My blood is black. Be a wise buyer.

77 85
Avatar for ARTicLEE
3 years ago

A weird title? Read on.

A skull above a coffee poster

Before anything else, bear in mind that I am not an expert or anything, unlike someone who is expert of a lot of things. I planned on writing as much information about coffee but this lots of reading had my head spinning I can't organize my thoughts lol!

We all know that there are lots of studies and researches out there talking about the benefits and bad effects of coffee. But I am not going to talk about that. This is just my take of coffee at a glance.

Just a sip of coffee.

Once you go black...

My coffee experience started with drinking 3-in-1 coffee, those that come in packets complete with creamer and sugar and God knows what. I am not a coffee lover but when I started working, that's when I started drinking coffee. I don't stick with just one brand. There are too many choices out there. I want to try them all! Some are locally produced. Some are imported. There are different flavors. Even when you go to cafes, there are too many choices, different sizes, different kinds. Even a source of coffee by itself can't be zoned in to just one place. Just thinking about all these, it is mind boggling how coffee can't simply be called just coffee. Where is it sourced? Where country did it come from? Where was it grown? Every region now seems to have their own kind of coffee.

Cafe Veniz brewed coffee and Choco mini cake

There came to a point that I grew tired of choosing which kind of coffee I should drink. So I simply started with black coffee. At first, I would put cream and sugar. I gradually started putting less creamer and less sugar for even those my taste buds grew tired of them. I like to eat sweets anyway to sugar was the first to go. Soon, the creamer had to go to.

So I am left with just the black, bitter hot liquid.

Lots of times, we would go people watching - spending time together sitting in a cafe where we have a view of the street and people and cars passing by. I would drink unlimited coffee while observing the streets. It's one of the ways we would do to talk about things - work, family, friends, current events, etc. We do this a lot especially rainy season. Coffee and rain are a perfect pair.

Just like food hunting, we would go checking out for places to have coffee. Where is the best spot? Where is the best location to hang out? To have peace to enjoy your cup? It is easier now to check for new places because you can see them posted in every social media. Every one is in search for something new. Every one is in the race to post first. Every one wants to show their photography skills.

Good Taste's creampuff and half-half (coffee and milk)

Benguet coffee, are you sure?

The coffee industry here in the Philippines is growing or should I say struggling to survive? According to this site, Mindanao, one of the three major islands of the Philippines, grew the most number of coffees. All around the country, there are coffee growers. With the advent of coffee shops springing up everywhere, the number of coffee lovers growing, the farmers had to keep up with production. Sadly, competition is tough. Not within the country but from imports.

Probably because of demand, more and more are importing coffee. This, however, had a significant effect to the local farmers. These imports sell way cheaper than what we grow here. Why is local coffee pricey? The cost of production and the volume of how much coffee is produced. Aside from the cost and labor of growing them, processing and transporting them from farm to buyers are also costly.

As if that is not enough, here comes the fakers. Premium coffee from locally grown products are sought after. To scam the people, imports are labeled as Benguet coffee, Sagada coffee, etc and sell them way cheaper. The innocent consumers would then be easily fooled for now they can buy these coffee at an affordable price.

The best Arabica coffees are those from high elevated regions just like the Cordilleras. During one of the conferences held in Baguio City, Benguet Arabica bested all those grown in the country. However, according to Ark of Taste, it is a dying industry for the younger generation doesn't want to farm and would rather work some place else. Thus, production is dwindling. (I'm not sure how this pandemic changed the course of the production of this coffee.)

Sagada farmers can only produce a few coffee a year.

These are just a few of the scenarios that farmers face. To think that there is an unending supply of cheap Benguet and Sagada coffee in the market makes one think if these are really original.

How can these local farmers compete with the market if there are those imported products sold way cheaper? These are even mislabeled which makes it even worse.

Unlimited coffee at Baguio Country Club

How to help the local coffee industry?

Simple: BUY DIRECTRLY FROM FARMERS.

I am guilty.

I too have been buying from our market from sellers who sell cheap "Benguet coffee." However, since learning about some of the plight of our farmers, I am more wary what to buy and where to buy.

With the help of the internet, there are online sellers (check out this group) who sell premium coffee directly from local farmers. Again, be wise and ask. Always do your research. Avoid the mislabeled coffee products out there.

It is important to BUY LOCAL and SUPPORT LOCAL. Same is true with other products. To help our locality improve and grow, let us continue to support them. Although we are getting recognition abroad, it's not enough for cheaters are out there. They have been there for so long, even before all these awards. These awards and/or breakthroughs in research to improve our coffee industry would be useless if we don't start patronizing our own now.

If you are not a coffee lover, you can inform those you know who drink coffee to be more mindful of what to buy. Ask them to buy directly from farmers or from suppliers who sell coffee from our local farmers.

Happiness in a cup at P&F's Estacion de Cafe

Not only in coffee should we support our own but in everything, your friends, your family, your neighbor.

Thank you so much for reading and supporting.

*All contents are mine.

26
$ 17.10
$ 13.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 17
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
3 years ago

Comments

Bigla ako napaisip kung saan galing ang coffee ng Cafe Amadeo in Cavite. Nakabili kami before sa Baguio market ng coffee. Di ko sure if talagang Sagada coffee yun pero sarap. How about mga kapeng barako ng Batangas kaya? Nacurious na ako. Hehe. Pero I am all for buying from our local suppliers. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Baka pwedeng tanungin? Hehe. Iba daw ang amoy ng Benguet coffee na binebenta sa market dito at ung sa galing sa iisang origin. Di talaga masiguro kung Benguet nga talaga un.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko na naman yung bilihan diyan sa market. Dami nabili nung time na yun. Nakipila pinsan ko. Hehe. Ang bango talaga nh kape. 😋 tanong ko minsan yung sa Cafe Amadeo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Man, very unique article. I don't know how you managed, but it was captivating.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako 3in1 dte tas my black coffee na ko. Pero nescafe lang ah haha, munsan my sugar, minsan wla. Ang reason ko nmn is nkakataba kc 3in1. Planning to buy sagada medium roast coffee kc package sya together ng frenchpress na balak ko bilhin. As per reviews authentic dw. Sna nga haha

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Naku naku ipa NBI mo yan para sure haha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha sana tlga okay. From Pampanga pa yung coffee eh. Eh ang natikman ko lang na kakaibang kape alamid coffee. Jusmio. Galing poops pa char haha

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Anong poops? Parang kopi luwak?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

what is kopi luwak? haha. ung alamid cat, kumakain sya ng coffee beans tas aun ipopoops nya.tas un huhugasan... tas un na.hahahah.masarap sya. bumili kami sa bundok sabatangas. mahal lang

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Oo yan nga yun haha! Yan ang di ko pa natry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha nakupo 3 in 1 lang ang kape ko. Hehe 😅

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hehe...try mo din explore iba pang kape dito sa atin :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here too, there is a lot of difference in the quality of the coffee. To make it cheaper, sometimes producers mix it with who knows what things. Some don't even smell like coffee. But there are a lot of options in the market. And there are more expensive artisan products of very good quality. So I'm still very curious to try Café Benguet.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Benguet coffee is arabica variety. As for the taste, it has that sour or citrus-like taste to it. Not much of an expert on this lol!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's interesting because I don't think I've ever tasted a coffee with a citrus aroma.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

My friend was showing a chart of tastes that you should taste when drinking different coffee but I think I don't have the tongue for it lol!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, I love coffee. But I don't think I have a fancy taste for that either. ;)

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Awwww sad naman if walang magpatuloy ng Benguet Arabica. Need nga may mag-sponsor din sa kanila para mas ma-engganyo magproduce. hehe. Need nila mag-export na lang para mas afford siguro ng bbili.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Kaya nga e. Un ibang farmers kasi sa ibang crop nakafocus parang hindi priority and kape. Hopefully, ngayon na dumarami ang mga cafes dito baka makapag isip isip ang iba na mag focus sa kape.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

How about the kapeng Barako of Batangas? Dba sikat din yan sa Luzon. Sa Bukidnon meron din mga local coffee binibinta, I bet sa Bukidnon yan if its in Mindanao kc dami talaga silang crops dun for export all over the Philippines.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Marami talaga sa Mindanao pero sa dami nila dun hindi nabibigyan ng pansin masyado.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yep. diskarte nlng talaga sa mga expo, etc. at sa mga local coffee shops to thrive.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

umiinom ako ng kape kaso kada umiinom ako nananakit sikmura ko kaya puro ako gatas, pro noon sobrang lakas ko sa kape

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ako naman sa 3-in-1 ako malakas nun. Sa sobrang dami ko inom, sumasakit din sikmura ko. Nagtry ako ng brewed lang okay naman na.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wag na damihan HAHAHAHA natatakot nako uminom ng kape HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also like coffee, but not with milk.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You and me both :) I only drink coffee with milk in one of the restaurants here but that's rarely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't mix milk because milk is an animal product. I don't consume it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is it only milk that you don't consume?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do not consume meat and its products such as milk, eggs, and cosmetics made from animal fat.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ah I see.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am also a ☕ lover pero diko pa natatry Yung mga local coffee as in Yung bibili from Farmers hehe.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

We should be more knowledgeable and raise awareness to help our own.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for writing about this. Yes, I have read articles regarding the hardship of our local coffee growers. I even read that some companies that produce instant coffee buys raw materials very cheap from the locals. The farmers didn't have a choice but to go with it than get nothing at all. This an eye opener to all coffee lovers to buy directly from the growers to help support them.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Same is true with the chocolate industry. Child labor, cheap raw materials, etc are just some of the concerns that surrounds these big companies.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Although my country Venezuela is currently going through difficult economic circumstances, it is internationally recognized as a producer of excellent coffee. There is a variety of them. And to drink I prefer a very light coffee that in my country is called "guayollo" it is a very diluted coffee with a little sugar. It becomes the favorite of our mornings.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I have yet to try your coffee from your country. Guayollo sounds good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Felt ashame to call myself a coffee lover but can't even recognize or taste those local coffees you've mentioned. I only drink what coffee is available and most of the time, I drink 3in1 coffee 😅. Anyways, I will surely support local farmers 🤗. Thanks for this information :)

$ 0.01
3 years ago

That was how I felt also when I have learned about the plight of our farmers. Such an eye opener for me. Thank you for your support!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel bad for the farmers. They should receive more as an exchange of their hardwork. This is so sad and common in the country where farmers are not given enough compensation.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

That is so true. If the government can't do something about it, at least we should make a conscious effort to help them in anyway we can.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All right! I think this has been raised by farmers to them but they did not take actions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really sad. There may have been some actions but not as favorable. I'm not sure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I saw your title "my blood is black", my curiousity attacks. The first thing comes in my mind is about cryptocurrencies but Im wrong, its all about coffee pala....hahaha what a nice title po, napacreative....hindi pala black ang blood ko dahil bawal sakin kape mostly milo or chocolate ako kaya my blood is brown...hahaha.... ang galing po very catchy ng title...

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I'm not well versed about cyrpto but how was is the title related to crypto? Enlighten me please :D I have some of brown blood in there too lol! Maybe 0.058393% hahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

akala ko lang yung sa mga black list hehe...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah hehe...got it :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always buy local, though guilty din noon :D We were gifted imported ones and some tea too, pero yon nakatago lang sila. We prefer our locally grown ones.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ah pag gift naman inuubos pa din hihi pero pag bibili na, mag lolocal products na talaga ako.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hehe, nakatago pa yung sa amin especially the tea. Nagasang jy tyan ngamin :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay oh? Nya nga tea dayta?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wen ngay. Green tea :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, isu man dayta choice ko nukua nga tea ket mayat met hehe. Depende siguro jay brand.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mayat met ketdi ngem nabiit nga mabisin no isu ti inumen hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Jay 3-in-1 nga kape ti kasta man epekto na kanyak. As in aglamiisak pay ti bisin ken agkakapsotak haha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bka adda ti ingredients na nga madim bagay. Sa akin naman palpitation no 3n1 tpos d makaturog. Jy barako lng talaga ti mayat :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buy local indeed kuya that is the best thing we can do. We need to preserve our local heritage, but people are greedy and so buy the cheapest. I am surprised your coffee famers were being undercut, but it shows how much we should all research. I love coffee and want one now!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

It's been going on for a long time, kuya, and not only coffee farmers but to every farmer. It's ridiculous how our leaders treat them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yep equally guilty with "buy directly from farmer" . My brother and I have been trying to differentiate the tastes of arabica, robusta, etcetera. So far robusta is the one we have now. So far, we have not really mastered anything about coffee hahaa.

But I sure did switch to black like you. I used to fix up my coffee with the nescafe instant coffee and then 3 in 1 and then when I worked, the guy in front of me has his own coffee maker! I just need to my own cup. And because we were busy I did not have time to put in sugar and cream so that's the start of me liking black.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

A friend of mine have been asking me to join programs about coffee but I always declined. I can't make the time. I hope you can find a community there who are into coffee that will help you more in your mastery of coffee.

Let's go black but no to quack :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

...not to quack but with a lot of crack! Anu daw Hahah Onga eh pero if I do join i might get information overload but lts see and check programs para makayanan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe overload talaga yan for sure lol! Ulit-ulitin gang maabsorb lahat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not a coffee lover, I never drink coffee but my parents and relatives did. Thank you for this. So I'm going to tell them we should buy directly from our local farmers.

More blessings to you ARTicLEE..🙏❤️

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks a lot! That would be of great help. We should raise awareness.

God bless!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes we should. God bless you too.🙏😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am also guilty with that "buy directly from the farmer" I have never tried that nor buy something from the farmer. But with this, it made me realize that Farmers should be the ones who will benefit more of their labor's fruit.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

That's right. It's the middlemen that are benefitting more which is sad for they are the ones doing all the hard work yet getting little to none out of it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehem, black coffee, no sugar pls! 😁☕☕☕

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Syempre haha! Pirmi nga mabisinak tu ngay nu nagkape ak 3-in-1.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

speaking of kape, kakapkapek kaya ket maturogak payen haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha! diba? mayat maturog.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yung sasagot din ako ng ilokano sana ... Hindi ko masundan yung 'syak'...

So tagalog na lang ako din hahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha! Pati syak or uray syak - ako din :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yun!! Hahahaha salamat! Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago