That little store was my lifesaver

41 69
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Our viand earlier today was chicken liver cooked in soy sauce with potatoes, leeks and pepper. We call that adobo. It is so much better when eaten with rice. I was not able to take a photo of it though so I have nothing to share.

However, it did remind me of those days long ago of a sundry store that also serves meals.

I was in high school then. I have mentioned in my other articles that I studied far from home, about eight-hour bus ride but it can take longer depending on the situation of the road and the weather. One could get stranded and it may even take you one day to arrive to your destination. The road that snakes up and down to the mountains can have erosions or road slips brought about by inclement weather.

We were not born rich but we have enough to get by. Going home every so often would be costly that's why the duration of the school year, we will go home 2-3 times a year.

There were no cellphones then and internet was unheard of. Our stipend and payment for our school fees were sent through the mail. Whenever a letter from home would arrive, it means money lol! Mom would write letters and asked about us and update us with what is going on back home. We would then write back, not right away but on the weekends where we are more free to go to town to send our mail and also to buy stuff we need from the allowance that we have just received. Another way of sending/receiving letter is through a bus. There my mom would send letters and the bus conductor will then deliver the letter to the school which will be received by the registrar's office and from there it will be given to us. We will also hail buses that are heading back to our place and hand them our letters to be picked up at the bus terminal especially if there is no emergency. There is no way to contact our mom that we had sent a letter. Getting our letter from the terminal would be by chance. So most of the time, we send it to the post office. Unlike when she is the one sending letter for the bus route passes by the school so there is more certainty that her letter will be delivered.

So what's with the little store I talked about? I'm getting there.

Because of this kind of setup, most of the time our stock especially food will ran out before the next time our mom will send us our allowance. Most of the times, we would borrow from our dormmates or classmates and friends.

There is a store that is just a few steps from the school compound. It's where most students hang out during breaks or after school or whenever there is free time. I was not aware that this store exists right away. It was a Sunday I think when we had nothing better to do that a classmate or a friend or a dormmate, I can't remember now, invited us to go there. I haven't explored the whole of the school compound much more outside of it.

Whenever we ran out of food or if there is something that we needed to buy but we don't have money yet, we would go to that store and get what we want and then it will be put in our tab. Once our allowance arrives, we would pay right away what we owe the store. We have to be very careful though with the things we get for sometimes our allowance is not enough and I don't want my tab to keep piling up.

We have learned how to tighten our belts so to speak.

Why did it remind me of liver?

They always serve what is called bopis. It consists of chicken liver, bell pepper and carrots minced and cooked in soy sauce. That became my instant favorite dish the first time I tasted it.

For four years of my high school, that store had been a huge part of my school life. Sometimes when we have activities in school and we were late for meal, we would head there and of course there will be no more food left but they would be kind enough to cook for us. Even when they have closed or are still closed, they would gladly open their doors for you and take care of you.

When students would skip classes, you can find them there. I remember when we were caught cheating in one of our exams, the three of us involved in the answer sharing headed there and ranted. Those who snitched on us were those who would ask answers from us from time to time. I find that laughable when I look back at it now. The things we do when we are young.

Years after high school I would go back to the school to attend alumni or just to meet with high school friends. In one of my visits, I checked on the store but the couple who used to run it were no longer there. They have flown abroad and are living with one of their children. The other child left behind runs the store then but it's never the same anymore.

We do have a canteen within the school compound but that is not open all the time plus their stock is limited that's why most of us back then would prefer going to the store outside the campus.

Have you had similar experience?

Feel free to share.

Thanks so much for dropping by!

26
$ 9.62
$ 8.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @mommykim
+ 20
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

That's a nice story Lee. You took me way back to your youth and I could imagine what it was like when you described it. What a lovely and understanding people, those who run the shop. It warms my heart to hear such stories. I'm sure life return all the blessings to them for all the good they did to all students 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all have our version of such kind people and it makes you think there is hope for humankind after all :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like bopis too and chicken liver. Nung college naman ako, canned goods mahilig istock haha.. Pro so far, d ko naexperience mangutang. Mahiyain ako eh , lol... Minsan lng dn umuwi ng bahay pra tipid pamasahe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di talaga nawawala ang de lata at noodles e hehe. Lagi yan sa dorm nun gang ngayon lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesh in my high school we also have canteen where we owe for food. Not more than a weeks we need to pay for it so that they can supply. The things you had is sad for me and yeah if the owner would be another person there's a big chance that the food and temperature of that store would still remain, it will and it will be changed. High school life is such a happy one. Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There is obvious neglect the last time I visited unlike when the couple still manages the place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love chicken liver too, one of my fave too. Haven't tried an experience like you have kuya Lee kasi uwian ako before e. But my friends and I actually have this comshop where we can print out our research paper for free for the meantime kasi yung budget namin ng group naubos lahat sa experiment. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dun talaga nauubos ang pera e sa mga requirements at mga projects hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, yes! I had the exact experience. But the difference is I had Samosa (typical Indian food).

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have yet to try that. We do have like a version of that but it's fried dim sum.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Bopis and Chicken Liver Adobo!! Anyways this article of yours reminds me of our college canteen vendor who was so accommodating and kind, she always make sure to remember our names and gave us tokens every Christmas to show her gratitude for those who consistently buys her goodies. I miss Maam Lala!🥺😓❣️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's really kind and thoughtful of her to do that. Adobo is one of my fave dishes :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hindi ako fan sa mga lamang loob pero one time nung ininvite ako ng pasyente kumain sa kanila, ulam nila is bopis, at ang proud ng patient ko na masarap daw mag luto anak nya ng ganyan, at of course kinain ko nlng hehe! okay nmn pala at least di ko masyado ramdam ung taste kc maanghang haha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! Ang bait mo naman hehe pero buti nakayanan mo un anghang :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag mabait kc ung host parang nahihirapan akong humindi hahah! Keri nmn basta may coke, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe oo din :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din ung atay at balunan ng chicken for adobo ang sarap

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo din. Kakagutom tuloy :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kya nga po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember I first tasted sinigang during college. The resto that is just on the ground floor of our boarding house served it. And you are right, once we graduate, when we come back it will never be the same.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good thing we have the memories to look back to :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww... Reading this article feels nostalgic. It reminds me of my own similar experience back then. I miss that. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for appreciating :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tamang turo² lang kuya hahaha. Pero pag dating college iba na lalo na yung samin kay one of personnel sa canteen tinatandaan niya yung names at my ibang-ibang pakulo para masaya.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang galing naman kun matandaan nya mga names. Parang un kwento sa akin na may isang registrar dati sa schoool namin na kilala lahat ng students. Pag pinpresent nya mga graduates daw nun, tanda nya lahat sila di nya need ng codigo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep hahaha. During high school and college days may mga kainan tlga kami na pinagtatambayan tapos parang nanay na namin may ari haha. Hanggang ngayon kapag nakikita ko sila , Ganon padin.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Diba lang ang saya ng ganun na alam mo may matatakbuhan ka :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can reckon with this. Though it isn't a canteen or store, there's a woman back in high school living close to our school field. She gives us water after we've spent hours playing ball each day. She buys bags of pure water and shares for free.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, bless her! Whatever happened to her?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di ko na experience mag cutting classes kasi nasa harap nang school yung bahay namin hahaha

pero nasali ako dun sa mga naparatangan na nag cheat kasi may mga bully na nilagay nila kodigo nila sa bag ko hahahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah saklap haha! Yan ang di ko naexperience ever, ang ma bully.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can not imagine it, seeing someone who asks me for answers in the exam mocking me when I got caught... It's laughable but those days, you will sure act... Nice memory dear friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

At the end of the day, people will only think about themselves and save their own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, bopisssss ang sarap nyan oi lalo maanghang the beat yarn! Samin malapit lang school lakad lang nga ee hahaha. Tapoa may mata si Mommy sa school kaya katakot gumawa ng kalokohan ba 🤧

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Walang ibang access un school na di kita sa bahay? hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in high school, there's a sari-sari store/eatery outside our campus, and we always get what we want, just pay on it the next day. While during afternoon dismissal, we like to go there again, because she likes to give those bread, viands, that wasn't sold:D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It makes me feel good to know that there are kind people everywhere who share their blessings to others :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Way back in college, "bopis" is my usual viand as well. Aside from thr fact that it is delicious, ine serving can be matched up with 2 cups of rice already..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And probably more rice if you are served with free soup :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed..hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a lot of memories of the past years. I know all of it are unforgettable. I love chicken liver sir. My viand today is chicken liver too, I cooked it like Adobo.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago