Sorry, but I can't trust you

35 52
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

This is related to my post yesterday. If you haven't read it yet, it's about me losing my ATM card. At least, that's my initial thought.

I withdrew from one of the machines in one of my bank's branches in the city. When I re-inserted my card to inquire about my balance, the machine couldn't read it but it didn't eject the card. Usually when that happens, it will eject it right away. That time, it took longer than usual so I concluded it was captured by the machine.

I was wrong.

When I reported that incident to the bank, they couldn't find my card so I decided to apply for a replacement instead. In order for me to do that, the card had to be blocked first so that no one can use it anymore.

I then went to the branch where I opened my account to process the replacement. It is more convenient if I did that because they all have my records and they only require one valid ID. If I am to process that in other branches, I would have to provide two IDs but I don't have other IDs that haven't expired.

While waiting for my turn, I browsed through my messenger. Every now and then, there are those I don't know who would send me message especially people who I am not friends with in fb which turn out to be spam or their message may contain info that I don't need.

In relation to that, there are those who add me but I don't know them or even if I do and I don't feel like adding them, then I just don't.

When I saw the recent message in my spam folder, this guy messaged me asking me if I have left my card in one of the machines in my bank's branch. No wonder I had a notification from this guy for a friend request. I like his research skill though. That I give to him for he was able to track me down. I mean he took the chance to message me to find the right person.

I replied to him that yes, I did lose my card there and would be so kind to kindly surrender the card to the bank.

When it was my turn, the first thing I asked the clerk was can a blocked card be unblocked and her response was no. I already have that strong feeling that it can't be done and so I went ahead and processed my application.

I checked my messages when I was done with the bank and the guy replied that we should meet instead so he can hand me my card. I then replied that I have already requested for a replacement of my card so there is no need for us to meet.

What do you do when you find somebody's card at a bank's ATM? What I do right away is to surrender that to the bank or the security personnel. Simple. Less hassle. Unless the machine is located someplace else where you can't do that, then use the resourcefulness of the guy who had my card by looking the person up online and hope that you get lucky to find the right person who owns that card.

One tip: It's wiser to withdraw from machines located within your bank. It's safer that way.

So to that guy you has my card, thank you, but sorry. There is no need for us to meet. The paranoia in me had me thinking that he is up for something. Again, sorry. But can you blame me? Lots of scammers out there and they can get creative and persuasive. That's why it's best to keep your distance.

One of the deciding factor that made me decide to apply for replacement is that the card was how many years old and sometimes machines can't read the card well anymore that's why it's about time to have it replaced anyway. I have that card since it was issued to me less than 10 years ago if my memory serves me right.

21
$ 2.35
$ 1.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 15
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Of course, he is up to something and thank God you didn't allow him meet you. It's good you went for a replacement and blocked the previous ATM card. This thing could be frustrating though especially when you needed money urgently and your card gets hanged into the machine. It happens here and has happened to me twice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope it will never happen again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is s very long time to have a card, 10 years. Mine always have expiration dates like 4 or 5 years out. I usually have to replace them before they expire because either the chip or magnetic strip fades away. Yes give card to bank if ATM is at bank. Also scary to meet someone that's holding your card. Never no what could happen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why I decided to have it replaced anyway. It's about time. Sometimes the machines have a hard time reading the card. It makes me anxious when it does that lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama kuyang, aanhin mo pa yung card? What if na replicate na nila they will try to give back so you won't cancelled the other one. Huhu, that's what I am afraid of, to be eaten by the machine for branched of back far near to my place. So sa Municipal ATM lang talga ako haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas safe pag ganun para easy access na din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like your mindset sir lee. You are advance. It's better to think the safety first because we don't know the real motif why gusto niya pa mag meet mas mabuti ng umiwas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Praning lang talaga ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe hindi naman sir lee. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Although new card is well and good in working. But I am again against this corrupt bank system. They just pull our money and had control on our money that is really bad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. If only I don't have a need for a bank, then I will not do business with them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! You had your card for 10 years? Here they only release them for 4-5 years and then automatically send you replacement cards. I've never had a card for 10 years :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish banks here do that. With my bank, you still have to pay for replacement.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh wow! It often surprises me how differently things work in other countries

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's very stressful if you experience this thing. I'm so glad that you decided to change it for a new one and did not trust that person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kulit nga e gusto talaga mag meet kami lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it was better indeed sir na nagrequest ka nalng ng new card .. newer, better! maybe his intentions are clean but anyway, we don't know talaga what's on their mind... so it was better that way

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ou nga e. Play safe na lang pag di talaga sure hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow that's bad luck! but it doesn't matter dear, everything will be fine, the one who does wrong, goes wrong and the one who doesn't go around doing bad things, doesn't go wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed! I hope I'll be getting the replacement soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we find ourselves in such a situation,it is advisable to report to the bank authorities as soon as possible so that they could block the card and issue you a new one.. ofcourse only a naieve card owner would go out to meet such a person, one's life might even be at risk. Godforid!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what I thought too that's why I was curious why the guy who found my card didn't surrender to the bank right away.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oppps that moment will be very stressful for you, i don't have my own personal credit cards but I use my father's one whenever I want money for online marketing and other stuff. Yeah I remember, once I lost my father's card and unintentionally I left card some where my dad applied the same strategy, first he cancelled the one which was in use and afterward sets the new password and card.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What your father did is really the wisest thing to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats Actually a smart decision. Nowadays scammers are everywhere, and so trusting a stranger's is quite scary.

I don't usually use card kasi hindi ako masyadong confident sa sarili ko, though nakagamit na naman ako ng machine sa pagwiwithdraw, hindi pa din ako komportable. Marunong naman akong magbasa at sumunod sa instructions ng machine, kasonatatakot pa din akong gumamit ng card, kasi may possibilities din daw na kinakain yung card ng machine at yun ang kinatatakot ko, hehehhe.

<Sorry I have to edit my comment kasi mali English ko 😂>

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas safe pag sa sariling atm sa bank ka minsan mag withdraw para mareport mo agad in case na kainin ng machine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang Tama hinala mo sir. Buti nalang you are wiser than him.. Ako my debit card pero more on online transactions Lang. Di ko na nagagamit ang card lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Diba? Mas mabuti na nagiingat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

tama sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayos din ano, may ither business si guy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Siguro lol! Gumana lang talaga pagkapraning ko :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happened with me once where the card was struck in an ATM, I called the local in-charge there after an hour he opened the ATM and gave it to me, lol. And yes, use less ATMs outside banks, these types of cases are increasing a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for you it was a smooth process in retrieving your card :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree. Easy as one two three. He can give it to the guard hahaha. Parang stalker pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha! Un din naisip ko e may pagka stalker pero isipin ko na lang good intention naman siguro talaga ang purpose.

$ 0.00
1 year ago