It’s June 13th, the snow won’t stop falling.

25 64
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

That was the last entry to a journal that I found.

I was out for a walk in one of the trails here in the city. The storm had passed and I took the opportunity to visit one of the trails that I like to go. Every trail is a favorite for each offers different interesting things to see.

I rode a taxi from our place to get to the start of the trail. It only took me about 10 minutes to get there. Once I arrived at the beginning of the trail, there's no going back. I only have a bottle of water, some snacks and my phone with me.

Such a perfect day for a walk.

The birds are singing. The wind rustles the leaves of the pines that tower above me. The crispness of the air is so good to breathe in. It's just one of those days that you are happy to be alive. Of course, the freshness of everything after the rain is evident. The earth is clean.

I was feeling adventurous so I took a path that I don't usually take and came across this

It was what's left of a stump of a tree. Looking at it, it seems to be a kingdom of its own.

As I got closer, I noticed a worn out book, if that is what you can call it because it was soaked and almost coming apart. I would have left it alone but what strikes me is that it was leather bound.

It was stuck under the stump wedge between the roots and it seems the book had been left there for a long time and nature have taken its hold.

I was contemplating leaving it be but curiosity got the best of me.

I had to tug and pull to get that book out from the grasp of the roots.

Once freed, I then searched for a place where I can scrutinize this book.

It really was in bad condition that I was ready to throw it away from the first look of it. As I paged through what's left of the pages, there were some that have survived but water got the best of it. Some of the inks have dispersed through the pages.

There was one line though that survived and it was the only entry to one of the pages:

It’s June 13th, the snow won’t stop falling.

That's interesting because it never snowed here for we are in the tropics. We have hail on rare occasions but never snow.

That made me wonder who would have written that? Why leave it there?

I checked the leather cover of the book for any signs or inscriptions or anything that would give me a clue but I found nothing. With nothing else to go further on, I decided to return it to where I found it. Not in the original state how I found it but at least safely tucked.

I then continued on the trail.

I was trying to come up with what to write today. I was in the mood to write. I don't want to miss this chance. However, I can't think of anything to write that's why I decided to check online for prompts and come across this site. There are lots of interesting topics there but I chose the one above. Feel free to the site too and see if you can find a prompt that will make you write about.

What I wrote above is fiction but the photo I used is mine.

22
$ 4.16
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Unity
+ 18
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

I might as well use the site too! Especially in the days when I feel like I have nothing in mind to write about.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madaming topics dun na pwede pag pilian :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As the reading went by, I imagined everything, I can't believe that for a moment I thought that you had lived it. On the other hand, there are things that there is simply no way to explain them, that e It is the pleasure that the imagination gives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am going for something else but I just can't seem to work it out so I had to cut short lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh! When reading I thought you really experienced it. Great...but when coming to last did I know thatit was a work of fiction

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go on and try it too :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ofcourse but I have to get a chance

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yay! Prompts!! Lemme tey that too! ... Your title caught my attention kasi na confuse ako. Sabi ko AUGUST eh august ngayun.. it can't be June hahahahhahaa...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe sabi ko na nga ba at may maconfuse e :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaaa apir.. maya ka.. mang confuse din ako hahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really thought the story was real. But anyway, I can totally imagine that tree has a little kingdom of it's own. Nature is really surprising.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nature if full of surprises indeed. There's so much more to discover.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naysu! Akala ko nag snow na sa Baguio or something. Just kidding. The storyline is smooth in transition, light and relaxing to read since it's about environment. Nice one!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas nice siguro pag ikaw nagsulat hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako tuloy sir lee napaisip kung pano kaya kung mag snow talaga. Gusto ko pa naman makakita ng real snow. Hanggang movies lang talaga o series nakakakita.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko din maka experience ng snow pero wag winter haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Ang ganda ng snow sir lee kahit di ko pa na experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang totoo at first pro yung book na tucked is very rare.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung ano ano na lang e haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought you really found something on that book by tbe way your fiction is awesome you know. And the photo is also good but I would love the details of down there which is not clear though, you should take multiple shots!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did take multiple shots of this but this is the only surviving copy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing mo gumawa ng fiction ahh,ang hirap mag isip ng pwede ma e publish pero para sayo ang dali lang ehh,congrats sayo😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tagal ko din pinagisipan to haha! Mas madali sa akin pag personal blog lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kayang_kaya mo naman sir ehh kahit anong topic pwede mo magawa,ako nga hirap na hirap na sa english hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago