Cigarette and memory shared

23 48
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Cold and wet night.

The last light of the day is quickly fading in the horizon. Artificial lights have already been light minutes, hours ago.

Just one more puff.

I have been sitting on the rooftop of our unit for how many hours smoking cigarette after cigarette. As soon as the afternoon rain stopped, I decided to go for a smoke. I was hoping I could get a glimpse of a lovely sunset. I was able to catch this rainbow as it was fading.

I believe that is a double rainbow. That is the first rainbow I have witnessed in a long time. See the color of the sun reflected on the houses? As soon as I turned, no colors can be seen in.

Soon it was dark and the twinkling lights of the city can be seen.

Another puff.

I was deep in my thought - of nothingness - that I didn't realize someone was standing next to me.

I knew exactly who this person is. It is known in this apartment that this person suffers from dementia. I can't remember how many times have I introduced myself to this person already but I don't mind. I understand.

This person then asked me for a light to which I willingly offered.

I sat there in silence and this person just kept standing there, smoking our cigarettes.

It's not an awkward silence though.

"Do you come up here often?" this person suddenly asked.

"Yup," said I. "Me and my partner would spend our afternoons here watching the sunset and sunrise. Well, sunsets especially for my partner is not so keen about waking up too early."

"I don't like waking up early, too," the other person quipped.

"Sometimes we would spend some coffee time here too," I said.

Silence. Puff. Puff.

"That would be nice, coffee, I mean."

Another puff.

"I could go make coffee right now if you want," I said.

"I would love that!" the person delightfully replied.

I wasted no time and quickly went down to our unit to make some coffee. I prepared the last of the Kalinga coffee that we have.

I bought this from the trade fair that concluded last week.

Good thing we were able to visit the fair before it ended and bought our stock of coffee.

I made a mental note to go get the coffee at our parents' house that my brother sent there.

My brother was kind enough to send some Kalinga coffee.

Once the coffee is ready, I poured it in two cups and brought it on the rooftop.

The person is now sitting across the seat where I was seated earlier. I placed the coffee on the table between us.

"Here you go, partner," I said. "Kalinga coffee just like how you love it."

This is another work of fiction. The photos are real though.

This was another idea from a different site.

I chose this topic for this blog "Start your story with a couple sharing a cigarette in a parking lot."

Visit blog.reedsy for more prompts. I don't know how legit the site is but there is a $250 prize at stake if you join their writing prompts.

Try it if you want to. Good luck!

15
$ 1.49
$ 1.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 11
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

When I saw "smoking a cigarette" I was like "does this man smoke? He never mentioned it in his articles"🤣.

The site with the $250 prize to be won, they must be strict on selecting winners 🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol!

I'm not sure about the contest. I haven't read about the mechanics.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your coffee with puff story is nice to read.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for appreciating :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love this story Lee! Had a nice mood to it. The only thing is that I thought it was real and was surprised that you smoke!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey you :) Thanks for appreciating. I appreciate you too :) I did try when I was younger, smoking I mean. You know, teenagers lol! We would do it secretly at our dorm then. Smoking and drinking alcohol is forbidden but we like to challenge the authority lol! But it's not for me. As an adult, I would do it on rare occasions especially when I got drunk but I haven't smoked since.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nice one! And there I was thinking it was real, lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Jay kape lang ti agpayso :D :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I already knew this prompt site , but I didn't join there , because I think I need some money to start blogging in that prompt site. Am I right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, I see. I haven't read the conditions of the contest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i was reading the first lines and I knew that it might not be real coz I believe you don't smoke or do you?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe no, I don't smoke :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung nakita ko yung rainbow sa photo naalala ko tuloy yung mga memories ko nung kid pa ako sir lee. Masayang masaya talaga ako pag nakakakita ng rainbow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba din talaga ang bigay na saya ng rainbow e depende kung ma appreciate ng iba :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sir lee totoo yan. Nagbibigay talaga ng kasiyahan ang rainbow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Namiss ko magchill ts smoke with coke na softdrinks kasi di ako nagccoffee. Hay bisyo chaaaar!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah hehe wag no balakin :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Coffee and cigarette go together so well. The feeling is unexplainable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never tried actually hehe. I have tried them separately but not together.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i thought the man would forget he asked for coffee.. ;) I wish I have a perch where I can see the sun set and the sun rise and sip coffee while at it. staring straight at the beauty before me.. and nothing in my head... ahhhh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bili tayo ng tig isa nating bundok haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pleeease! Ahhaa...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago