him a lot of money by not having it done by somebody else.

This made him realize that if he should have addressed the problem right away, then it would have given him a peace of mind right there and then.

Now, let me relate it to my experience with the bank.

When I talked to the clerk at the bank about my dilemma regarding my ATM card, the only solution is to apply for a replacement to the branch where I opened that account. As I mentioned in my previous posts, I only have one valid ID available. I have asked the clerk what are the ways for me to do so that I can process that in that particular branch where I lost my card. Since I only have one ID, I have to secure a police clearance or barangay clearance to serve as a secondary ID.

Thinking about processing that one piece of paper is already stressful and an inconvenience because even though that is just one piece of paper, it takes a lot of time and energy to secure one.

I then went to the bank where I originally opened my account. Aside from the waiting time, the process was done in less than 10 minutes for the clerk to do it. I forgot my ID so I had to go back to our apartment to get it and then back to the bank again. That was my fault. Other than that little mishap, it was an easy process.

Just like the guy in the story, I let myself suffer mentally by thinking a lot of things instead of facing the problem head on and doing what needs to be done to solve it.

Sometimes we tend to over think things and we burden ourselves by thinking of different problems and other concerns which are unrelated to the problem itself. We like to complicate things when the easy way is already staring us in the face.

Maybe because of our past experiences that we don't want to happen again that made us cynical. When we are faced with a situation, the easy solution is doubtful or do we like to be challenged more?

My partner had been having issue logging in to their system through the desktop. Good thing my partner has a laptop as back up to use and that is where my partner had been working. IT had been informed about it. They had been telling ways how to fix the problem but it was never resolved. It has been two days. One of the reasons of the delay is that they are taking a long time to respond. Until now, IT finally decided to remote accessed it and the issue resolved in minutes.

Was it laziness that make us procrastinate or do easy solutions bore us?

19
$ 1.92
$ 1.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Pinkchic
$ 0.05 from @Shohana
+ 13
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

In my case, it's laziness for sure. 🙈 I tend to set aside the task and plan to do it later until few days would pass. 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Happens to me a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Overthinking is sure one thing I am very guilty of 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know you do that :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You know me too well Lee!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nah, only a bit :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You have to suffered because of your ID issue I also experienced the lost of my id and I have to get lots of clearance form to resolve the issue

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Funny thing is we ID to process an ID lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yea over thinking is one bad habit which as humans we go through. Thinking and spoiling our own health. May be all these issues will take only a matter of time. Good that your ATM is solved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope to claim my card this Friday :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dapat huminga muna bago mag overthink to avoid wrong move.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Itulog na lang hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako sir aaminin ko nakakatamad talaga lalo na pag daming kuskos balungos yang proseso dito sa pilipinas ang gipit mas lalong nagigipit.pero habang na experience ko mga ganyang bagay yung akala natin na abala lang pero madali lang pala kapag pinagtutuonan talaga ng mabuti at matutong mag pasensya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe pareho tayo kaya minsan wala nagagawa e.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's laziness that makes us procrastinate most time, especially me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Me too :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I mean sa bagal kasi talaga at sa daming hinihingi na requirement ng iba talagang . Mapapa overthink ka, if its me ha. Even if you want to be cool kaso tinitest talaga patience mo hahaha minsan kapag alo kaka overthink diko nalang talaga tutuloy ababaha bahala na, ganon lagi. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe oo din. Ang dami hinihingi na requirements. Gastos pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga kaasar din minsan. Sarap nila hilahin ako nalang gagawa kahahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha! Tas binigay sayo bigla no? :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bwahahahahahanep 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napagod kana sa kakaisip wala ka pang action na ginagawa. Over thinking talaga. Kaya ayaw Kong mag over think kasi nakaka stress. Mas maigi ng gawin nalang kung anong dapat gawin and let's see for the result.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Bad habit ko talaga yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Itigil mo na yang habit na yan sir hehehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember when I had my phone screen guard because removed because it was rough and old, I planned to replace it the next day but procastination held me for almost a month. The phone fell on the floor and got the screen broken

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awts. We really learn the hard way and sometimes expensive way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mostly kasi sa atin kahit napaka easy lang tayo lang gumagawa ng complikasyon, same what happened din sa husband ko gusto kung mag cash in sa g cash so ayun pumunta siya ng palawan binigyan siya ng fill up form hindi sinulatan umuwi kasi daw mas pipiliin niya dun mag cash in sa kapitbahay namin na number lang sa g cash yung kailangan kaysa daw sa palawan na maraming pang fil apan. Diba ginawang komplikado e napaka easy lang naman fill apan yung form pangalan lang naman niya at number at purpose yung hinihingi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Relate ako jan. Pag sa umpisa kasi parang ang hirap gawin pero pag once nalaman na ang process, easy na lang :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan talaga sir lee pag may problem nag o-overthink muna tayo. Dami pang iniisip tas na i-stress na sa kakaisip instead of facing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di kasi maiwasan e hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sir lee totoo. Mostly ganyan talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang ako ung napagod. Same here, I only have a few valid IDs and paginiisip ko to get another one eh naiistress na si acoe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ba lungs? lol! Minsan rant pa ako ng rant sa partner ko un pala ang dali lang gawin haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago