Wrong Labels

29 47
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

Ever been labeled something you aren't?
Maybe a liar, thief, a fraudster, a criminal, a prostitute, etc?
You know in our society today, it is very easy and common for people to label people wrongly.
It's mostly common here in my country when a lady is not decently dressed, she is called a prostitute and the same goes for a guy who isn't properly dressed being called a cultist, and those who dress weirdly or awkwardly are said to be fraudsters, what we commonly call Yahoo Boys over here.

Sure! It is said that we are addressed by the way we dress because the truth is that we can't wrongly label bread as candies, neither can we label mango as pineapple. It's not possible.
But why then do we give wrong labels when it comes to humans.

No one loves to be wrongly judged or labeled but then humans are prone to this behavior.
That's why our world today is becoming worst by the day instead of being better.
Would you be happy to be called a prostitute simply because you decided to wear a short skirt and sleeveless blouse, with painted nails and a wig?
No matter how indecent you may look, it doesn't give anyone any right to label you wrongly because who knows, you really might not be what they think or believe you to be.




Labeled A Criminal

Five days ago, I decided to go to the market with my friend to buy a few things.
We moved from one part of the market to the other looking for what we wanted to buy and getting them one after the other.
We got to a particular bookshop, so I told my friend she should pause and let me get a few books.
I went into the bookshop to get the books I needed only for me to find two ladies already in the frontage of the bookshop also trying to buy as well.

Not too long after my arrival, one of the ladies said she was done with her orders and asked the seller to calculate her bills and give her the balance. The young man told the lady that she didn't give him any money.
I wasn't there when it all started and so I can't tell if she actually did or not.
The bookseller told the woman that she didn't give him any money and even showed her proof that he had no money with him or whatsoever. He told her that the only person he got money from was the other lady who was still standing there without requesting anything just yet.



The bookseller talked to the point of making it look like the lady was a thief and a liar. He indirectly labeled her a criminal. I don't know who the mistake was from and who was telling the truth among the two of them but the words and responses of the bookseller made the woman tear up.
She asked why she would lie about not giving the man money. She said that she has never done such a thing that the guy was accusing her of and she would never in her life do it.

She wanted to return the things she bought or ordered for and leave saying that God should be the judge but the owner of the bookshop came out to intervene and told the accused lady not to be angry that we are all humans and we do make mistakes.
She apologized on behalf of the young guy and also told the lady that the guy wasn't calling her a criminal, but that what he was saying is that he can't remember getting money from her so he can't tell if she actually gave him the money or not.

The woman was crying and wiping her tears. For me, that simple action shows she was wrongly judged and already labeled a criminal.



Two days ago the exact thing happened in school. I don't know why I always witness this and two times in a week already lol.

I and my schoolmates were starving so we decided to visit the school canteen to get some snacks. I picked a few things and my friends did as well, we paid the owner and we stood aside while munching down our snacks and waiting for the other groups to finish. We were in a group of three.

Our group finished buying and the second group as well. But when it got to the third group, after picking the snacks they wanted and asking for their balance, the seller told them that they haven't given him any money to request for the balance. The girls told him they have and that they only had a thousand naira with them, they even had to search and empty their bags to show the seller that they had nothing on them.

This didn't move him in any way, he was still adamant about not giving them balance still insisting that they didn't give him money.
One of the girls became angry and didn't want to drag the whole matter any longer, so she dropped everything she picked and asked her friends to do the same. She wanted to leave and let the money go but when the seller saw this, he decided to give them their balance and asked them to pick their snacks.



Do you know the funny thing the seller said? He indirectly labeled or called those girls criminals and this is what he said; No money ever lasts
And if you wanna look deeply into what that sentence means, it is that whatever is being stolen will one day finish

I looked at the man and felt bad for the girls. I mean it's not their fault that his shop is very busy with no form of assistant and so why should they be wrongly labeled for his mistake?
The canteen is always very busy with many people picking snacks and trying to pay for them at the same time, so it can happen that those girls actually gave him the money but he forgot who among all his buyers did.

Labeling people wrongly is bad and no one ever loves such or will be happy with such
I can't even stand people doing that to me. It hurts like hell and even if you wanna prove your innocence it might not make any meaning to the accusers if it doesn't suit their view of you.



Welcome to a world where humans are most labeled wrongly.
People's personalities also cause wrong labels.
One's attitude and character also determine what people will label them, either good or bad, negative or positive.
Everyone seems to have their labels for every person they meet.
Be sure you aren't among those that label people wrongly.

Still your baby girl ;)


To my faithful readers and wonderful sponsors, my heart goes out to you guys. Thank you for making my journey here a fun-filled and exciting one. Thanks for trusting and supporting my work too. I pray that God bless you all real good :)


5 August 2021


This is in response to @JonicaBradley weekly prompts

I tried having fun with this as one of the rules says but there really isn't anything fun about wrong labels😢


Image

13
$ 7.19
$ 6.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of zellypearl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

Comments

I received an indirect mislabel here as well. When my boss can't find the thing she was looking for.. She asked me about it and I said I don't know anything about it .. But she speaks words in Cantonese and I know she was referring to me.. The worst thing is she even tell the wrong story to other members of the family..

But I did not care at all. As what I'm always telling them. "God knows who's telling the truth I don't need to prove myself to people".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly what the First Lady said. Let God be the judge. He only knows the truth and no humans should judge and label others. I am glad you didn't mind what your boss said to you. Way to go Jane!☺😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perception. Judgment. Humans have different perceptions, formed by what we see around us, and what we hear others say. If an image is drilled in our mind about something, it's human nature to form an impression based on that. It is also human nature to judge people and mostly because of our perception. Yes, it hurts to be thought of as something you're not just because of appearance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well. It does hurt to be thought of as something you aren't. And mostly, humans perception is wrong but they just wouldn't stop being so judgmental

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that's the sad part of being a human. We are labeled or sometimes we label someone without knowing the truth. I was also labeled a COPY of my mom. My mom got pregnant at 14 and the people around me labeled me like my mom . 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! That's very sad. I don't like it when people labeled others just because of the mistakes of their parents or forefathers. For crying out loud, we are all different. Other people's mistakes or wrongs shouldn't be imputed on another.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s so sad, no one deserved to be mislabeled. It is just not right and judging could damage a person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one deserves it, Corp. And yes judging can hurt and damage a person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really shouldn't assume and judge. It's a confusing world as it is so let's not confuse ourselves even more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. A confusing world indeed filled with confused people. A bunch of confused folks judging and labeling others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sucks when people gave wrong label to others, I mean they dont even know the whole story or even the person, then they have this idiotic attitude to label that person wrongly. I experienced it a lot of time until now, I'm already immuned but sometime I cant help myself not to talk back. Thanks for this, its really a slap of reality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can sense from your comment that you have had a terrible experience too. So sorry dear about that, this is what we face in this world from our fellow humans. A slap of reality indeed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prime and foremost, it is not our job to label other people just because of their physical aspect or our negligence. I don't know why people loves judging one another. Do they have criteria for judging anyways? Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know their own criteria for judgment. Who even made them the judge in the first place? What a world!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahhaa 🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People nowadays will easily judge you base on your appearance without knowing the true self in you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, Jinifer. It's very easy for people to judge without even knowing the truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are living in a judgmental world, sadly. And wrong labels are everywhere :/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How sad dear! This is the world we live in.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huh, that was tough being labeled as a criminal or a thief, being accused without proof😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very sad for the two people who got tagged and labeled as criminals indirectly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not easy to judge who is telling the truth if we don't see it with our own eyes. And even if, sometimes our eyes don't always see the truth. It's very easy to be labeled nowadays. You know, my husband is foreigner, and some people might think, Oh she's a prostitute! if they see us together. And I just smile when I hear such comments. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I understand that case very well, it happens a lot. But do they really say that out loud? And could it be they have reasons for thinking or saying that? All the same, the truth remains that people are fond of judging and labeling others wrongly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am wondering if both parties were telling the truth.... I mean I don't want to label anyone as a thief but I don't think I believe any of them.... I am sorry

To ask to return the things one gathered is a decoy.... A smoke screen.... Trying to distract the owners from seeing they are actually trying to con them

But who I'm I to judge?

No matter what angle I look at it... I don't believe any of them

$ 0.05
2 years ago

😂😂 I understand not being able to trust neither of the two persons lol. I was also pondering on who was actually right or wrong. Well, we aren't God to know so we just let it be dear :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol..... I left it oooo 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Labeling people wrongly is not the best as you have to know someone before coming into conclusion on how to tag such person if truly he or she WORTHS the name you tagged him/ her.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. It's only when one is proven to be whatever they are, can we confidently label them to be that thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago