Shogun: The leader of a nation

30 103
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

I have been mentioning how fascinated I am about Japan. I think Shogun is the only novel I read about Japan and it's people that really stuck to me. This is a book by James Clavell and is my favorite book.

I used to read a lot back then. I was influenced by some friends way back in high school: Sweet Valley High, Agatha Christie, Hardy Boys. When I graduated, I would save some of my allowance to buy or rent novels. I remember a store in our neighborhood owns a lot of books. I saw them when I bought something from her store and asked about those books. She said they are for rent and I can return them anytime. I remember paying PHP5.00 for each book. Sometimes when I rent more than one, she would give me discounts. I rent books when I have not enough money saved to buy a new or old one.

I have read and bought novels over the years but not as often but I remember buying the Harry Potter paperback collection but sold that years later.

I can't remember how I cam across Shogun. It could be in one of the bookstores that I visited or from my previous employment. I might have read that twice or three times or more. Writing this makes me want to read it again.

Shogun is story during the samurai era in Japan. It talks about a foreigner (I think Dutch. I can barely recall details) that ended in Japan when their ship caught up in a storm was forced to find land. He and his crew were held captive at first and then were allowed to do what they want but under watchful eye of course and their freedom is limited. This foreigner though (I believe the captain of the ship) was "used" to help leaders in Japan bring down their enemies. It was about politics, deception, sacrifice, corruption, death. It is about power and the ways and means one has to do to be the most powerful one.

It's not all that bad for it paints a picture of how beautiful Japan is and how rich is its culture.

My favorite part of the morning

The fact that I am alive. I am grateful to be able to open my eyes still and breathing. I do like mornings and I like it when everything is still and not as noisy as the day goes on. It is the perfect time for prayers and meditation. I like waking up to the sound of the birds and yes, the crows of roosters. Then to see the sky brighten.

It's a new day and I'm blessed to be alive.

Then comes the preparation of coffee which then the aroma fills the room as it brews.

I am grateful that there is peace. I have roof above my head. I'm healthy and happy.

Simple pleasure but that makes me feel alive every morning and that is my favorite part.

"The same wind blows on us all; the winds of disaster, opportunity and change. Therefore, it is not the blowing of the wind, but the setting of the sails that will determine our direction in life." - Jim Rohn

When I first came across this quote, it did make me realize that we all deal with life differently. That quote easily became one of my faves.

It's like Invictus where it says we are the captains of our souls. We have given the choice how to live our lives. Are we content with where we are now? What are we doing in order to improve? We think we are victims of fate and we are if that is how you want it to be. Don't let your circumstance define you. Don't let your situation now define you.

Changes and opportunities happen all the time and it is up to us to recognize the chances that life throws at us.

Done with the challenges!

Any plans for this weekend? Be safe everyone.

18
$ 5.31
$ 4.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 19
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Aglabaak tadta hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Han malmalpas ti laba hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Today, I and our teenage son were checking the prices of NVIDIA Graphics Processing Units (GPU) in different countries. A specific model that weighs about 1kg costs (say) $500 in the US, almost the same in Japan, almost double in India, and 1.5 times in the UK.

In Japan, a research scholar can save some money (from scholarship) for about a year and can afford to buy a brand new grand piano (not an electronic keyboard).

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Let's move to Japan lol! There is a program where they do offer cheap housing there that you can apply but you have to prove that you have enough income to sustain yourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm grateful for my life and sincerely I Know I don't deserve it but God grace is awesome, I'm grateful for my family and friends

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a humbling thought you got there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly we all have opportunities in life but it's depends on us who we face them. I will also look in Liberary for this book

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope you can find it :D I'm sure there are free copies online now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Morning times is just like a power packed time for me, I feel refreshed with lost of strength to engage with the task of the day

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Right? If only we can do all things all at once in the morning :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love that quote by Jim. Definitely, we are in control of our lives and how we react to any situations in our lives will determine our directions.

For me, maybe when I have money to get a novel, I do but if I can´t, I simply check online and download it. The Lightreader app is where many novels and fictional stories are found.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are lots of free stuff online if we know where to look :D

I like listening to Jim Rohn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've also heard of this legend when the samurai became famous in Japan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That must be the movie of Tom Cruise, no? :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oii naalala ko ang One Piece nong mabasa ko ang Shogun haha. Nasa Wano Arc pa naman na. Hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yan ang di ko nasubaybayan. May ilang ep lang yata ako napanood hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mornings! i love mornings too especially when everything is still quiet... let's keep on being grateful! magbabaguio kami soon!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yey! Enjoy the city :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i do not read novel, but i read manga a lot from tachiyomi. it was one of my hobbies. i watched harry potter before and its good.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You and my brother will get along fine for he likes to read manga as well :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good to hear from you . Actually am not really a kind of person who loves reading story books but I will love to check this out and the lesson learnt don't let your circumstances define you we should be able to treat our problems just by applying wisdom or ask for help...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True. We don't know everything so it's best to ask and learn from others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember Sweet Valley High being popular in the 1990s

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo nga sir e hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Today as usual my plan is to do our laundry and I just did, later I will the other chores as tomorrow my mother-in-law will come to visit us. Anyway when I was a kid I really don't read books that much. I don't know, I only read if we have assignments and projects for school.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I usually browse through just for the pictures too lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel so great when I wake up at morning. We should give thanks to our creator for this.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Absolutely!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Working as usual..dami ko na nadraft sa challenge na to. D ko pa napopost 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe dami kasi pwede isulat e.

$ 0.00
1 year ago