Cheesy time!

14 52
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

That's the cheese bar that I had earlier today when I was at a cafe waiting for my friend. Jokes on me. I didn't ask the staff what it was. I thought all along it was oatmeal bar. I like cheese but I still prefer oatmeal bar.

How did I end up there?

I don't know where I mentioned that a friend of mine was coming to visit. When he reached out to me out of the blue asking for a place to stay and a car rent this month, I was thrilled! We have been friends for a long time, spent time together and worked in the same company although different department. We were buddies. Then he and his family migrated to another country. It has been eight years since the last time we saw each other.

He told me that they will be here today so we met for lunch together with some of his family and in-laws.

I thought he was with his family but turns out, it was only him this time. His wife and kids were here last July but unfortunately we had no time to meet.

I was so pleased to see him getting fat (like me) and sporting a long hair, longer than mine lol!

When I got to the restaurant, he was seated with his back to the entrance. I approached their table but I don't see anybody familiar but there was someone with long hair who didn't turn. Thinking they were not yet at the restaurant, I went out the restaurant and called him.

He picked up and turned and that was the man who didn't turn when I approached their table.

He's changed physically so I can't tell right away. Eight years is a long time.

We had lunch and after that, he and I went down the parking lot looking for their car. We must have spent less than 10 minutes going around the lot looking for their car. I asked leading questions to hopefully narrow down our search. It turns out, he parked one floor down.

I thought we were going to use the car but no. He just took something from the car and handed it to me. It was a jacket. I was surprised that it was a jacket. I was expecting a shirt for that was what he was asking me before. Still, I'm pleased and grateful. He was thoughtful enough to buy me a jacket that I could use these cold months.

We had to leave his companions for he has to process his papers that he will need going back to his family. So I offered to accompany him there.

I thought the office of the agency we are going was in a different location but I was wondering why the driver of the taxi we were in was bringing us out of the way. I thought at first he was taking the long route. It turns out, the agency was relocated and it was not in the place where I thought it would be.

It took about 20 minutes or so for his papers to be done. Thankfully, there weren't that much clients.

That's how I ended up eating that cheese bar and having coffee of course. While waiting for my friend to do his thing, I spent my time at the cafe within the building.

Sadly, I couldn't spend more time with him anymore because duty calls so we parted ways. I even forgot to take photos with him!

That was such a very limited time we had spent together. They had to go back home later on and spend the rest of his vacation back home.

Their 3-hour drive to visit the city and process his papers was worth it for it is like hitting two birds with one stone.

I just hope that next time we can spend more time together.

31
$ 2.65
$ 1.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @Erickchristianmontajes
+ 16
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

For sure you enjoy that short time with a friend and that jacket, you'll take good care of it because it has a sentimental value. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice naman, seeing an old friend ano UwU. Pero bat nga di kayo nag selfie aguy ka haha. Walang remembrance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is great to be able to meet old friends again, even if it is so, in a short period of time, taking advantage of some management. And it is true that it is difficult to recognize them, time passes for everyone. But that moment, they both smile, a smile as if to say... cheese!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bait naman binigyan ka niya ng Jacket sir lee. Ang sarap sa feeling sir yung makipagkita sa isang friend na tagal mong di nakita.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it's nice catching up with a friend.. wow 8 years sounded long indeed.. long hair and big dad bud.. is this the typical Filipino daddy figure? hehe which country siya naka base na ngayun?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A Cheesy reunion I see. How long is your hairs by the way, like in measurement?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice, meeting a friend after eight years wow...am wondering who it can be for me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Friends could be very considerate at times. Right now there's nothing I need more than a jacket or even two. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would have liked to see more pictures, I love to see pictures of happy people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha 8 years is indeed a long time! I have seemed to noticed you are blessed with wonderful friends. They always come to meet you despite the years. That's beautiful!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's funny how you didn't recognize your friend on time. The past years have been good to you both. I hope that the next time you see you will get to spend more time together.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Although you spend short time with each other yet it was good and memorabilia. Hope both of you will meet again soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We prefer call it cheese sticks, I remember once in my childhood, I was on grade school level that time me and my mates used to do cheese in their house in our vacant time we used to make and consume it for ourselves, we learned making it in one of our TVE subject

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sayang po hindi kayo nakapagpicture ang tagal nyo po palang hindi nagkita.

$ 0.00
1 year ago